We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dukes Bar, Great atmosphere and lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dukes Bar, Great atmosphere and lovely food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great atmosphere in the bar and you can see at least one of the televisions from where ever you are seated if your interested in sports.
Friendly efficient staff and we didn't have to wait long for the food.
The club sandwich was excellent, the baked potato and beans were delicious unfortunately I only got 15 beans!! The sausages were delicious but the small scoop of mashed potato was insufficient.
Compared to other hotels in the area the drinks are reasonable priced.
You can either eat inside or on the terrace over looking the gardens and sea.
Lots of car park spaces in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet chat with your friends sit in one of the booths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outwood-Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal at Dukes Bar, the atmosphere and views from the terrace are great complimented by good food. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    668
    139
    39
    15
See reviews for
283
508
81
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had a highly enjoyable long weekend staying at this hotel. The staff make this hotel; they are friendly, accommodating and will tend to your every need. All of the staff from the cleaners to the management are pleasant and welcoming.
The food in all of the restaurants is good to very good, the cleanliness of the rooms is excellent and the location is to die for.
The state of decor and cleanliness of the swimming pool let this hotel down.The rooms (especially the bathrooms) are in need of a refurbishment and the pool should be cleaned more regularly (everyday).
This was a great break and I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I would have given it 5 stars if they cleaned the pool, as the service is better than most 5 star hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review on TripAdvisor. Our staff strive to provide the best service possible complimented by the hotels great location and facilities. We are currently undergoing bathroom refurbishments to ensure the hotel remains as up to date as possible. We hope you choose to return to stay with us as we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I have to stay in Muscat regularly on business and I am struggling to find a quality hotel in a good location for a reasonable price. The location of the hotel is almost perfect at Qurm Heights for my work and views. I arrived from my flight at 10:30 and was relieved to be allowed to check in and go to bed. Construction noise all day (at a weekend) wasn't welcome at all. The room was dated and the bathroom wasn't particularly clean - old facilities need more attention! The grout around the bath was orange - I really hate that!
The pool area is OK, but the loungers were not 100% clean - one rusty coloured (well worn) towel each handed over once you signed the pool disclaimer. Maybe a little more generosity with towels would reduce lounger staining.
One thing that I always find inexcusable are dirty tiles around the pool. The top two rows of tiles were damaged and really quite dirty. Cleaning these should be part of a daily routine and replacing just a few rows really would make such a difference.
I only spent a couple of hours during the day around the pool - a child vomited (over eating popcorn) in the pool and the parents just watched nonchalantly and expected a pool attendant to do the necessary! I just had to blank this from my mind as I went for my daily evening swim - usually after 20:00 - when I had the pool to myself.
Lovely complimentary cocktail one evening.
I ate on the terrace once which was very nice and then room service once which was fine.
I will return in a couple of weeks and just accept that hotels are expensive in Muscat and that my budget doesn't run to the best!
Apparently consent has been given for 150+ new hotels to be built in Muscat - pull your socks up now IHG!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eld1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear eld1969,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I am very disappointed to hear about your experiences. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service and quality of its product and as such, I apologize if the cleanliness in your room and in our pool area affected your overall experience.

Your concern is definitely not up to our standards and we assure you that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

when i am planning to go in my business trip to muscat
i had select Crowne Plaza Hotel for three reasons .... service ...location and relaxing
The hotel was beautiful, with oriental art-deco which given arabic spirit .the staff & service was excellent.
the best part of this hotel is the swimming pool with great view to the sea side

Room Tip: to be at the swimming pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghassan-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Many thanks for the kind review. I am pleased to read that you choose to return to stay with us for your trips to Muscat, we certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Spent three nights here on a first visit to Oman. Lovely location , good , clean rooms (upgraded to club / executive which was worth the extra cost for use of club lounge etc). professional , helpful and friendly staff. Nice pool area overlooking the small bay. Good food. We had seafood BBQ which was fab and ate in bar as well as restaurants all good and wine was good too.breakfast was excellent. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for pool / sea view room . We didn't have good view from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldChezzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. The location is certainly wonderful with great views, I am pleased that you tried our Seafood BBQ night at Tropicana Restaurant. We hope you and your partner choose to return to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Beautiful hotel with lovely views if you get a sea-facing room rather than the car park - sightly old-fashioned bathrooms by modern standards but fully functional, clean and well managed. Excellent food in the various restaurants and breakfast is a delight - staff are superb throughout - two colleagues got free birthday cakes and it wasn't eben their birthday.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. The sea view rooms are really great, as for the bathrooms we are currently in the process of renovating them to be more modern. We hope you choose to return to stay with us in the future as we look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poznan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is not so new nymore, but has large clean rooms. Quite expensive, especially the restaurant. Swimmingpool is small but it has a nice private beach between rocks. Staff ok. The location is good near the beach promenade and the old city. But as Muscat is nothing comapred to the whole country, it's better no to stay too long there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoznanLukasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us during your trip to Oman and hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#8 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing