We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around, a very nice stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Second time around, a very nice stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We've done this one before, and were sufficiently happy with it to have another week. Friendly service and well worth the upgrade we decided to go for this time in the club rooms on the top floor. Access to the snacks and comfy open bar made a relaxing stay. The room we had this time was better, with plenty of space and an amazing view over the beach and mountains. We've been to this part of the world so often if feels like home!
Only one snag - the slow service in Duke's bar. A wonderful view but we waited ages for our meals to arrive. Seems like they are overstretched a bit with staff, as this bar/restaurant gets busy. Just one puzzling aspect of having to wait ages for food (not just at this hotel either) when it does finally arrive, why is what is supposed to be hot food always cold? Has it been sitting somewhere for ages before being delivered to the table?

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beach and mountains are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LavenderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Lavender

Many thanks for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and our Food and Beverage Manager. I am sorry that you had to wait for your food in Dukes bar during your stay. However overall I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will be able to welcome you once again at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Muscat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    642
    134
    38
    15
See reviews for
271
482
79
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

OK as others have said this is an old property and I also had problems with my room but they were all fixed fast. The views are lovely and you should definitely get a sea view room.

But the standout for me was the amazing buffet restaurant. bar-be-q on Wednesday night. Wow -well done Chef. One of the best I've had in the GCC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrainingGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. You are quite correct that we are fortunate to have a great location with exceptional sea views.

I have taken the opportunity to share your comments on our food with our Executive Chef, I am sure he will be delighted and pass this onto our Food and Beverage Team.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Overall a nice old property.

Good:
Renovated rooms
Beach & ocean view location
Good walks nearby
Service OK

Bad:
Poor Buffet – may be worst in country
Old – old property and it shows
Rooms have lots of faulty stuff (lamps, windows, taps, etc)
No upgrades for Platinum members ever (I’ve tried 3 times as have 4 colleagues)

Room Tip: Go for sea view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb_174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Tony

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor. I wont go into the “good” but it is nice to know that these elements met your expectations.

With reference to the “bad”, however, I am extremely surprised regarding your comments on our Buffets. You will no doubt have read other reviews on our hotel where our food is regarded as exceptional.

The Crowne Plaza is not a new hotel and does not market itself as such. However as you mentioned the rooms have all been completely softly refurbished to a very comfortable standard. You mention that there were many items not working in your room ? Please see my note below in this regard.

I would be grateful if you would email me personally at the hotel so that our Executive Chef and our Chief Engineer may speak to you directly in order to get some more detailed feedback from you. It is only with your feedback that we are able to take the additional steps required to make all of our guests happy.

I am delighted to know that you are a member of our Platinum Priority Club. We do our best to ensure our members are given preferred rooms – as it mentions in your PC welcome pack. I am sure you appreciate that the winter time in Muscat is high season and it is not always possible for us to do so. Again please feel free to mail me personally on your next stay and I will personally do my best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West Country
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here on business in March. The staff are very good, laundry services efficient and the rooms are "Ok" - agree with other reviewers that the hotel is little old and tired. There is a gym with plenty of equipment but again, the exercise bikes are rather old fashioned. Outside the gardens are very pleasant and there is a stupendous view over the bay. Tennis courts etc. are available. There is a small private beach which is very pleasant. The restaurants and bars are very expensive and the food is mediocre. I found the bar (The Old Duke I think) rather unpleasant - the night we went in there was some white Brit telling extremely offensive jokes about people's religion(s) to an appreciative audience of other elderly white people. There is a night club attached to the hotel which was absolutely hopping when I went in there. If you like extremely loud music, expensive drinks and good looking people it is worth checking out! It is a little way outside of town and transfers to the airport take about 30 minutes or so by cab. I would recommend it for the beach, views and general facilities.About a ten minute walk away down the hill from the Crowne is a small hotel complex and a bar called the Rock Bottom. There is a young Brit band in residence there and they are absolutely great. They play a good cover set twice a night and get everyone on their feet. This is their first gig abroad and it was great to see a bunch of kids from all over the UK playing so well together and having a good time.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view but expect to pay extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWestCountryNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your views of our hotel.

We have just completed a soft refurbishment of our bedrooms and are about to undertake, in the summer months when it is our low season, an upgrade or our lobby, terrace and the Shiraz restaurant. We are constantly working to ensure that the facilities we provide to our guests meet their needs.

I have also raised your comments with our Food and Beverage team. As our bar is popular with both local guests and our hotel residents we do welcome many people from all walks of life, each of whom have their own ideas of what is or is not acceptable. We are unable to control personal conversations in our public areas, and I am sorry that you overhead conversations which you felt were inappropriate.

I hope that you will be visiting Muscat again and would be pleased to welcome you to the Crowne Plaza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel definitely has a split personality.Our first day at the hotel was awful. The pre-arranged transport from the airport didn't show up, the pre-arranged extra beds were not in the room, not enough towels and the previous occupants room service food was left outside the room for 5 hours! Even after going to the reception 3 times, eventually complaining to the manager, there was no apology, no follow-up to see if eveything was okay.
The hotel rooms are quite tired as is the hotel in general. The shower had the classic set-up, one micrometre to the left=freezing cold, one micrometre to the right= blistering hot. The pool area is nice but too small, particularly on the Friday when lots of Muscat residents come in to use the facilities.
The view from the hotel is great, overlooking the beach and a nice setting at night by the pool bar or on the terrace restaurants. The private beach is nice with safe shallow water for kids.Good areas for exploring rocks for crabs and fish at low tide.
The staff in the restaurants were excellent and very accomodating, even when we turned up late. The Italian restaurant was very good with quite generous servings.The food in the buffet restaurant is okay but we thought fairly limited in it's variety and quality.Pool bar food was pretty good.
Like all hotels in Muscat, the Crowne Plaza is expensive and based on this trip, not as good as other Crowne Plaza hotels we have used. Back to the Shangri La next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goode2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our hotel and your stay in Muscat, I am extremely saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

I have taken the opportunity to pass your comments onto the Heads of the Departments you have mentioned in order that they may investigate and correct any errors in the consistency of the service that we offer our guests.

I can assure you that this is not our usual standard and we will take your comments positively in order to make improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

All hotels in Muscat are expensive. By the time you've added all the taxes, your bill will inevitably have edged skywards.

Crowne Plaza is a really old feeling hotel. Rooms are over furnished with very little room to move about. Breakfast is adequate (again for a price).

Pool facilities feel outdated.

Of course this hotel is about 50 percent cheaper than the Chedi - it's just not up to the standards you would get paying the same money in Asia for example.

But that's Oman - save your pennies and sell your first born child and that should give you enough money for a few days here!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KWKW727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

It can be misleading when comparing the costs of services in different countries as has its own economic climate.

To compare The Chedi with the Crowne Plaza does not make for a fair comparison. The Chedi is a Luxury Upscale Leisure resort and a leading hotel of the World. We, at the Crowne Plaza are positioned, are priced and offer the services and facilities of a mid scale, extremely comfortable hotel which is very popular with families and couples on leisure travel and the travelling businessman. All of whom require cleanliness, comfort, good food and beverage offerings and friendly service.

There are many reviews from our guests on Trip Advisor which confirm that the Crowne Plaza offers exactly what they need for their particular travel requirements.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Muscat and that you did not enjoy our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The hotel's location and private beach make it a standout in Muscat. The manager had kindly upgraded us to a sea view room which enhanced the experience. Having visited a friend staying at a very expensive 5 Star Hotel but we preferred the Crowne Plaza as its opulence was no trade off for the privacy and views at the Crowne Plaza. We also visited a friend at a similar category hotel nearby and the Crowne was heads above. The Crownes' rooms are standard, clean and had all the required amenities. We ate lunch and breakfasts (not included) at the hotel buffet and found there to be plenty of choice. The staff were unobtrusive and courteous when approached. Having had the opportunity to view other hotels in Muscat I would choose the Crowne again and would not hesitate to recommend as the best choice for Muscat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiDip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet_Turner_DOSM, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel and your stay with us. I have taken the opportunity to share your views with our staff. Good Feedback is always very much appreciated.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza in the not too distant future and assure you of our very best attention
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
1.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#4 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#6 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing