We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is NOT a typical Crowne Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This is NOT a typical Crowne Plaza”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here two times in the last month and had an exceptional experience. The setting is just beautiful, overlooking the sea on one side and the beautiful stucco homes of the city on the other. The rooms I was provided were very roomy and comfortable, although I know from friends that they have some smaller rooms in a section of the hotel that might not be as comfortable.

The staff couldn't have been nicer. From the moment we walked in,tired from the long flight, until we left on our way to Dubai, they were extremely friendly, remembering us from day to day and checking in to make sure our stay was going well.

The food was also exceptional from the very lavish breakfast buffet (sitting outside by the pool with a view of the sea was a perfect way to start each day) to the Friday night Seafood buffet--extraordinary! Even the burgers in the "Pub" were perfectly prepared.

This will definitely be my "go to" hotel when visiting Muscat in the future.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the sea are gorgeous. Rooms on the 2nd floor have a balcony but noticed that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTravellersTw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us once again at Crowne Plaza Muscat and we thank you for taking the time to write such complimentary review about your recent stay and experience. It is Pleasing to know that you found the room to be comfortable, our staff friendly and our food and beverage to be exceptional.We strive to provide continuous and great experiences for our guests and we are happy to see it reflect in your experience.
We are very happy and thankful that you will continue to choose Crowne Plaza Muscat as your “go to” hotel and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Muscat and Crowne Plaza soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    674
    141
    39
    16
See reviews for
285
513
84
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Although a bit old, we were very satisfied. A small private beach was a plus. The room was spacious. The location very good, just a 5-minute drive to the centre of Muscat.the staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheikhaCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Crowne Plaza Muscat on Trip advisor. I was happy to read of your satisfaction and that you found the staff to be courteous and helpful.
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Muscat and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just one night at the Crowne Plaza but wish it was longer. Dubious start as my colleague had booked our rooms for the next night, incorrectly. Ashley, who checked us in, swiftly found us rooms with a minimum of fuss and cancelled the incorrect booking. The room really was excellent although I could not connect to the wifi and the Eames desk chair in my room was a cheap Chinese fake rather than an original from Vitra - surprising in a hotel of this quality. Bed and bathroom were excellent, important points for a one-night stay. The bar was good fun although full of tourists enjoying a loud quiz via a PA system - beware this if travelling on business. Ate at the Italian restaurant but had to persuade the staff to seat us at one of the many empty outdoor tables, they wanted us to sit inside and have a drink whilst they checked bookings.....at 2200 at night! Food was good but not great. Was able to check out in the exec. Lounge in the 6th floor the following morning, which was helpful. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to an exec. room........
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twa203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip advisor. I am very happy to know that our staff worked expeditiously to find you a room after the incorrect booking. However we do apologise for not being able to connect to the Wi-Fi and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I always stay here when in Muscat - i prefer it to the Intercon and sitting on the cliff top it has better views in my opinion. The staff are very attentive and the food is good. Downside is the rooms are a little small and the bathrooms not big at all (but they do have decent lounging baths, so can't be all bad). The seafood buffets on a thursday/friday is especially good and recommended.

Room Tip: try and book a sea view room - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
I was very delighted to read that you chose Crowne Plaza Muscat as your preferred hotel when you visit Muscat. It is certainly a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to your continued patronage and welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This review is only for the Crowne Plaza Muscat's customer service.

My husband and I planned on spending two nights at the Crowne Plaza in October to celebrate a special occasion. The day before our arrival the hotel called my husband to inquire about our celebration and to ensure they had an appropriate surprise waiting for us. Unfortunately, I became ill that evening and was to sick to travel by the following morning. When my husband called to cancel our stay, we were not charged any cancellation fee or a one-night stay (which we were anticipating). The staff merely wished me a swift recovery and hoped that we would be able to stay with them in the future.

Overall, the staff went above and beyond what we were expecting! We will definitely stay here when we do finally make it to Muscat (which is tentatively planned for January 2014).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOnionsXPickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor about our customer service. It was unfortunate that you got ill and had to cancel your trip to Muscat. However we certainly look forward to welcoming you and your husband to Muscat and Crowne Plaza in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I am a constant traveler, I have to travel a great deal for work. This was my fourth visit to Muscat and my first stay at my the Crown Plaza. I have stayed at many Crown Plaza hotels and can assure you that this one is a Crown Plaza in name only.

When booking I had booked a sea view room. On arriving at the hotel I was told that there were no sea view rooms available so would have to stay in a city view room. City view really means looking out over a car park. After seeing the room I decided to cancel my booking and move to another hotel. I really felt that paying over $300 per night to look at a car park was unreasonable. I was then informed that because the room had been prepaid I could not have my money refunded. If you are considering this hotel be aware the the hotel has a large number of "city view" rooms. The hotel also has two wings. An old wing and a new wing. The old wing is dark and dingy, unfortunately the new wing is not a great deal better. I had a number of other disappointing experiences during my stay.

I strongly recommend making another choice of hotel. Check out the Al Bustan Palace or the Shangri La. They are far superior to this very disappointing hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Muscat. I was very disappointed to read that our room did not meet your expectations and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused by the unavailability of the sea view room. I will pass all of your comments onto management for careful consideration and review. Please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com for any additional feedback or future assistance. I hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed there a in January. Had a great time there, service excellent, venue great. There's a nice Starbucks on the road leading up to this hotel as well. Good base to see Muscat and see the market (which is fab) - better than the souks in Dubai - more real. Having its own beach was a real plus - out kids 8 & 6 loved it. Safe environment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Muscat and I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#9 of 52 in Muscat
1,397 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 52 in Muscat
154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing