We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for a night out”

Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel
Ranked #7 of 420 Restaurants in Muscat
Cuisines: French, Polynesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good food although expensive. Live music - latin band plays every night except Fridays. Space to dance. Good bar with interesting cocktails and mocktails. It's a place where one can meet both expats and locals.

Service - bad... The waitresses can be plain rude sometimes. When it's busy, getting your drink at the bar can take a long time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CanBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Katya_k,

thank you very much for your candid feedback, positive and negative.

I deeply apologize your experience with our service staff and rest assured that it got addressed. Actually we updated just recently our menu with some new signature dishes. It is worth coming again to try them out with great service, this time.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (750)
There are newer reviews for Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

575 - 579 of 750 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

We visited twice and we may not visit again. Food was not really 5* but price is quite expensive. We need to wait too long for our foods to come and staff were not friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EWD_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear EniW_12,

I am disappointed to read that you consider not to come back. I can assure you that we addressed your feedback, which helps us to get better. Please accept my sincere apologies.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope we will get another chance to prove to you that we can do better.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Head to Trader Vic's in Muscat Intercontinental Hotel for some real Polynesian food and great cocktails. The ambience, decor and quality of food is excellent. Service is par excellent with very attentive staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nausher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Don't come here expecting real Asian food. It's more of a fusion place. In other words: bland. Their drinks are excellent though. Oh, don't expect to get a table at the patio unless you are having drinks. They only reserve this for people who are ordering food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank knightrider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear knightrider76,

thank you very much for your feedback.

Trader Vic's is a Polynesian Restaurant, which is a fusion, with influences out of Asia and America. We offer a wide range of food and taste, from spicy curries to great steaks. I hope you will give us another chance and our waiters are more than happy to help you in finding the right dish for you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Trader Vics needs to get its sparkle back. The food was ok, I had a steak and although I asked for it medium rare, I got it medium. My fellow diner had the crispy duck pancakes, I am sorry to say I have had better bought from the supermarket and cooked at home. It was a disappointing visit and I will be giving it a miss for a while.

Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mercia2110,

thank you for your honest feedback.

I apologize that we were not able to wow you as many other guests in our famous Trader Vic's restaurant. I can assure you that your comments are taken serious and will be shared with the team. Feedback like your helps us to become better every day.

I hope you will still give us another chance in the near future, that you can see by yourself that we can do much better.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing