We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Steak Dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good Steak Dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was most pleasantly surprised when we ordered the steak dinner, it includes half a bottle of wine. The steak was probably the best I have had in Muscat and I am a self confessed carnivore. The mash potatoes were lovely and it was a throughly enjoyed meal. I would definitely recommend popping in for a steak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see you had such a lovely meal and it meet all you expectations. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    600
    124
    37
    15
See reviews for
246
429
76
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I gave my husband a treat on his birthday and organised to scuba dive in Oman. We were recommended the Crown Plaza. The room is pretty standard and in keeping with a 4 star hotel but we had the best meal at the Italian restaurant and the quality of food from the room service menu. The reception staff were great in helping us organise my husband's birthday dinner. I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza and will return whenever we go to Oman.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaJamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you chose to stay with us during you visit to Oman, the food & beverage is certainly very good. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business with the last couple of days pleasure. The highlight of this hotel is the views of the Gulf. The service in the reception area is friendly and efficient. The food in the hotel is good (ate at three of the restaurants) but service in Dukes bar can be slow. The breakfast selection is great and there was an extremely helpful hostess there (Ami). The same restaurant has buffets on the evening, often with fresh cooking and both the food and service are good. I used the fitness facility and they have a well equipped gym. The outside pool is great with grassy areas around and easy access down some stairs to a well kept private beach. On the down side both the rooms and common areas are a bit shabby and the place could do with renovation. Good free wifi. Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor include a balcony overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. The views over the Gulf are certainly great from the either the hotels food & beverage terrace or the guest bedrooms. I am pleased that you had a great overall stay and got to try out the many options available to guests. We hope you choose to stay with us for your next trip and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is located on a hill overlooking the Gulf of Oman. It has a decent pool, 2 tennis courts and a pingpong table (the ball was broken, though). The hotel welcomes you wiith a free drink which you can avail of at the hotel's cool bar in the evening.

For all its pluses, it is an old hotel and badly needs a major renovation. If one plans to go around Muscat, the hotel is not strategically located. The Dollar car rental agency is lousy. The taxi cabs waiting at the hotel charge higher rates than the regular cabs.

While breakfast choices were varied, it was not excellent in taste and I give it a '3'.

I'll most probably book in another hotel during my next business trip to Muscat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FMD88528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear FMD88528,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great atmosphere in the bar and you can see at least one of the televisions from where ever you are seated if your interested in sports.
Friendly efficient staff and we didn't have to wait long for the food.
The club sandwich was excellent, the baked potato and beans were delicious unfortunately I only got 15 beans!! The sausages were delicious but the small scoop of mashed potato was insufficient.
Compared to other hotels in the area the drinks are reasonable priced.
You can either eat inside or on the terrace over looking the gardens and sea.
Lots of car park spaces in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet chat with your friends sit in one of the booths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Outwood-Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Dukes Bar, the atmosphere and views from the terrace are great complimented by good food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a highly enjoyable long weekend staying at this hotel. The staff make this hotel; they are friendly, accommodating and will tend to your every need. All of the staff from the cleaners to the management are pleasant and welcoming.
The food in all of the restaurants is good to very good, the cleanliness of the rooms is excellent and the location is to die for.
The state of decor and cleanliness of the swimming pool let this hotel down.The rooms (especially the bathrooms) are in need of a refurbishment and the pool should be cleaned more regularly (everyday).
This was a great break and I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I would have given it 5 stars if they cleaned the pool, as the service is better than most 5 star hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Our staff strive to provide the best service possible complimented by the hotels great location and facilities. We are currently undergoing bathroom refurbishments to ensure the hotel remains as up to date as possible. We hope you choose to return to stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have to stay in Muscat regularly on business and I am struggling to find a quality hotel in a good location for a reasonable price. The location of the hotel is almost perfect at Qurm Heights for my work and views. I arrived from my flight at 10:30 and was relieved to be allowed to check in and go to bed. Construction noise all day (at a weekend) wasn't welcome at all. The room was dated and the bathroom wasn't particularly clean - old facilities need more attention! The grout around the bath was orange - I really hate that!
The pool area is OK, but the loungers were not 100% clean - one rusty coloured (well worn) towel each handed over once you signed the pool disclaimer. Maybe a little more generosity with towels would reduce lounger staining.
One thing that I always find inexcusable are dirty tiles around the pool. The top two rows of tiles were damaged and really quite dirty. Cleaning these should be part of a daily routine and replacing just a few rows really would make such a difference.
I only spent a couple of hours during the day around the pool - a child vomited (over eating popcorn) in the pool and the parents just watched nonchalantly and expected a pool attendant to do the necessary! I just had to blank this from my mind as I went for my daily evening swim - usually after 20:00 - when I had the pool to myself.
Lovely complimentary cocktail one evening.
I ate on the terrace once which was very nice and then room service once which was fine.
I will return in a couple of weeks and just accept that hotels are expensive in Muscat and that my budget doesn't run to the best!
Apparently consent has been given for 150+ new hotels to be built in Muscat - pull your socks up now IHG!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eld1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear eld1969,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experiences. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if the cleanliness in your room and in our pool area affected your overall experience.

Your concern is definitely not up to our standards and we assure you that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
5.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing