We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love It!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Madinah Holiday
Ranked #17 of 29 Muscat B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is our second stay at the Al Madinah. Last year we stayed for 1 month and this year we stayed for just 11 days after touring around other areas of Oman. We also stayed at other hotels in this group including the Sur Beach Hotel and the Ras Al Hadd Hotel....both of which we can also highly recommend.
I must admit I was horrified at first sight of the area surrounding the Al Madinah....it is industrial and there are lorries and heavy plant parked all over. This has no bearing on the gem of a hotel that is the Al Madinah Holiday so please don't be put off.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and has good facilities.
The swimming pool is large, clean and usually very quiet so is a pleasure to be in and around. The gym is located near the pool and the staff (Moses and Pasha) are always on hand to offer help in anyway they can and always have a smile for you.
The gym is well equipped and also has a sauna. The toilets and changing rooms, again, are spottlessly clean.
In the room we received complimentary fruit and wine which is a very nice welcome. The beds and pillows are incredibly comfortable and there are a lot of tv channels available.
House keeping is as good as you will get in any good hotel and again the cleaning staff are friendly and efficient.
The bar is small but perfectly equipped and prices are very reasonable for this country. We spent many evenings in there where we chatted to other guests and local people. Drinks are always served with complimentary peanuts.
The duty manager Mr Weymes is the nicest man and this is reflected in all his staff. He will help with anything to make your stay as good as it can be.
I must also mention Mary who works in the retaurant and even remembered our prefered drinks from our stay last year!
So many small touches that make you feel welcome and want to return.
As with many hotels in Oman you will need a car to get around as things are so spread out here and even though this is an industrial area you are not that far away from the many atttractions of Muscat.
The Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque is only 10 minutes drive away and the airport is about 15 minutes.
Mr Weymes arranged for us to stay in other Holiday Group Hotels as well so we could go to Sur to see where they make the Dhows, and Ras Al Hadd where we went turtle watching.
Last year when my parents came they were provided with a disabled persons room, a wheelchair and a disabled persons parking space.
If I was to have anything negative to say then it would be the lack of free wifi. Booking.com states that there is free wifi in all areas of the hotel when in fact, there is none at all. Wifi is available to buy but is a little pricey. Free wifi would be a huge plus!!
The buffet breakfast offers a good range of hot and cold food, fresh fruit, breads and even bacon! It caters for a variety of tastes and cultures so there is something for everyone! Chefs are there to cook your eggs to order and Sammy is sure to look after you!
Overall, the value for money is excellent and you could easily pay a lot more money to stay in a prettier area of Muscat and not get facilities or staff as good, so please consider this!
All in all I would not hestitate in recommending and returning to the Al Madinah Holiday Hotel.
Thank you to all the staff who made us welcome and added pleasure to our stay.
Mandy and Diane Bonner

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear Mandy B,

We are truly delighted by your kind words and pleased to learn that our staffs, services, and facilities have made your stay enjoyable, and for recommending our hotel. We take pride in our staff’s service that goes the extra mile to make each guest’s stay pleasurable. Your kind note to our team is well appreciated.
Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 116 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

Classic & traditional hotel found as a gem to most travelers. Hotel is solid everything you could need from a hotel is offered by the Holiday Inn in Muscat. Everything is average and thats the price point you pay for. Good bed, good bath & helpful staff. Price usually stays around $100USD, and thats good for what they offer, you can always spend $300+ and goto the Shangri-la or Hyatt -but the Holiday Inn is perfect for travelers or businesses on a budget who are looking for the basics to get through their day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TattooedPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2013

Dear TattooedPassport,

Thank you for sharing your views with us. Hotel Al Madinah Holiday is now under the management of Holiday Hotels and Resorts group, and our goal to continually provide the best guest experience possible still remains. We hope of having the pleasure of serving you again.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I went to Oman for some official work. I stayed in this hotel for 7 days. They welcomed us well. It is a four star hotel. Frankly speaking there are no nice views from the hotel. But if you're lucky to get a top floor room at the front side of the hotel, you can get a quite a good view of the city. It is particularly nice in the evenings after the city is lit up. The food was ok and the Western food that they provided was also quite enjoyable. There is a bottle of red wine in the room usually. As far as I know, all the rooms in this hotel are no smoking rooms. There are a couple of Asians working in this hotel as well. The staff was very friendly and they were willing to prepare Sri Lankan food for me :) As I was on a quite busy schedule, I did not have the time to enjoy the other amenities of this hotel. The lobby area is quite nice and I've captured a couple of pictures as well. If you're looking for scenic beauty, this might not be the best place to be. However, if you want to stay in the city and if you're on a tight schedule, this is definitely the place to be in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdanushkajayatunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Mrsdanushkajayatunge,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are waiting for your next visit and stay at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday.

Thank you for choosing Hotel Al Madinah Holiday and contributing with sharing your experience with other travelers.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent a night here in November.

Pros:
- Decent location
- Decent service from staff
- Average food

Cons:
- Worn out Hotel
- No hot water
- Water tap does not work properly
- Uncomfortable bed and linen
- There is a weird smell to the place
- Dodgy bar with side entrance in the basement

All in all I would not return to this hotel and I also would not recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nibal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear MrTambourine,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We do really appreciate our guests raising our attention to services for better experiences. This has been escalated to the executive committee and we ensure you that it shall be tackled in a proper manner.

Thank you and hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed in Al Madinah Holiday for more than a month, combining business and pleasure. It is a very clean and relatively quiet hotel with pleasant and friendly staff, large swimming pool and a well-equipped gym and sauna. Apart from the breakfast, which offers a great variety of dishes for everyone to choose from, the restaurant prepares freshly cooked lunch and dinner buffets. Indian meals prevail, followed by Arabic meat dishes (lamb, mutton...) but there is always at least one different option for those who are either vegetarians or prefer something 'less spicy and more European' (pasta, mashed potatoes, etc...) The food is delicious and if you are staying in the hotel for a bit longer, you should better be careful or you put on :) There is a very reliable and fast Internet connection in the hotel. You can get an Internet card from the reception and use it on your laptop or go to a small computer room near the reception, which also has a printer. In your room, there is large TV with a lot of channels to watch, a kettle and a hair dryer. Housekeeping works perfectly. If you do not want your room to be cleaned every single day, tell them. If you want them to clean your room at a certain hour or you want them to provide more tissues or soap, tell them. Communicate and things get done according to your wish at Al Madinah Holiday. The location of the hotel is poor as it is in the middle of an industrial Ghala area, surrounded by heavy trucks and machinery. It is a fact. You need a hired car or a taxi to get to places. A trip to e.g. Royal Opera House from the hotel is about 5 RO, to the Muttrah Souq about 10 RO. There are no shops or cafes in the walking distance. If you want to eat out, you have to go by car. BUT, the inconvenient location is reflected in the better price you pay. So, if you want to be somewhere close to the sea or shops, you will have to prepare yourself to pay double or more. It's a matter of choice. My overall impression of the hotel was very good and I would like to thank Mr. Weymes and his staff (Mary, Joan, Alsanair, Fahad, Moubarak and all others) for making my stay as pleasant as it was. Thank you! Best wishes, Andrea.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Andria,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was having my holiday in this hotel for four nights on 5th December onwards and was having an awesome experience in my life. This is my second visit to Oman as well as this hotel and I have that fulfilled feeling every time when I think about my stay. It has been so convenient and fast arranging my visit visas and I would like to give my special thanks to the hotel manager Mr Weymes.
All his staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is close to the Air Port as well. They have got a huge pool area and a tennis court also the breakfast has a collection of varieties of food which i have really enjoyed. Cleanliness was absolutely satisfied and the rooms are equipped with all the amenities what we really need.
i would recommend this hotel for everybody and it's a full of great team who enriched with hospitality,
i am looking forward visit Oman and stay in this hotel sooner!!!!!
Nadeeja

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dilu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Nadeeja,

Many thanks for you kind review; we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you at Hotel AL Madinah Holiday in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 2 nights. The check in was pleasant. The room is small and poorly laid out difficult to move around in. But the bathroom is luxurious with a full length tub in which I soaked away my travel weariness. They provided a large bottle of water complimentary on the first day but even after we repeatedly asked for it they did not provide it on the second or third day. When I went down to the pool for which you have to climb down two flights of stairs from the first floor, I was told it was closed. No explanations given. The gym, which guests can use free, is well equipped. Breakfast buffet is sumptuous with two Indian breakfast dishes. Staff in the coffee shop are rude and unhelpful. The bed was large but the spring mattress was saggy and not quite comfortable leaving me with aches and pains (which did not occur during my subsequent three lights at Dubai). Location is not for tourists and is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docgautham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Dear Docgautham,

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you may have faced during your stay with us. We have raised this to our executive committee for the proper actions to be taken care of. Hotel AL Madinah Holiday is a more of a business than a leisure hotel as it’s located in the industrial part (Ghala).
We are really hoping to see you in the very near future for a better fulfilling experience

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.8 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 60 in Muscat
49 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.3 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
5.0 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 60 in Muscat
1,479 reviews
11.3 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 60 in Muscat
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Madinah Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Madinah Holiday

Address: PO Box 692, PC 130 Azaiba | Ghala, Muscat 60108, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range: $57 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Madinah Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah, Situated within the capital area of Muscat, Oman. Conveniently located midway in the Industrial Area between Muscat International Airport and the central business district.>Our friendly Can-Do service is not about reacting but anticipating our guest needs, an exclusive Pillow Menu of 5 choices that creates the ideal restful environment, the delicious Holiday Inn breakfast as well as a rewards programme, tailored to suit one person you!Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah has 107 elegantly furnished air-conditioned bedrooms, including 6 business suitesAl Reem Coffee Shop, an extensive range of freshly prepared ingredients that allow you to choose your breakfast, lunch or dinner the way you like itFully licensed bars with live entertainment, ideal place to unwind or socialize in a relaxed ambiance and a friendly door policy with a relaxed dress code The Health Club at Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah offers a wide selection of exercise machines and cardiovascular equipment, qualified personal trainers to make your workout enjoyable. Enjoy our WIFI Internet Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Madinah Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscat
Muscat Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing