We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really very friendly, good service, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really very friendly, good service, excellent location”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The staff make this hotel, they were friendly, welcoming and helpful throughout my stay. The very efficient reception and concierge staff deserve a special mention. The location is superb, with excellent views at night and by day. The hotel has a range of sports facilities and very well maintained grounds. The building itself is a little tired and dated in places, but that is more than compensated by the service. Good value specials on the bar menu, which is available on the adjacent terrace which is pleasantly cool in the evenings.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Maurice,
Thank you for your kind comments on TripAdvisor. We certainly do have a great location which makes our hotel unique. As for our staff and service we certainly strive to achieve this level of service and I am glad that you experienced this at our hotel. I hope that you will visit us again soon in Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    678
    141
    41
    16
See reviews for
287
516
85
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had a lovely stay in terms of rooms and front office experience. My only problem was in tropicana i wasnt given a table inspite of being an inhouse guest. It was Eid break and if the hotel knew that they were going to be busy then they should have limited the flow of non residents. F&B Manager wasnt so helpful - the british guy i think - Alina has to be awake in the morning - Maybe she has late nights with her expressions on her face. Foued a kind wait staff in shiraz restaurant - the come prima team very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jan,
Many thanks for your review. I have shared your review with our management team. I am glad that your overall stay with us was good and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel during Eid in October 2012. There are loads to do at the hotel itself - a lovely pool, 2 tennis courts, 2 squash courts, a number of restaurants, beauty salon etc. The hotel has an amazing view of the corniche and the restaurants were all very good! We ate there even on the nights we didn't stay there. Would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Definitely a room facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irettef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Irette,
Thank you for your great comments. I am delighted that you had a good stay with us, the views are certainly breathtaking and the food & beverage options are great. I certainly hope to be welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This was our second visit to Muscat and we had a wonderful time. The previous visit was in June when it was very hot and humid. The end of October was perfect.

The welcome on arrival was warm and friendly, and check-in was smooth. The room was clean and had a great view along the beach towards the InterCon and the mangroves.

We would recommend both Duke's Bar and the Iranian Restaurant. We had the great fortune of being looked after by Fadi in the Iranian Restaurant, who gave good recommendation and introduced us to Iranian Tea.

We are looking forward to our next visit which is planned for January 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobYoung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Rob,
Thank you for your comments and high recommendation. Yes most certainly the weather is much better in October; I am glad you got to experience and see the difference. We recently reopened Shiraz our Iranian Restaurant after a full refurbishment which you got to experience and is great. For your next stay certainly look at trying Come Prima our Italian Restaurant which also features the outside terrace and is ideal in the cooler months of the year. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast, australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is pretty dated. When we arrived we were underwhelmed by the room they presented us with. The carpet was worn, the bathroom was tatty, and there was a spot light outside, designed to illuminate the hotel, that was shining straight into our room. As a result, we asked to be moved to a different room. The only rooms that didn't have the problems with the outside spotlight were on the ocean side, so they kindly upgraded us to an ocean view room. This room was much better, though still dated. The staff at reception at this hotel were very friendly and accommodating, as were the wait staff, generally. Still given what a night at this hotel costs, the amenities need to be upgraded. The pool as ok, but in comparison to the beautiful new infinity style pool I am getting used to, it ain't much.

Room Tip: The non-ocean view rooms have outside spotlights designed to illuminate the building at night that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank azzabazza18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for taking time to post your comments. I have passed on all your feedback to the management team accordingly. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The Crowne Plaza is located in a good spot looking out across the rest of Muscat. My room was on the no beach side of the hotel and I think that this was OK, overlooking the beach is no great deal considering the extra cost of beach view rooms. Spent a fair bit of time at the pool side bar which is really good. Getting around Muscat is that easy as there are only the taxis and the city is strung out along the coastline. Be prepared to negotiate a cab fare as the cabs are not metered. The hotel staff were very polite and I found the overall standard of service very good. The room itself was a little on the small size but well fitted out and comfortable. The continental breakfast is 7 Rial is a much better deal than the buffet breakfast which is 15 Rial, just my opinion. As is usual in these sorts of hotels the internet access was disappointing. You get two hours continuous use free each day but after that it is very expensive. Why can't hotels include internet in the hotel rates as a matter of course? Overall I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Rossco,
Thank you for posting your reviews of our hotel on Trip Advisor. With regards to the internet this is something we are certainly looking into to ensure complete guest satisfaction. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Muscat very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This was my favourite hotel in Muscat which we first visited in 1995. It's still very pleasant to sit on the balcony outside the restaurants and enjoy a drink and a meal watching the sun go down. However, the overall decor and service levels are less than you would expect but the rates continue to rise. We will probably not be going back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank melndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback on trip Advisor. I have shared your comments with our management accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#11 of 55 in Muscat
1,414 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#1 of 55 in Muscat
164 reviews
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#5 Family Hotel in Muscat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#5 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#8 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing