We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #7 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Old style concrete hotel, but with some saving graces. Great pool and bar in the garden with superb views and sunsets. Excellent friendly and helpful staff. Good location for business or pleasure. Decent inhouse restaurants and good pub.

Rooms are ok, and pretty well equipped.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desert-Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. Our wonderful location along with swimming pool, spectacular views make for a wonderful setting. I am please you experienced our high service standards during your stay with us and certainly hope to welcome you back at the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

964 - 970 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had just stayed at the Shangri-La and were expecting a similar standard from the Crowne Plaza - sadly this was not so. Strange as it was actually alot more expensive to stay here.

First of all our room was on the bottom floor looking into the car park. It was also quite grotty so I asked to be moved to a higher floor. The room standard was the same but at least we didn't have to look at cars. So the room was very basic and in desperate need of a renovation. Saying that, there was construction noise all day so they must be doing some renovations somewhere.

The pool area is okay but its a steep walk down to a small alcove/beach. The only saving grace of this hotel is its location and the Persian restaurant was excellent. I would suggest only staying here if you are on business or get a VERY good deal!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ocean side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brisie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I have shared your review with the management for careful consideration. Currently we have plans to refurbish our bathrooms during the summer as we continue to strive to provide an up to date product with seamless service. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Crowne Plaza & found it to be ideally placed for visiting all the things to see in & immediately around Muscat. 20 minutes by taxi from the airport and easy to get to the Souk, Grand Mosque etc. The staff are very helpful & all sea-facing rooms are lovely.
Restaurants in the Hotel are excellent if maybe rather expensive for us poor Brits! Definitely would recommend & stay there again.

Room Tip: Sea facing have lovely views & sunsets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICA186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to read your wonderful review and that you had a good stay with us. Hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in February in a room with a balcony - the view over the swimming pool and the private beach was beautiful. The room was nice with a comfortable bed and everything needed- tea, coffee etc. We ate at the hotel and enjoyed meals in Duke's bar and the Italian restaurant - sitting outside each evening. The staff were helpful and attentive, although service in the bar and restaurant was quite slow - we didn't mind as we weren't in any hurry!
There was always plenty of sunbeds free around the pool and on the beach - both of which were lovely and relaxing. We used the hotel's courtesy minibus to travel into Muscat to the Souk which worked really well and saved on taxi fares. Would defnitely recommend the hotel and would like to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Katherine,
Thank you for your kind comments, we most certainly we do have great sea views of the Gulf of Oman. Dinners in the evening on the Terrace are wonderful and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel has really seen better days and is really very bad value for money. Everything, from the room to the surroundings just felt old and in a need of renovation. Even though hotels in general are expensive in Muscat, it is worth paying more and getting a lot more.

The rooms were small and outdated. The view was nice but the fact that you couldn't open the windows in the room just ruined that whole experience and also made the room feel stuffed and claustrophobic. The beach and pool was OK but nothing impressive. The chairs and towels were really stinky and old.

One night we had dinner at the Italian restaurant. BIG WARNING for that. Extremely overpriced and not tasty!

Good things about the hotel was that the breakfast buffet was very nice. The location was also OK, close to the new corniche where we went for a new evening walk.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Elina,
Thank you for your feedback that you have provided I have passed all of your comments onto the Management for careful consideration. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This review is about the Friday lunch buffet, at the Tropicana restaurant. service is average. we asked the supervisor for plain yoghurt, that was never delivered. Then I asked the cook by the roast turkey to get me plain yoghurt and he was more efficient then the supervisor.

As for the food, the Arabic mezza was average, hommus and moutabbal could be much better. the hot dishes are not of Crowne plaza standard, the fish, the beef and chicken could be much better.

otherwise, the rest was ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank FidoOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for the feedback that you have provided on Trip Advisor. I have passed all of your comments onto the relevant department for careful consideration. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was one of the very best hotel stays we have had, anywhere.
We had 4 nights, DBB, in the second half of February, with perfect weather and temparatures in the mid or late 20s.
The hotel`s beach was manicured each morning and the pool and gardens were relaxing, with lots of seating.
The total bill with some drinks came to £1,100; not cheap, but we got what we paid for. A lovely room with magnificent sea view. The service was quietly efficient. The staff were attentive without being pushy and were interested in the guests. We were treated with respect and humour.
The food was excellent, whether the breakfasts, buffet bbq, or the excellent Iranian restaurant - I have never before tasted such exquisite lamb. I hear the Italian restaurant is also very good, but we couldn`t leave the Iranian once we had discovered it.
We hired a car through the hotel. Hire costs were on a par with the UK but fuel! £9 for 38 litres!!! The road infrastructure is wonderful. Old Muscat and Mutrah, both within reach of the hotel shuttle, and Nizwa, up in the mountains were all a treat.

We would go back, tomorrow!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a sea view, the others look inland, over the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mooney_peterj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and got to enjoy all wonderful views. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 61 in Muscat
1,518 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 61 in Muscat
239 reviews
12.6 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#5 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#5 Family Hotel in Muscat
#7 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range: $196 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing