We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

What is better than having a bit of a holiday feeling when you're on a business trip. This hotel is located at the seaside. Nobody seems to enjoy the water of the sea, though. The pool was used more extensively. The bar had a terrace overlooking the pool, making it a pleasant place to be in the hot Muscat evenings. Service is a bit slow, though. There are some good restaurants in the hotels as well. The rooms are a bit outdated, but ok. I would not mind returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLVos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had a relaxed feeling at the hotel and got to enjoy some of our food & beverage offerings coupled with the great views. I have passed on your comments to management for review and consideration and we certainly do hope you choose to stay with us in the future when visiting Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    602
    124
    37
    15
See reviews for
249
432
76
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buddina, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The recently upgraded lounge facilities are wonderful. All day snacks, cappuccinos and free drinks from 6-8 daily. You can have enough to avoid having to buy meals if you like.
The executive level room we have is lovely, everything brand new.
We have enjoyed the position and the delightful staff, especially the executive lounge staff. No negatives from us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesleyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to see that you got to experience our newly opened Qurum Club Lounge, it certainly is a wonderful facility with many offerings. We hope to be able to welcome you and your family back to Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Charlotte at the check in to the outstanding help and "over and above" assistance from Mr Meslum and Aakash in fixing a challenging conundrum with finesse, to the views from the room, the great fitness center and its staff and good food and service we re received - I highly recommend your stay in Oman is at this hotel.
Keith and Hazel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review Keith and Hazel. I am pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel supported by our great staff, I have passed your kind comments onto each of them that you have mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

One of the best medium priced hotels in Muscat. Great hilltop location with great views towards the South and West across the beach. Nice poolside bar and restaurant with very good pork spare ribs. The private beach is accessible down some steps, and it is a short walk across the beach (and a short paddle at high tide) to a Starbucks and other good value eateries

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. The location is certainly wonderful with great views, the pork ribs are delicious and one of my favorites. I am pleased to read that you and your family had a good time and got to enjoy the facilities and beach. We hope you and your family choose to return to stay with us as we looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel, but it is quite expensive. It has several restaurants and a poolside bar. The rooms are nice and clean.
At the poolside and on the hotel beach you are able to wear a bikini without drawing any unwanted attention to you. At low tide you are able to walk from the hotel beach to the "normal" beach. I would avoid wearing any "revealing" or western dress on the normal beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engl_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us and that you got to enjoy the hotels pool facilities. We hope you choose to return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed for the Eid holidays from 8th Aug and checked out on the 12th Aug.

The not so good:

We (two couples) had booked 2 standard double rooms for 3 nights stay at the hotel. And what a huge disappointment when we entered the room (rooms 307 adn 308). The room was cramped - we felt like staying in a room meant for single occupancy. And there was the smell of dampness, and dust seemed to be suspended in the air. We voiced our concern the next day, and, to our relief, the room was thoroughly cleaned, much to our satisfaction, accompanied by a regret letter !

We met one Mr. Ali who was quite kind to hear our greivances, but there was nothing that could be done about the room. A lesson for us to check out the size of the room in advance. The hotel is also in renovation and we were informed that once it was over, there would be good sized rooms available.

When we wanted to extend for a day more, Ms. Neil, upgraded us to the executive room, at the rate of the standard double room (no additional cost) and the room was far superior and met our expectations.

Apart from that, the flush does not seem to be in good condition as the sewage water seeps in and discolours it (even in the executive room). A smell persists and this does not befit a 4 star hotel.

There are minor faults like small stains on doors patched ceilings and rusted (and showing) corners in the bathroom.

The good:

This hotel has a stunning view and an excellent private beach. Not to mention the pool facilities. Do spend some time at the beach should you stay at the hotel.

The service was prompt and good and we were always greeted by the hotel staff wherever we met. Hospitality was overwhelming.

The hotel arranged a nice cake and fruit accompaniments for a surprise birthday celebrations and delivered to us at midnight ! Very nice gesture indeed.

We did not use the dining facilities in the hotel and so cannot comment on that.

Overall:

Nice hotel and worth a stay for its view, service, friendly staff and the beach. This is perfect if you are ok with small double rooms or perhaps a single traveller, but if you are the type that prefers a larger room, check out the room size first.

The third friend who came with us for the trip stayed in Tulip Inn at Khawair and he got a one bedroom apartment at less than the standard double room rate at the CP, Muscat.

Room Tip: Seaview executive rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seshadri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I have passed on your comments to management with regards to the bathroom for careful consideration and review. Currently we are undergoing bathroom refurbishments which will remove all issues that you faced so we hope you choose to return to stay with us in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Although the hotel is a little tired and worn out (it appears it hasn't seen much refurbishment since it was built), this is a great place to start your Oman experience. Ideally located on a cliff top at the edge of Shatti Road, the location is quiet and peaceful nearly all day long. Shatti Road makes for an excellent afternoon walk down to Starbucks if you're so inclined, or further down to the very end where the Opera house sits.

The food selection for breakfast was very impressive, although some of the plates looked like they'd been out for a while. We had dinner once on a Friday, which happens to be Butcher's Night. The selection once again was so impressive, we were a little frustrated that we couldn't possibly fit any more food. The meat was excellent and the 'free flow' wine was a bargain.

All in all, this is a good quality hotel that offers excellent amenities. Stay away from the standard rooms because they can be quite small; the larger executive rooms are perfect, although a little pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amhelmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in TripAdvisor. Currently we are undergoing bathroom refurbishments in order to keep the hotel up to date in order to provide the best possible facilities to our guests. I am please you had a good stay with us and got to enjoy our great food & beverage offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
12.7 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing