We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Good Quality, Style is a little dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
aberdeen
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Good Quality, Style is a little dated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

My lasting impression of the intercon in Muscat is the spacious, well maintained gardens, swimming pool and sports facilities which together with easy access to beach walks makes for an excellent location if you're visiting Muscat ....on business or pleasure.
(if you are a runner definitively remember your kit and take a run late afternoon up and down the beach dodging the local football teams)

Staff are friendly and helpful....we left a bag in a taxi one day and had excellent support from the concierge to get the bag and its contents (more than 1000USD of ipads etc) back in-tact.
Breakfast in the downstairs coffee shop is great - good service, choice, layout and organisation.
Other restaurants that we tried were not as good as we would have liked.....choice somewhat limited and quality not up to the highest standards which you would expect at a the Intercontinental brand.
Room design is a little dated which is not surprising given that the hotel was built in the 70's. I was happy with the overall quality, facilities and space in the room but know that some of my colleagues felt the bathrooms in particular were in need of an update in style.
It all worked for me.
I was happy to stay there would be happy to return and feel that the location and set-up is extremely conducive for doing business in Muscat.

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kontiki-T60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear kontiki-T60,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences with other travelers.

I am very pleased to read that you were very satisfied with your stay. Especially your comment about our concierge makes me proud to work with them. The genuine care Omanis have in the culture makes it possible and so special to be here.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    421
    219
    66
    38
See reviews for
190
280
76
405
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I ve been there for a night on a stopover. The hotel is good, staffs are friendly and it s situated in a central position in muscat. It s also popular with expats.The large atrium and reception is spectacular specially at nightime. There a a good bar as well. Suggested if you are in Muscat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomenicoN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear DomenicoN,

thank you very much for your great comments.

I hope you will have more time on your next trip to explore more of our facilities.
Surely our English pub Al Ghazal is a great meeting point for hotel guests, local expatriates, but also locals.

See you soon.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We arrived quite late at night after driving from Dubai. There was a problem on the border so the trip took us about 12 hours in total! The kids were exhausted and so were the parents to be honest. It turns out our booking was for a double bed, but the very helpful reception staff suggested this may be a bit of a squeeze and upgraded us to ensure we were more comfortable. I had heard people saying the hotel was getting a bit 'tired' before going, and there was refurbishing work going on, but it was still absolutely fine! The room was great and the beds were excellent. We had the buffet breakfast and although it really is very good the price was eye-watering. Oh well...All in all very happy with our stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyNameIsThor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear MyNamelsThor,

thank you very much for your positive feedback, especially since your journey was not that comfortable as it should be.

I am really happy that my colleagues were able treat you with an upgrade that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay.

Actually we are not refurbishing yet and therefore is the disturbance limited, since works are only happening next to the hotel - not on our premises.

I sincerely hope you will make that journey again in future.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

As we ambled around the hotel there was a large photo of the Intercon standing in splendid isolation when Muscat was a small city. Now, there seems to be another artistic white elephant encroaching from the Opera House side, which they cann't do much about.
Hotel did feel dated and the atrium is fairly impressive. Evening buffet and breakfast were both good. Packed lunches were absolutely massive: excercise caution please as one box definately feeds 2 people.
Staff were smartly turned out and pleasant. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear RoamingRobin,

thank you very much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The picture you mention is surely impressive in relation how this area looks today. This explains a lot, but also why we are an iconic hotel and building especially for the local community.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My understanding is this is about to be refurbished and two new hotels are being built. Lets hope they figure out the car park..........that said the gardens at the back are wonderful. Plenty of space onto the beach and plenty of shade, nice pool and bar. Membership to the club is available, if I was a resident this would be my choice. Great staff, clean and in a great location

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Timsterling,

thank you very much for your fantastic feedback on tripadvisor.

Definitely right that the combination of our gardens, facilities and location are maybe the best in town. I can assure you that we will protect our parking areas for our guests in future.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Muscat Intercontinental could be a great hotel. The location is fantastic and the large atrium reception on arrival is quite spectacular. Nevertheless car parking at the hotel is very difficult at present and there is a huge amount of construction work going on around the building.

The pool side changing rooms are very old and damp smelling, as is the plastic grass surrounding the lap pool. The service in the restaurants is hit & miss and the coffee by the pool is appalling ( about £3.20 for a small tea cup of froth).
Finally , many of the leisure club staff were miserable and sometimes to the point of being rude. Some training in customer service is needed for a few of them.

The hotel is getting tired and so it seems are some of the staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Judi O,

thank you very much for your valuable comments on tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced, especially with our staff.
I can assure you that this will get resolved quickly.

The parking directly at the hotel can be challenging, because it is unfortunately also used by the shopping center visitors next door. We identified the issue already and therefore we are currently looking into building a gate system, which will allow our guests a free of charge parking, but visitors of the neighborhood not.

The construction you mention next to the hotel is for a fantastic new Theater development connected directly to the Royal Opera House across the street. This will be another great facility for all visitors.

I sincerely hope that you will still give us another chance in future.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We loved the Intercontinental. The design is perfect for the climate - shade and sun everywhere including over the lap pool, perfect for anyone who wants a proper swim. The Musandam Restaurant was excellent every time we ate there - breakfast, lunch and dinner. We loved our sea view room and felt the Club Lounge option gave good value for money. So nice to be in the town and on the beach.

Room Tip: Sea view, and think about the Club option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NightingaleYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear NightingaleYoga,

thank you so much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

Feedback like yours is motivating for our staff to continue striving to become every day better and to deliver the famous Omani hospitality.

I sincerely hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#8 Business Hotel in Muscat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing