We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Almouj Golf

Almouj Golf
Ranked #15 of 67 Outdoor Activities in Muscat
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: International golfing legend Greg Norman is responsible for the magnificent design of the 18 hole, par 72 championship golf course at Almouj Golf.With 36 golf projects currently in progress worldwide, The Shark, as he is affectionately known, visited the site back in 2006 and could instantly see in his mind's eye the course that he wanted to create. After carefully studying the topography and weather conditions of the site, and using his years of experience playing top golf courses around the globe, Greg and his associates from Greg Norman Design produced an inspiring plan.The new Greg Norman course offers truly unique characters with each hole offering something different from the last. He and his design team were mindful of maintaining the panorama of the ocean and the spectacular vista of the Hajar Mountains. On a clear day you almost feel as if you can touch the mountains.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

I just used the driving range but the facility and the class of the establishment is brilliant. The grass is just so green and lush and just any golfers dream. Staff was also very friendly. Save up for the game because it's gonna land you a whopping 50 OR for 18 holes. I feel it's well worth it. There is also a par3 9 hole course for just 8 riyals. Enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raquertyquill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    10
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“splendid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

I don’t know what was better: the design, the course conditions or the friendliness of the staff.
A links design on the water, very difficult from the back tees but playable for mid handicappers.
I played there on February 12, booking the tee-time on the eve. Everything was perfect.
Moreover, not too expensive, considering the class of the place.
A green fee, including rental clubs (reasonably new Pings!!) for €80.
Less than half what I paid in Castle Stuart Scotland mid-November in appalling weather conditions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rdalpozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Golfing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Played part of a 3-ball on a Saturday morning which we found to be surprisingly quiet. The reception was good and they were able to be flexible with our start time as we arrived earlier than expected. Unfortunately we couldn’t pay in Saudi Riyals, but managed to get enough OMRs together between us. Whilst it is a small clubhouse, it has all the facilities one would expect of a 5-star golf course including pro-shop, locker rooms, showers and restaurant and bar etc all to a very high standard. We started with a few balls on the range which provides a feel for the scenery ahead. There is also a small par 3 floodlight course. The 18-hole course was in fantastic condition from tee to green and the scenery breath-taking over the 18-holes. I actually felt like I was playing golf on one of the top links courses back home in Scotland until I remembered the sun was shining and it wasn’t raining! Really is a top course with all the elements of a true links that man can make. Would highly recommend the course to anyone wanting to play on a top class course. We had breakfast before starting and a couple of drinks when we finished and the service was friendly and helpful. Overall, a fab day of golf, never lost a ball and played to my handicap! What a great experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JGLKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Fantastic course and beautiful scenery! It was a pleasure to play this course and we went around very quickly.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cpt6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great golf in Muscat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent layout and some truly stunning holes ...gotta are with several of the positive reviews below ....... Well worth a visit ,,,,,,big thumbs up

Helpful?
Thank alex e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almouj Golf also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Almouj Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing