We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #7 of 59 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed there a in January. Had a great time there, service excellent, venue great. There's a nice Starbucks on the road leading up to this hotel as well. Good base to see Muscat and see the market (which is fab) - better than the souks in Dubai - more real. Having its own beach was a real plus - out kids 8 & 6 loved it. Safe environment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip advisor. It was a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us here at Crowne Plaza Muscat and I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,554)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Muscat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

845 - 851 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed 5 days with 2 friends in a family room to celebrate our friendship for more than 35 years. Huge place and comfortable !! Beautiful garden with every day gardeners. Swimmingpool really enjoyable with delicious drinks and snacks. Small nice private beach (perhaps for elder people a bit difficult to reach, due to a lot of steps). Staff always friendly and helpfull. And having breakfast is really a party.....delicious food, fruit, juices etc. And a special thanks to the Duty Manager Sarfaraz Sayed. He arranged our tours, taxis and give good advice about restaurants to eat in Muscat. If possible, I will return for sure to this very great hotel !

Room Tip: If you like more space, just take a family room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nielsen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

It was a pleasure having you and your friends stay here with us at Crowne Plaza Muscat and we thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was happy to read our staff was very helpful and that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings which are certainly delightful. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had such a good time here; whilst not a brand new mega-hotel, it is clearly being updated well, and the service is great. Fears from negative reviews here were unfounded. Key points:-
1. Location - lovely location on a cliff top, with good views out across Qurum beach over towards the Opera House, the Intercontinental etc., and Qurum Heights (pleasant suburb) the other way. It's a nice walk down to the beach road, with plenty of cafes along the front, lots of locals and expats enjoying the sea air. It's in the middle of Muscat, with Muttrah, Old Muscat and Ruwi on one side, and the newer bit (airport, Opera House, Qaboos Mosque) on the other.
2. Service - outstanding, right from the speed at which they answered e-mail enquiries before we arrived, the excellent front desk staff (Sarfraz, Hassan, Charlotte and Mahdi were all very helpful), the room service staff who were prompt and left the room very tidy, the Pool bar staff and - especially - the lovely staff in the Qurum Club Lounge. Taxi service straightforward.
3. Room quality - stayed in a recently refurbished Club room with a wonderful view. Very nice room and bathroom, nothing too glitzy but just a beautiful peaceful environment.
4. Club lounge - beautiful new space, lovely terrace which was wonderful for a sunset afternoon tea / evening drink. Terminals for e-mail etc. Good food and drink throughout day including a Nespresso machine, do-it-yourself orange juicer at breakfast (SUCH FUN!), meat and cheeses at lunch, great scones for afternoon tea, and a nice place for an evening beer and G&T / snack. We really enjoyed this facility (and was surprised how relatively quiet it was) - worthwhile upgrade for us.
5, Restaurants - really good - we were on an "Oman escape" dinner included deal (obviously we paid for drinks), and we enjoyed the food in the Tropicana (buffet and barbeque - lobster on Thursday / Friday was great), Shiraz Iranian, Dukes English pub style (had a good quiz night which was fun), and the Edge Pool bar area. On which subject...
6. Pool and Gardens - pool approx 25m long, with a small separate childrens' pool; may be a little long in the tooth, but the staff made an effort to keep it clean. Nice pool bar, where the fruit juices were EPIC! Pineapple and lemon-mint especially... Garden beautiful, lovely palm trees to laze under, great views, green parrots flying through. All ages and nationalities by the pool, good atmosphere. Beach nice - loungers, lots of fish in sea, herons etc, very gently shelving beach.

Bottom line - a great place to stay, good service, not super glitzy but we absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Refurbished club rooms cost a little extra but in our view were well worth the premium.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tractorinsmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such thorough review on your recent stay here at Crowne Plaza Muscat. It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay and I was very delighted to read about your experience and your comments which entail so many aspects of our hotel and highlighting the areas that made a difference.
Your kind comments are surely appreciated and will certainly be shared with the staff mentioned. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, very clean hotel, friendly staff always smiling, guest relations and reservation are very helpful.
excellent taste of food, big portions, duke bar is very nice, club floor deserve every $ I paid for.
Rooms are newly refurbished I had a wonderful sea view from my room, pool and beach are amazing drinks are served all around, they have 2 tennis court. Even my airport pickup turn into touristic trip, my business trip became a leisure one. Simply a great hotel i would love to come back to.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Muscat, and for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased that we helped turned your trip into a positive and memorable experience here in Oman. We truly appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Muscat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Unlike what some reviewers have said about the Crowne Plaza Hotel, my husband and I thought it was excellent value for money. On arrival we were offered the opportunity to upgrade from a standard room only deal to the Qurum Club Lounge deal which meant a large room with a sea view, an extremely comfortable bed, the morning paper and the most fantastic meals all included in the price. The breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea were all superb (I really wanted to take home the orange juice maker!) but the happy hour (actually two hours) from 6pm to 8pm was exceptional, with unlimited drinks (beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks etc) and the most sublime hot canapés, beautifully presented salads, cheeses and cold meats. This whole package was cheaper per night than the one meal we had in the Iranian restaurant on the ground floor. The waitresses in the Club Lounge were delightful, very attentive and friendly. We wondered why so few people had opted for this deal as it you couldn't fault it.
Away from the Club Lounge the reception staff were courteous and helpful. The private beach was spotless, being swept early each morning. The hotel is in a prime location with great views over Muscat, the sea and close to one of the stops for the "must do" open top bus tour of Muscat. All in all we cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: For goodness sake opt for the Qurum Club Lounge deal. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ARVOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review. We are glad that you got to experience our wonderful service, staff and food and beverage offerings. We certainly strive to achieve this level of services. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to Crowne Plaza Muscat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza with our three young children and we enjoyed it very much. The Crowne Plaza was in fact the only hotel which managed to find an accomodation for us at a reasonable price (well, reasonbale for Oman). We had a very nice family room with enough space for everybody and a beautiful sea view. Personnel were really kind and helpful. The garden with the pool and the beach were just nice. It was not crowded and the children's pool was the highlight, together with the restaurant "the edge" where we also ate at reasonable price. All in all I would really recommend it. The only problem is that they had not prepared the extra beds and when we arrived at midnight we had to wait a little bit until the room service came. Cleaning service could also be better organized, but the rooms are very clean. We did not not notice any renovation work while we were there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papera13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review on our hotel. It is always nice to hear positive comments about our hotel and staff. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a chance to dine at the edge which has the most beautiful view of the sunset.
However I do sincerely apologise for the delay of the extra bed and room service, I have passed on your comments to the relevant team for review and consideration. We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to Muscat and the Crowne Plaza very soon.
Regards,
Adam Beadon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

A 40 year old hotel, in a good location with a small but nice private beach (with no facilites). Great swimming pool - old but great as is 3m deep at the deep end - water was cool and clean. Free use of Tennis Courts and Gym - even racket and balls provided FOC.

PRO's
1. Staff are brilliant - friendly and attentive at all times great asset to the hotel
2. Food was brillinat- wonderful buffet breakfast, well presented and great choice - does a mean english breakfast - and yes pork bacon & sausages! Food in the Executive Lounge outstanding.
3. Lesiure facilities good - gym, tennis and pool - nice gardens and yes parrots are there too!
4. Location - great.

CON's
None really, except rooms are a little small, the rooms that have been refurbished thye have done a good job, but consdering the age of the hotel the building as a whole looks well maintained.

SUMMARY
Brilliant stay only issue was no rollover bed ready in the room despite booking request, room was not as clean as it should have been - I had a conversation with front desk and they sorted these small issues out. Overall a great atmosphere, food and facilities, I would return however I will be asking for the different pillows on the menu next time!

Well done especially to the staff and HR who clearly train the staff well and value their greatest asset.

Room Tip: spend a bit more and get an executive room
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andypoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor about your recent stay and experience at Crowne Plaza Muscat. We are very happy you and your family had a great stay with particular regards to our staff, food and beverage, hotel facilities and location. I will be sure to pass on your kind comment to the staff and relevant departments as mentioned in your review. Please do not hesitate to contact me on adam.beadon@ihg.com for any additional feedback or future assistance. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards,
Adam Beadon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#12 of 59 in Muscat
1,458 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 59 in Muscat
195 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
12.6 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#5 Family Hotel in Muscat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#7 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $149 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing