We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice play to stay and very helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice play to stay and very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Enjoyed being there, nice staff, nice location exellent experience. You enjoy Intercontinetal service with and staff being so helpful. If you are on business trip and you rent a car, this Hotel is in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charbelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Charbelb,

thank you very much for your great feedback.

I am very pleased that my colleagues were able to service your needs, so you could enjoy yourb stay in Oman.

Therefore I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    410
    215
    66
    37
See reviews for
182
270
76
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

The hotel certainly seems grand once you enter and you will think you are in for a treat. Check-in at reception was hassle free and prompt which added to the good vibes. Unfortunately, the rest of the stay rarely meets the standards set by the first impression. Make no mistake, this isn't a bad hotel by any means - it does the basics well, it just seemed to fall short on the little bit extra needed to make me class this as a memorable stay.

Positives:
- Quick check-in and check-out
- Locality to restaurants etc within short walking distance
- Reasonable level of service
- Room service menu was extensive and food was delivered extremely fast.

Negatives:
- Concierge took about 30mins to send up my bag after check-in, and this was only after I called to remind them
- Bathroom is straight from a 1970's time capsule; showerhead is fixed to the wall and works great if you are under 5"6, otherwise you have to duck underneath. Also, bottle opener and corkscrew nailed to the bathroom wall? (granted, for those favouring a retro experience, this is a positive)
- A but more diligence from housekeeping would have been appreciated. It was clear the vacuuming was not extensive and some towels provided were stained.

Room Tip: For light sleepers, avoid rooms on low floors which face the lobby/driveway. More often than not, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear imrancid,

thank you very much for your detailed valuable feedback.

Comments like yours helps us to become better in future. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced and I can assure you that we immediately started working on them.

I sincerely hope to see you again to show you that we can do better than only the basics.
Please let me know, in case you plan another trip to Muscat and contact me directly oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have been to Oman quite a few times and despite our promises to try a new hotel, we always return to the Intercon. The gardens are magnificent and you can walk directly onto the beach from them. There's green everywhere and a huge range of birds, that have a knack of stealing your food during breakfast. The rooms are lovely and the staff is brilliant! I really can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for the sea view room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Emily L,

thank you for your fantastic review and that you plan ti return.

Especially that you mention positive our staff makes me proud. I can assure you that I will share your feedback with the team.

See you hopefully soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The room n°436 is really poor and old. The floor is still with moquette that is dirty. The bath is broken (see pictures downloded). This was the second room we changed. Before we were at room n.329 which was even more ugly. The rooms are comparable to a 2 star while we paid a lot because is classified 5-star. The hotel is more than 35 years old. The only good thing is the large lobby and the great breakfast but it costs 35 € per person.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear marco s,

thank you very much for your candid feedback.

I am sincerely disappointed about your experience and please accept my apologies. Yes, the hotel is surely aged, but this does not rectify the experience you made, since we have an excessive maintenance programme to upkeep the hotel at the standard you can expect. We failed obviously in your case and I can assure you that we take your feedback serious to improve.

In case you are travelling again to Muscat I would like to offer you to contact me to regain your trust and make everything possible to redeem ourselves. Please contact me through my e-mail oliver.geyer@ihg.com .

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The Hotel has very impressive gardens with easy access to the beach, the pool area is just beautiful. Room was modern, clean, great air con, quiet and well serviced (only negative was the 'view' and 'balcony' ). The breakfast buffet had a vast selection of choices (service was rather hit and miss and not of the same high standard as for example the pool side which was 100% )

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Kor S,

thank you so much for your positive feedback.

Actually you can book your room with a specific view, either sea view or mountain view.
I apologize for the inconsistency you experienced in our Musandam Cafe during breakfast and I can assure you that this will be addressed.

I hope we will see you soon again,

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
229 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel facilities are pretty old and poor. Some plugd, bed lamps did not work at all. I found many ectra things belonging to previous guests which means nobody cleans the rooms carefully. The water presure is low. The whole building is nice.
What I loved the most is location : 5 minutes by foot to Opera Theatre and 5 minutes to the huge restaurant court with edible food and drinks.
Endless beach is very close.
Do not book sea-view rooms - no real view and hard noise from ventilation systems beneath...

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear poleff,

thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues you faced during your recent stay. This does certainly not represent the standard you can expect and I can assure that this gets seriously addressed and worked on.

Nevertheless I hope we will get another chance from you to redeem ourselves to show you that we can do much better.

Please contact me directly in case you plan to come back. My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com .

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights (before staying at The Chedi in Muscat for another three nights) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially thanks to all the wonderful staff.

Even though the hotel is getting somewhat dated, it is very well maintained and therefore in very good condition with everything functioning well.

We had a Club room, which gives access to the Club lounge as well, which is definitely worth the extra price if you spend quite a bit of the time in and around the hotel itself during he daytime.

Our room had a nice sea view (from fifth floor) and was very well insulated, so no noise from corridors or neighboring rooms. The bed was of a very good quality allowing a very comfortable sleep (selection of different types of pillows available as well).

The hotel gym is very clean and large and has a very good selection of latest gym equipment, which probably is also why the gym appears to have many external gym members. It was never too busy though.

Breakfast was of a very good quality with a wide variety of western as well as well as oriental items.

The best thing about the hotel though is the staff: always very friendly, professional, fast when required, and flexible to adjust to customer's wishes. Exemplary!

We would certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: A Club room is definitely worth the extra cost if you can get it for a reasonable price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear peri&rini,

thank you so much for your fantastic review.

Especially your comments about our staff makes me proud to work with them. I will be a great honor to forward these comments. Feedback like yours is a great motivator for our people to strive everyday for the best possible service.

I hope to see you soon again in Muscat.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#8 Business Hotel in Muscat
#12 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 35-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing