We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”

The Restaurant at The Chedi Muscat
Ranked #1 of 413 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $75
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Middle Eastern, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Elegantly curved Omani arches make a dramatic first impression in this vaulted, crystal chandelier lit dining room with contemporary cool dark grey terrazzo floors, expansive bay windows on the gardens and live piano music. Four open show kitchens add entertainment and aromas as Muscat’s finest culinary talents prepare Western, Asian, Middle Eastern and Indian fare, best paired with sips off our award winning wine list. Dine as well on the outdoor patio or among equally chic private dining rooms with lounge areas that make memorable venues for business dinners, family gatherings and festive events
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,061 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Yes the restaurant is expensive but the food is excellent and we found the service brilliant. We were staying in the hotel for 10 nights so spent most in the restaurant. Great service from Subash and we were prepared meals to our liking on most nights. A great wine list as well as a new menu. Can't wait to revisit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CorneliusfudgeGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    153
    50
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delectable food, fantastic service”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Don't go to The Chedi If you re not prepared to spend money. It is most definitely expensive but I have never had a bad meal here. Huge choice of wines, menu is extensive and yet not overwhelmingly so. Perfect place for a romantic dinner especially when the Beach Retaurant is open in the winter months, or a dinner with friends. Service is excellent and never rushed either. Always heavily booked, so reservations is a must.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mohana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Restaurant Chedi”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Whilst others report a good experience ours was not so good. Both seafood main dishes were served cold (should have been hot) whilst my wife's prawns were still frozen in the middle. These were advised as being fresh! Neither dish was eaten. Trying to get assistance was fruitless as we were advised the duty manager was 'unavailable'. We were offered a free glass of wine as compensation!! Needless to say we were also charged full price - just as needless to say, we shall not be going back! I telephoned to complain the next morning and received excuses but no meaningful response.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDH-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“High class”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Tried it for breakfast and lunch . Very good atmosphere. High class dining area. The service is French . The food is ok . The breakfast has a wide selection the lunch was not to my expectations . Very limited options especially for Arabic food . Their sweets and sweet pastries are highlights of the place . Try their freshly baked macrons with Omani halwa filing mmmmmm

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Let me quantify the title of this review. Stunning restaurant, stunning surroundings, stunning service and stunning food. I have also got to add stunning prices. If you want to treat yourself to a top class evenings food and service then look no further than The Chedi. We have had one evening meal and breakfast every morning that we have stayed at The Chedi and each meal has had impeccable service and faultless food. Certainly worth the money.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at The Chedi Muscat also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to The Restaurant at The Chedi Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing