We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money !!!”
Reviewed January 6, 2010

Me with my family visited Oman for two weeks.At first we were staying at the Radisson nd we were supposed to be traveling to the other end of Oman(Salalah),Unfortunately we were not able to make the trip to salalah and planned to stay back in muscat.We were offered assistance from the IHG desk at the airport and was able to make a booking at the Crowne Plaza for two standard rooms.As we arrived at the Plaza we were given a warm welcome by the staff,The receptionist offered us a stay at the club room at the Crowne with an additional charges which for me was reasonable.The rooms were spacious and had a great vewi of the Gulf of Oman and we also had an access the lounge which served good refreshments all during the day and an evening cocktail which helped us to have a comfortable stay without visiting the restaurants.I would say go for the club room(Specially the sea facing).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelveiws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 11, 2010
Dear Travelveiws,

I would like to thank you for your review and the kind comments regarding our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the "club" atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you back in Muscat in the future.

Regards,
Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    674
    141
    39
    16
See reviews for
285
513
84
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

I can not fault this hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient, the rooms were imaculate, well maintained and very spacious. The restaurants are of a very high standard and the hotel even has it's own 'British style' pub which even does food and has a Pub Quiz (hard!) - home from home! The outside facilities such as the pool and the beach (private) were again well kept and of good quality as was the gym which even the locals and ex-pats use (via a membership scheme) as it seemed to be one of the best in the area. The whole set up of the hotel and its facilities were obviously very well managed, well maintained and has had significant investment to maintain this level of quality. We particularly enjoyed the weekly free cocktail party which gave us a great opportunity to mingle and chat to other guests and staff alike and was a wonderful touch to a great stay. I can not recommend this hotel enough and is one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a long time

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, January 5, 2010
Dear DanceOne, thank you very much for your review and your kind comments. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future. Regards, Ronny Fuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells , Kent
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

I travelled to Oman on business and my wife joined me for a few days of sun before a cold snowy xmas in the uk. This hotel suited us perfectly. We both arrived on a friday (equivalent of sunday in west) morning , me from Dubai and my wife from London. After checking in we chilled by the nice pool area and enjoyed the view over the beach and bay in the sunshine.
We had a room on the club floor, which is better value for money than a standard room, given the "free" extras you get. The usual, bathrobes, better quality toiletries and bowl of fruit were augmented by free daily newspaper, breakfast, lunch and pre dinner nibbles in the club lounge. Free use of computer or free wi-fi access in the club lounge. Beware you will get charged for wi-fi in your room though! Between 6pm and 8pm there are free alcoholic drinks available in the club lounge, which can amount to a considerable saving against buying drinks in the bar, especially if there are 2 of you.
Like everywhere in Oman, the hotel is not cheap, but we thought it offered reasonable value for money. The hotel is out of town a bit and so after tiring days, me working, my wife sunbathing, we chose to eat in the hotel every night. We tried all the restaurants and all were of a high standard.
Service was good throughout the hotel and the concierge was helpful in arranging a day tour for my wife, which included dress guidance for a visit to the grand mosque.
Don't expect 5* service and accomodation at 4* prices and you won't be disappointed !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Dear Baggerz,

thank you very much for your review and your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

Regards,
Ronny Fuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Found this hotel to be excellent and had a wonderful one night stay there. Like everything in Muscat it is expensive but the experience was great. The dinner and drinks at Duke's were great and the breakfast in the morning was out of this world. We had a room with a city view but it was still lovely. Everything very clean and service from all the staff really great.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny2shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Dear Penny2shoes,

thank you very much for your review and your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Best wishes for 2010.

Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2009

Crowne Plaza Muscat is like all Muscat hotels - expensive. Location is superb and if you get a sea view room the view is outstanding. I opted for a city view room but even so, it's still very nice. The service is average, it's not too bad but not great. However, I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a club room and therefore had use of the club lounge - very handy as I had to leave the hotel very early in the mornings and didn't feel like eating or paying for a full hotel breakfast so it was great to be able to pick up a croissant and some fruit from the lounge as I dashed out . The room is no bigger or better than any average hotel, so I wonder what the standard rooms are like. However, the room was comfortable and clean and nice enough. I didn't use the swimming pool as it was very busy with a lot of kids around. I'm not one for sunbathing and with so many people about it would have been impossible to swim lengths, but others may enjoy it . I ate at the Tropicana restaurant one night, they have an international buffet which is ok. The food is good, but very expensive and not a huge selection on offer. The following night I ordered room service - still very expensive and not that great. I used the spa during my stay. I booked the 3 hour rejuvination package which was actually fairly good value for money. I paid OMR 59 (about GBP100). The spa itself is not up to much but the treatment was great. It included a full body mud wrap, mud facial, scalp massage, body scrub, thai massage and a foot massage. The perfect way to spend a late afternoon after a full morning's activity. I would definitely recommend that treatment to a friend.

I will stay at Crowne Plaza in the future (but eat out!).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dohadiverdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, December 30, 2009
Dear DohaDiverDiva,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writting a review about our hotel. We are gald you enjoyed your stay with us and we have shared your comments in regards to the restaurant and spa experiences with our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and wishing you all the best for 2010.

Ronny Fuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights - 2 at the start of our trip, 2 at the end. Standard rooms, great view over the sea (worth paying - or being upgraded for). Pool, gym, private beach etc - not in the 5* league like some of the other places in Muscat but did us fine and with helpful staff

Hotels in Oman are generally expensive - this one is no different...

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annatc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Dear annatc,

i would like to thank your for your review and your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future.

With Regards,
Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2009

October is the ideal time to visit Muscat and Oman, and this was our 3rd visit to the country. Having stayed at the Hyatt a couple of times we thought we would try the Crowne Plaza as it seemed nearer to the city. Not so! Even though some advice given was that it was within "walking distance" to the main shops etc it was in reality quite a hike, and in the heat of the day completely impractical.
The hotel itself was quiet and a times we had the pool area almost to ourselves. The rooms are quite small and the decor dated but the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The pool area is in need of refurbishment and looks a little old fashioned. We did ask for the "musak" round the pool area to be turned down as loud pop (coming from speakers disguised as rocks!) is very intrusive. Guests also need to be aware that the private beach is down a considerable flight of steps which was no problem for us, but guests with children or for those less mobile this would be a problem.
Service at breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Generally the Crowne is not on a par with the Hyatt and its companions and this is reflected in its 4 star rating. Oman is a fabulous destination. Rent a car and get out and about to see Nizwa, the mountains and a bit of local culture.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LavenderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 22, 2009
Dear LavenderEngland,

I would like to thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Muscat.

We appreciate your comments as this will enable us to focus on what guests are expecting during their stay with us and it also shows us how we can improve certain area's.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at our hotel in the future,

with regards,
Ronny Fuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,397 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing