We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Nearby Hotels
$122
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$585
$547
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Platinum(Muscat)
$76
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shangri-La Al Husn Resort & Spa(Barr Al Jissah)
$664
$455
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,282)
Filter reviews
1,282 results
Traveler rating
441
475
239
79
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
475
239
79
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrader vicstomato restaurantleisure poolmusandam restaurantthe club loungeopera housepublic beachsea viewan updatebuilding sitebit datedpool areaconstruction workan upgradebusiness tripgreat facilitiesnice beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
774 - 779 of 1,282 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Spent one night there because preferred hotel in Muscat was full. Waited 15 minutes at business center for someone to come help with a scan. Asked for extra shower gel, got extra shampoo. tried buying a souvenir at the expensive shop near reception but salesman was busy on the phone for 30 minutes. So left without it.

Room is OK but shower a little small, only tub available. TV channels are good. Free internet is slow.

But on the positive side, the breakfast is nice but the restaurant terrace is to be avoided by claustrophobic people. Concierge service was good, friendly and knowledgeable (car parking, restaurants, taxis, etc.). Location is a a 2 minutes walk from the famous Opera, close to beach and a very nice corniche for a walk or run or chicha by the sea. Trader Vicks is within the hotel.

Overall, will stay there only if I have to.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (6th) for a nice view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemmayzetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear Gemmazytraveller,

thank you very much for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Feedback like yours is very important for us to become better in future.

Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced at our business center and not receiving the correct amenity. Certainly I will also speak to the shop owner that the described behavior is not acceptable.

Nevertheless, since you had also positive aspects of your stay, I hope will get another chance in the near future.

With kind regards.

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

stayed in this hotel for 3 nights while on business. its about a 15 minute ride from the airport.
front desk were efficient and checking in/out went quick.
Rooms are okay, the rooms,hotel building and all its amenities are quite dated. the hotel could do with a refurbishment. the hot water tap in the shower fell off, i had to screw it back on!
room service were great. my food took 20 minutes to come up.
good few hotel outlets to choose from, trader viks being my favorite. its right next door. they've got a British pub which is a nice place to grab a drink and watch sports.
avoid the little shop on the GF. everything in there is double the price.
i used the GYM while i was there and it was pretty good. you have all the equipment you need. hotel is connected to a beach which everyone can use. nice beach to go for a run/walk. not too far from the beach is a row of restaurants and cafes. prices are a lot better than what you get at the hotel.
was only my 2nd time to muscat but i found this hotel just right as it wasn't too far out. if your looking at getting away to muscat for the weekend and fancy a bit of heaven try the Al Bustan Palace hotel, very very nice!

Room Tip: always ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basheer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Basheer S,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Location is certainly a big plus of our hotel, but I am grateful that you also mention some of our exciting facilities which can round up the whole stay.

I hope we will see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

i have read a lot of comments about how dated this place is and for sure , having stayed there about 12 years ago, from the outside it looked exactly the same, but the rooms are still very comfortable with superbly luxurious beds, the gardens and pools are wonderful, the bars and restaurants are very pleasant and the unusual atrium is airy, spacious and calming.

We stayed for the weekend because I was running in the Muscat marathon which started from a place right next door so it couldn't have been better located, but the small area of coffee shops next door with the beach right alongside is a very pleasant place to be anyway. And if you are a tourist, the Big Bus Tour goes from a stop just a couple of minutes walk away, plus you have the opera house a stones throw away as well. Of course, if you like your hotels Dubai modern glitzy stle, then you will be disappointed, but if you want calm relaxed 5 star relaxation, this ticks the boxes.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay the extra for the beach view, our room had a great view of the opera house and the mountains and was perfectly nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilRBBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear NeilRBBath,

thank you very much for your very positive feedback.

I hope you were successful during this years Muscat Marathon and certainly I am looking forward to see you next year again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel surely shows its age. However the location reigns supreme. The beach-view rooms are still the right solution for a long day's work. The staff is very helpful every time. I usually stay there for business. The quality of room service has deteriorated recently but not to deter me from staying there again. Let me be clear though. I stay there for business and the majority of the guests, I encounter at least, seem to be of the same kind. If you're in Muscat for tourism, you might want to expand your search. That said, you still can't go wrong with this place. It's right next to an on-the-beach-plaza with tons of restaurants and cafe's so that's a HUGE plus. An overall pleasant experience. My only beaf is the following: As an IC Ambassador, I am entitled to a free upgrade when I check-in. And I have not received this the last 4 or 5 times as stayed there under the claims that there are no available rooms. I have to admit, if this happens one or two more times, I'll be open to new options in Muscat. As a member in other reward programs, the differences between hotels is becoming very slim and it's these kind of perks that dictate where business travelers stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank TheSherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear TheSherif,

thank you very much for your positive, but also honest feedback.

I am very thankful for your loyalty, which you have granted us over the past stays. I would appreciate, if you could contact me directly to make sure we do the utmost that you receive this time your well deserved upgrade as an Ambassador member.

My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

I am looking forward to hear from you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel has a lovely lobby, an efficient reception and fast elevators!! The rooms are a bit dated but spacious and comfortable. The air conditioners are not loud which is a blessing!! There is a lovely outdoor lap pool if you want to do some distance and a nice recreational pool. The staff are really friendly as well.

There is a nice assortment of toiletries and accessories, the shower has good water pressure and the slippers/towel/robe are a welcome detail.

It is also walking distance to the Opera - nice change from sitting in a car most of the time. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Aruna S,

thank you very much for your positive feedback on tripadvisor.

The biggest compliment is that you are saying that you will stay again with us in the future.

I am looking forward for this.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews