We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First week of the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The advantage of this hotel is the location and nice surroundings close to the governmental and embassy area. The garden and pool area is an asset.
Shopping and cafés are just 100m away and a nice place to walk around from morning to evening. However outside the building is a grey, tall ,unpleasant concrete design from the 1970’ties and its very unlike the new beautiful white colored lower buildings typical for this area.

Inside its clear that the hotel has operated for 40 years without renovation and the rooms the same. However maintenance seems to be present but the rooms had a distinct bad smell that sticks to all clothes and bags for a long time after we returned home. For those clothes that are washed often it’s not that important but suits and bags etc needs to be dry cleaned to get that off smell out.

General service level is acceptable keeping in mind this is a 5 star hotel but the concierge service do have a potential for improvement, especially my wife got an unpleasant “introduction” to the way women should not be treated, the concierge letting all men (behind her in the cue) be served first before he sent her away telling her to read a brochure. We arrived directly from Dubai and a 10 days fantastic stay at Hilton Jumeirah and the service we got there are not comparable at all, way above the Interconti Muscat.

Next time in Muscat we will stay at Al Bhustan Palace like we have done earlier…

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Stein L,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I am delighted you liked the convenient location of our hotel. My apologies for the issues you had with the condition of our facilities and the service you received during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife, daughter and I stayed here twice in December. The reviews that talk about the dated rooms etc are quite true but this is still a very good hotel in a great location with wonderful staff. Our rooms were clean and well looked after and all the fixtures from the fridge to the sink worked as designed. The pool area is excellent and the staff working the area are friendly, good natured and prompt. The hotel has direct access to the main Muscat beach area which is a bonus. The gym and spa facilities are very good, the breakfast buffet is excellent, the Al Ghazal Pub is pretty good for a cold beverage and Trader Vics has fairly good food although the prices are hard to swallow. I would stay here again and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea on a high floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I'm big fan of IHG hotels so I specifically chose the hotel. I had very nice Sea View Room. The room was great. The hotel is old but they keep it in good condition. Several outlets for the F&B to choose from! The standard of the food was great!

Pool area is nice. I enjoyed the landscape.

Rates should be more reasonable as I believe it is very high!

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohi_Khater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The previous reviewer (goliard "IT IS GRIM") is reporting standards that are quite untrue. We stayed here for 8 days Dec.31st to Jan. 7th 2013 and had a truly enjoyable time. It is true that the Hotel is somewhat tired and could do with a facelift but the staff are excellent and the facilities, particularly the pool area, are all one could wish for. We enjoyed perhaps the best New Year celebrations we've ever had and we hadn't booked anything in advance. The Senor Pico restaurant was great, the Mussandum serves a cracking buffet lunch and Trader Vic's is an evening not to miss. Our room was on the fourth floor, not a sea view, and we were quite content. We did have a minor complaint about the slight musty smell from the aircon but otherwise everything was fine. This was our first visit to Oman and we were most impressed by this lovely country. It is an ideal spot for a winter sunshine break from the rigors of an English January and we will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty&TC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here on the fourth floor, in a club room. Some of the reviews I had read about it being an old hotel in need of renovation were found to be false, It is presently in a very good condition and offers all modern facilities. It has six restaurants but I mostly visited the Musandam Cafe which offers all day dining with a large variety of items to suite all tastes. Its vicinity to the beach is an added plus point. The rooms are excellent and very comfortable.

The staff is well behaved and helpful at all times. Arabic, English, French, Hindi, Italian, Punjabi are the languages easily understood by the staff. For and Indian traveler, it provides an excellent experience.

Room Tip: rooms in the north side will have good view of the sea and the beach. The south side rooms (where I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ARTIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Really, this place isn't good. People are leaving reviews saying it is good for business or a short stay, but it really isn't. Rooms are standard international hotel, but they are dirty. The pool area is grim. Dirty sun loungers with weel worn sweat marks are the norm. Staff are truly terrible. We stayed during the 'Arab Spring' and apparently they just couldn't be bothered with westerners. Just stay somewhere else please or expect a bad, dirty, old UK Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goliard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Hotel Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear goliard,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspects. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Hotel exterior is very old and hides a shabby chic interior. Check in very efficient and polite. I share with other TA reports that the rooms are very outdated and require refurbishing. My own issue with these hotels are they have no mixing taps for a shower and as such it is a constant battle to maintian a constant temperature. Service throughtout was hit and miss..some days very good and others not so good. The beds are not comfortable and with rather hard mattresses. Trader Vics is a good place to hang out with live Cuban band and cocktails but it is very expensive so if on a budget beware of athe additional taxes and service charges to your bill. Breakfast buffet was ok and plenty of choice. If you like your coffee make it fresh from the machine and not the jugs they bring around. All in all a good stay and relaxing ambiance by pools.

Room Tip: I had a mountain view but I would go for room on highest floor next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 63 in Muscat
1,608 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#7 of 63 in Muscat
1,706 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#3 of 63 in Muscat
327 reviews
3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
1.9 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Muscat

Address: Al Kharjiya Street | Al Shati Area, Muscat 113, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#7 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#11 Business Hotel in Muscat
#16 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $197 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Muscat 5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Muscat is a 15-acre oasis in the heart of the city s premier residential, government and diplomatic quarter. The business and commercial district is close by, as are must-see sights including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, Bait Al Zubair Museum and Amouage Perfume Factory. For shoppers, the Muttrah Souk is the essence of Muscat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing