We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent hotel, you come once you always return!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
zurich, switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, you come once you always return!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed several times at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Muscat. I was always struck by the excellent service, cleanliness everywhere, great kindness and availability of the whole staff. I can only recommend this wonderful hotel located at the beginning of a beautiful strand, looking over the bay of Muscat from its own rocky hill. Sunsets are amazing, pool bar very peaceful and inviting.... There's no other place I wish to go.

Room Tip: Rooms situated from 3rd and 4th floor: very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine_rou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    600
    124
    37
    15
See reviews for
248
430
76
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Oman hotels are all quite expensive so this was reasonable for the area. We choose 2 city view rooms for our family (3 adults, 2 kids and a toddler). On arrival we were offered an upgrade to sea view rooms, but at a cost, so we declined. We checked into our rooms (3rd floor) but they had an awful smell of dampness and cigarettes, therefore we asked to be moved. We were moved to much nicer rooms on the 6th floor, with a sea view, no extra cost. Couldn't fault the service there. We did require an extra bed in one room and a cot and that took some time arrive.
Overall this is a nice hotel in a good location with a good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel247Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
323 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

It is difficult to find cheapish accommodation in Muscat but this hotel offers that for people who want somewhere nice and can't afford luxury hotels in Muscat or surrounding area. Reasonably close to the airport as well. If regularly stay at Crowne Plaza's for business, this is NOT a modern feeling one. The decor is dated. It has that feeling of 70s English seaside resort hotel about it, which is no bad thing but not necessarily consistent with my experiences generally with Crowne Plaza's globally.

Well kitted out gym too.

- Stayed with my partner for a long weekend in April;
- Reception played hard sell to upgrade room;
- Standard room facing the sea;
- No reco upgrading to balcony room, minimal benefit;
- Unaware of shuttle service until arrived (and too late);
- Genuinely friendly, solution focused concierge and reception;
- No cash machine at hotel but can charge cash to room and get Omani Rials;
- Salon lady was extremely rude and judgmental towards my partner;

ROOM
- Sea facing room;
- Decor is aged, not unkept but very dated;
- Clean with toiletries and complimetary water;
- Room was a little small but fine for a long weekend for a couple with only hand luggage each;
- Room felt a little 'damp' but I suspect this may have been due to the air conditioning;

POOL AREA / BEACH
- children and families, reco going to beach if you want to get away from kids;
- Stocked bar and food on menu (salads, burgers, sandwiches, pastas);
- Staff were helpful to accommodate for food preferences etc;
- Beach is smallish but private and quiet, volleyball court available, lounge chairs and umbrellas provided;
- Very shallow beach, you can walk out 20+ feet at ankle depth!

EATING
- We ate at the Edge restaurant and the pool bar
- Edge serves food cooked in bags which is 'novel' as it is 90% of the menu; tasty perhaps a little gimmicky. I would eat there again as the food itself was enjoyable and it is not the only restaurant in the hotel;
- Nice cocktails too at Edge;
- Pool bar serves burgers, salads, sandwiches, pasta etc. Not complicated menu but enjoyable enough when you just want to get sun and the occasional nibble. Prices are as to be expected with large chain hotels;
- We heard good reviews re Persian restaurant on site but did not eat there ourselves.

AREAS OF IMPROVEMENT
- Places desperately wants to be updated in decor or go traditional, Omani/Arabic design. I was a little surprised at the decor;
- More needs to be included in the room rates. I accept that we wanted the cheapest room and deal they had going but we were told it was 35 Rials per night for the internet which was astounding. A lot of hotels include internet in the room rate globally and a chain like Crown Plaza (which I have stayed in before) does this too.
- Location: it is fairly well located in that it is closer enough to a number of sites (Muscat, Mutrah, airport). It is on a hill and not convenient walking distance to shops, stores etc. There is a bus service but this is not very frequent nor sufficiently promoted in my view. However, the upside for the 'isolation' is that the hotel is reasonably quiet and private - it will depend on what you are looking for at this price bracket.

Room Tip: Get loyalty programme in advance; free bus service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcollens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Spent a week here on a business trip. Hotel was nice and clean nothing extravagant though. Room was nice and spacious, nice views overlooking the sea. Taxis are available 24hrs in the parking lot which proved to be very handy. On the down side breakfast selection was fairly poor and the dinners at the bar, Persian and Italian restaurants where way to expensive for the quality of food offered. Internet was ridiculously slow and when i complained to the person at check-in he shrugged it off and blamed Omantel for the problems, I still got billed for 24hr of internet use even though I did not end up using it due to speed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alloverman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 17, 2011
Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

We have passed your comments regarding our food and beverage offerings to our chef as this is not the usual comment we have regarding our restaurants. We are sorry that you were not fully satisfied on this occasion.

We have sent to you a personal mail so that our chef may communicate with you directly in order to gain more in depth feedback so that he may take any action which is required.

Internet can be slow at times in the hotel and due to the infrastructure of the services it may be slowed down when there is heavy traffic. However our IT team are on hand daily to assist with guest problems.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel should you be travelling to Muscat in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
295 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

What can you say about this hotel, it’s functional, clean and the views from the terrace are fantastic. The check in experience was a little fraught as none of the key cards given to our party worked first or second time.

I was also told I had been upgraded? Not sure what I had been upgraded to as the room looked no different to any other.

The food and bar service was fine and the view across the gulf was magnificent, the breakfast was also adequate and plentiful.

The hotel looks to have been in the Crowne Plaza chain for a while and has several makeovers, with each make over making the other look odder i.e. brown marble bathroom basin with light blue tiles.

One point of note was the room overlooked the pool / bar area and one ofthe nights we stopped there was a band on, the music went on till late and the window did not give any noise protection.

Would I stop there again, yes is the hotel a great find, not really, but its ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve5839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Crowne Plaza Muscat. I am glad to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasant. The hotel team and its owners work consitantly to maintain and improve the facilities. We are currently working on a project to enhance the pool deck area. This was refurbished 2 years ago. As you can appreciate all of our guests wish to use the pool area and to take it out of operation during the season would not be advantageous to our guests. We hope to have some upgrade works completed in this year. We do offer club rooms and standard rooms. The trio plays each Wednesday and Thursday nights, which is the weekend in Muscat and do not play during the working week. The cut off time for them is midnight on those evenings.

Kind regards
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poole
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

I stayed in a standard room overlooking the rear of the hotel which overlooked the local Omani houses with their spectactular architecture. The room was large enough and well equipped.The pool was great as was the gym. The only aspect that did not please me was the standard of the food which was very expensive. Don't phone home- it's expensive! Great location but not ideal if you want to walk to local restaurants. Would I stay there again- probably yes. Best to travel between November and end of March. After that it gets too hot to sunbathe. Muscat is still my favourite place for winter sun.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryAPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Many thanks for your review of our hotel. You are quite right Muscats Winter Sun is great. I noted your comment on the food and beverage costs, our hotel offers quality restaurants and menus. We constantly review our prices to ensure that we remain competitive in the local market place. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area of the city where there are a handful of local restaurants located approximately a ten minute walk. We also have local taxis on hand 24 hours a day for those who wish to travel further afield or explore the old town of Muscat which is a 15 minute ride by car. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

Just got back from an 8-night stay in this Hotel. We were very happy with everything. The Staff were always smiling, courteous and attentive. The bed was huge and very comfortable, with a choice of pillows! The Restaurants were varied in style, so plenty of choice. Breakfast offered an amazing choice. The views from the rooms facing the pool were amazing. Only slight problem is that most of the places you would like to visit are well spaced out, so taxis are needed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, April 5, 2011
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming yo back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
5.6 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
2.8 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
9.4 mi away
Al Bustan Palace, A Ritz-Carlton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
12.7 mi away
Hormuz Grand Hotel, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Property: Crowne Plaza Muscat
Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Check into an elegant seaside hotel in Oman's thriving capital with a private beach and easy access to local businesses. The dazzling Crowne Plaza(R) Muscat hotel looks out across the turquoise waters of the Gulf of Oman from a lush clifftop in fashionable Qurum Heights. With a panoramic terrace, pool and private beach, the hotel is just a 20-minute drive from Muscat International Airport and steps from Qurum Beach with its café-lined promenade. Oman's main business and ministerial districts are 10 minutes away. Families and couples can sunbathe on the private beach and swim in a pool set in leafy gardens alive with bougainvillea and date palms. After exploring ancient Muttrah Souq and Corniche, you can savor a cool drink in our English-style Dukes Bar as the sun dips into the Gulf. For dinner, how about Italian, Persian, or lavish buffets on the terrace of Tropicana with stunning sea views? Business travelers enjoy the hotel's relaxed vibe and convenient services such as complimentary Wi-Fi and parking, 24-hour room service and a Concierge who can pre-arrange taxi fares. After work, you can re-energize in the Cliff Club Fitness Center, challenge colleagues to a game of tennis or squash and de-stress in the sauna or steam room with our compliments. With 200 stylish rooms and a convenient, prestigious location in Oman, you'll find Crowne Plaza Muscat an ideal hotel for productive business and enjoyable leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing