We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Scotsman in Muscat, Oman!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Al Madinah Holiday
Ranked #13 of 29 Muscat B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 19, 2012

All-in-all I had a pleasant stay at the Hotel.

Staff are always friendly and helpful.

One big bonus is the swimming pool, great size and normally not too busy...so you can swim freely.....if you enjoy exercise.

Room Tip: They have No Smoking Rooms......this is GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear MohammedMasumi009,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Muscat Holiday and for your time in sharing your experience with us. It is great to hear that you were impressed of our hotel’s location, staffs, and services.

We are definitely looking forward in welcoming you back at Hotel Muscat Holiday.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 119 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My stay in this hotel was very comfortable and homely. Right from my landing at the airport to departure from the country was very smooth and comfortable. i.e. pickup and drop, checking-in & check-out at the hotel. Zero minutes waiting time. The food preparation was very good. The entire staff was very cooperative and eager to help at every moment. One problem was there was no super market in the vicinity of the hotel. May be in the near future it may come up.
I would recommend this hotel for everyone visiting Oman - Muscat.

Room Tip: All rooms are Excellent and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitinn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Nitinn G,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments for your recent stay with us. We are all pleased to learn your kind remarks and recognition of our efforts to make your stay at its most comfortable way. On your next visit, you might want to visit Muscat Grand Mall and Lulu Hypermarket, which are few minutes drive away from the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Oman. I stayed here for two months while attending a course at Fire safety college. We were picked by the hotel van at the airport,they didn't complain of time wastage at the immigration, Welcomed by a nice cold juice to cool our dry throats. VERY CLEAN ROOMS. Equipped gym for workouts,swimming. Very polite and attentive staff,cleaners,waiters and drivers. I f you have a problem its solved IMMEDIATELY.
Internet facility was expensive for us app $6 per hour.
They have very few women staff,you know most customers prefer lady service. There were only three ladies at our service.

Room Tip: If you are not a smoker inform the them to be taken to none smoking rooms. 3rd floor is terrible wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rogersides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Rogersides,

Thank you for taking time to post your review for your recent stay with us. We are glad to know that you are impressed with our staffs, services, and facilities. It is a great pleasure to know that we have been successful in providing satisfaction to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Although the building is dated, rooms have been upgraded and offer all amenities of a 4* hotel. Comfortable and good size bed, clean bathroom and decent shower. Nice bathroom amenities (shampoo, soap etc). Note for shower, tap is not mixer style so set temperature before climbing in. Good WiFi connection, which is at cost however you can purchase at small increments or 24hrs. Located in an industrial area so maybe more suitable for business trips, although recreational facilities (pool, tennis court) are available and would be fine for an overnight or brief stop over visit for tourists or families. Breakfast selection fine. Front desk and restaurant staff friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: Not much to look out at from the rooms, however the poolside view rooms must be more pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerSPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear TravelersSPK,

Thank you for your feedback for your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the kind comments that you mentioned and pleased to share these with our staffs. We certainly hope that we will welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel location is very bad and surrounded by all small industries and not a place for holidaying unless one has got work in industrial area. Hotel is surrounded by all trucks and heavy vehicles and staying here gives an impression of staying at a dumping yard. Staff are not frndlu at all and the hotel manager doesnt know the basics how to treat guests.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank nsc1563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear nsc1563,

Thank you for taking time to post your review. At the present moment, Ghala Industrial Area at which the hotel is located, is not the most suited for leisure seekers. However, the value we provide for money is perceived very positively by many of our business travelers. Our Hotel is maintaining its heritage of creating a comfortable, relaxed environment by focusing on the elements that matter most to guests. We look forward in welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The starting point is that hotels in Oman are quite expensive so your money doesn't go very far here. For the price I paid, I would therefore have expected a lot more but this is just the way things seem to be in Oman.

Hotel and Location
The hotel is nice although a bit dated. Its location is pretty strange as it is in the middle of Muscat Contractors' Site, therefore the entire area is quite dusty and completely surrounded by trucks and lorries. Although very close to the airport, it is quite difficult to get to by car as many things are in Muscat (I'd recommend a GPS but Muscat's roads are undergoing some serious redevelopment at present so it seemed that roads opened and closed often).

When I booked the room online (not through the hotel website), the hotel was marketed as a Holiday Inn, however, this hotel has nothing to do with Holiday Inn. I don't know who is to blame here, but in Muscat there is certainly no sign whatsoever of any connection with the hotel chain.

Room and facilities
The room was clean but quite small and very dated. I think the hotel was probably nice in the 80s but it now needs some serious refurbishing. The bathroom was also clean and old but overall it was fine. The room had air conditioning, satellite TV and a fridge.

The best bit of the hotel was certainly the swimming pool. It's big, clean and a great place to sunbathe and relax. There are towels provided and a drinking water fountain. The hotel also has a sauna (in my view not a must in Oman), gym and tennis courts... none of which I used so cannot comment on.

Service
Another positive thing about this hotel is the quality of the service. The staff was nice and attentive. Spoke good English and gave helpful advice. I also liked the fact that the housekeeping staff respected the do not disturb sign and would ask if we wanted the room tidied on leaving the room rather than knocking at the door. On the day of arrival, we were given a complimentary fruit basket and bottles of water which was a nice gesture.

One strange thing about this hotel instead is the apparently secret bar which was under our window. We were not told that such bar existed when we checked in and instead were directed to the Westerners bar (a grimy empty kind of place). This other bar is on the side of the building and its patrons seem to be mainly construction workers. I'm not sure why this bar is kept secret to Westerners but it has South Asian female dancers and only male customers. The bar is heavily frequented in the evenings which causes some annoyance as all the parking spaces near the entrance are taken and some of the men chat outside (and on one occasion I saw three of them urinating in the car park).

Overall the hotel was fine for what we needed and was not expensive by Omani standards. However, it is in need of some updating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarioPizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Please may I recommend this hotel. While the location leaves a lot to be desired the hotel management were so friendly and eager to please us. Everyone of the staff were pleasant and helpful, The swimming pool area is private and again the staff were on hand to provide towels and move loungers to wherever we wanted. My daughter and her friend made good use of the Gym where the staff were very helpful. My daughter made the booking direct with the hotel which proved to be cheaper than going through a Booking Website.
All in all we had a marvelous holiday in Oman.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ted-pools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Manager at Hotel Al Madinah Holiday, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2012

Thank you for sharing your wonderful reviews for your recent stay with us. We have passed on your comments to our staffs and we are all very delighted. Definitely the best way to start our day!
We hope that you will be able to visit us again soon and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muscat
0.8 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#17 of 61 in Muscat
85 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 61 in Muscat
633 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#20 of 61 in Muscat
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Ramee Guestline Hotel Qurum - Oman
4.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Seeb
Golden Tulip Seeb
#2 of 5 in Seeb
476 reviews
1.9 mi away
Behlys Villa
Behlys Villa
#4 of 29 in Muscat
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Madinah Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Madinah Holiday

Address: PO Box 692, PC 130 Azaiba | Ghala, Muscat 60108, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range: $55 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Madinah Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah, Situated within the capital area of Muscat, Oman. Conveniently located midway in the Industrial Area between Muscat International Airport and the central business district.>Our friendly Can-Do service is not about reacting but anticipating our guest needs, an exclusive Pillow Menu of 5 choices that creates the ideal restful environment, the delicious Holiday Inn breakfast as well as a rewards programme, tailored to suit one person you!Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah has 107 elegantly furnished air-conditioned bedrooms, including 6 business suitesAl Reem Coffee Shop, an extensive range of freshly prepared ingredients that allow you to choose your breakfast, lunch or dinner the way you like itFully licensed bars with live entertainment, ideal place to unwind or socialize in a relaxed ambiance and a friendly door policy with a relaxed dress code The Health Club at Holiday Inn Muscat-Al Madinah offers a wide selection of exercise machines and cardiovascular equipment, qualified personal trainers to make your workout enjoyable. Enjoy our WIFI Internet Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Madinah Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Muscat
Muscat Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing