We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Muscat
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good service and hospitality”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was my first time in Oman, so it was a nice first impression to experience warm hospitality from the staff. Hotel is a bit dated in decor and some things need up-keeping, but the stay was pleasant enough. Location is good too, and near to the beach.

We had a function there one evening and the staff was responsive and accommodating. No complaints there!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAAzli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear SAAzli,

I really appreciate your feedback on tripadvisor, especially since you attended an inhouse function, which gives you a wide perspective on our services. Thank you !

The Omani hospitality is something special and can not be found somewhere else.
Reserved, but very cordially and honest.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    427
    224
    70
    39
See reviews for
196
289
79
422
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our stay was nice enough, but only the location and lovely gardens were particularly special. Our room was generic in the extreme with decor circa 1980. The huge atrium is rather foreboding, although it is nicer inside than outside.
We arrived very early and were pleased that a room was made available. Actually it was a disabled room which seemed to be quite well appointed, but lacked some basics, like a shelf in the bathroom.
It is hard to say what was wrong or missing in this hotel. Maybe it is the austere design but somehow, it just wasn't a memorable 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best. Not all mountain view rooms can actually see the mount
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-from-Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ali-from-Hobart,

thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at the InterContinental Muscat.

You are right that definitely our wide gardens and recreation area, with its facilities is one of our assets besides the location. With the inside decoration we try to transport the rich Omani traditions and heritage, which might not fit to the outside appearance but does have a surprising affect when you enter the hotel.

I still hope we will see you again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Spent a most enjoyable ten days at this centrally located hotel,with easy access to the beach.
Don't be put off by the building the rooms,amenities,restaurants and friendly staff more than
make up for the austere façade.the extensive gardens are a haven which are compelimented
by the pools.We will be going back.

Room Tip: sea facing higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear ian w,

thank you very much for sharing your experiences on tripadvisor.

I really appreciate that you recommend our hotel and that you would return. The building was the first one in this area ( great picture at our concierge desk ). I guess if the developer would have known that all new buildings are white today they would have done the same with the hotel.
But we are proud that we are since 36 years successfully as InterContinental hotel a landmark within the community.

I hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
626 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 567 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have stayed there for a couple of nights and was truly impressed. The Omani people are also admittedly very calm, pleasant and polite humans. The Hotel location and overall settings are truly enchanting. Though I was there on business, I would have loved to have my wife with me, who would have surely not been bored, given that it is on the beach front and offers and few great boutiques with plenty of local art-crafts as well as souvenirs. It is not centrally located, but well worth the short drive into town, given that the city hardly ever has traffic jams. The hotel rooms are very large, the showers and bathrooms are impressive and well beyond traditional sizes as well as features. The hotel offers several venues for very good food. I tried the Italian restaurant and asked to meet with the Italian Chef who was charming making all the difference in the quality of genuine Italian food served.
Would recommend to anyone for either business or pleasure and would stay there again whenever in Muscat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Sherif A,

thank you very much for your great feedback on tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that we were able to satisfy your needs throughout your stay. I really hope we will have the chance to welcome to soon back at the InterContinental Muscat, but this time with your wife.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I never seen a worse hotel which smells humid and rooms are so old and need renovation waist of money for sure I would stay in a new 2 star hotel I'm sure way much better than this very bad reputation for an intercon hotel I wounder what is the ministry of tourism is doing in this country

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almimari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Almimari,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.

I am very disappointed that we were not able at all to show you that we have also very positive sides of our hotel, like our wide selection of great restaurants, our beautiful gardens and recreation area. The hotel was the first international hotel in Oman and has always been under the InterContinental flag since the opening in 1977. The age of the hotel brings along some challenges, but we are always striving to compensate this with the unique Omani hospitality, which you can find in our hotel maybe more than in others, due to the tradition we represent.

I would be pleased, if you could contact me in case you plan to return to Muscat, to show you that we can do better. I could also keep you updated on our process to continuously improve the product.
My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sohar, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Love the location but the rooms need some renovation looking at the price they ask for it. The restaurants are good and the swimming pools are nice but they charge you to much. The reception is basic but also not what you expect from a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seeandenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Seeandenjoy,

thank you very much for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.

I can assure you that we actually look into a renovation at the moment. But nevertheless we work hard to keep the hotel up to date and to deliver the service you can expect. Therefore I am a bit disappointed to read that you were not happy with the service at our reception. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly to discuss that in more detail.
My e-mail address is oliver.geyer@ihg.com.

I am looking forward to hear from you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a traditional old school InterContinental and is about the most ugly building on the exterior as your likely to see anywhere.. I am sure Prince Charles (who visited recently) would not be impressed!! Internally the hotel has a completely different and rather old school splendour about it. I have visited this hotel many times since mid 2010, most of the staff regard me as a long staying guest but I stay here as my hotel of choice in Muscat for periods of up to 5 weeks at a time, several times a year. In general the staff here are very good some are exceptional, especially in the Club Lounge. Alicia runs a very tight ship A new management regime (New GM) is having an effect on weaknesses around the hotel, and there are some great ideas in the pipeline. But the old girl is looking tired, water pipes are creaking, there are never enough electrical sockets (that work). Air conditioning in most rooms I have stayed in just doesn't deliver. The internet access is just plane crazy, the worst in any hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. (and that's saying something) The senior management are committed to fixing it but it just seems to get worse. The staff in the Al Ghazal (Pub) are simply brilliant, warm friendly and talented with an ever watchful and vigilant Mr Ferguson at the helm it is a relaxing place to unwind and perhaps watch the footy. But the pub is dark, stale mostly freezing and in desperate need of a refurb, The recent addition of a small bar in the garden is a fantastic and welcome addition to the facilities and the quality of the food and the service in the Tomato (al fresco Italian by one of the two pools) has significantly increased of late too, with a new manager and enthusiastic staff there. nice job Iqbal, there are also a well liked mexican (Senior Picco's) and very popular Polynesian (Trader Vics) but I didn't visit on my last trip so wont comment here. A decision on the long term future of this hotel is pending and its clear that significant investment will not take place until that decision has been bottomed out. All told, the value for money for staying in this hotel is well below par at the moment against other hotels around the world, but quality hotels of any description that meet the needs of your typical businessmen here in muscat are limited. The market rate for the best the hotels here is still very expensive. but new builds and greater competition is looming which should bring a welcome challenge to costs. Most of the long staying staff do so because of its endearing charm and the quality of the staff here. However although I am a loyal person as a whole, I am now beginning to think about staying somewhere else!... so my fingers are crossed for a positive decision soon

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms tend to be noisy with events and guests in the garden taking place frequently. Lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear tonesontheroad,

thank you very much for your detailed comments on tripadvisor.

Especially your feedback, as regular guest of our hotel, is very important for us and I can assure you that we take this very serious, since we do want to loose your loyalty.

I know the internet issue is a substantial problem at the moment. We intend to increase our service offerings with the recent installation of our WiFi service, but we actually caused more complaints. We are working hard together with the different companies involved to solve these issues as fast as possible to live up to our InterContinental service promise. Coming week we will start as first step to change the location of the routers to improve the coverage, a new gateway will soon follow to increase the bandwidth.
I really hope to see you again and to show you that we will improve.

Nevertheless on the other hand I would like to thank you for all the nice words, especially that you mention Wayne will motivate him to continue his great work.Actually during the month of July, we will close the pub for a few weeks to lift up the whole ambiance and product.

Please let me know, if there is anything I can do for you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 56 in Muscat
1,414 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#8 of 56 in Muscat
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 56 in Muscat
165 reviews
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
10.1 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Property: InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#15 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing