We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not real Asian food”

Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel
Ranked #22 of 452 Restaurants in Muscat
Cuisines: French, Polynesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Don't come here expecting real Asian food. It's more of a fusion place. In other words: bland. Their drinks are excellent though. Oh, don't expect to get a table at the patio unless you are having drinks. They only reserve this for people who are ordering food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank knightrider76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear knightrider76,

thank you very much for your feedback.

Trader Vic's is a Polynesian Restaurant, which is a fusion, with influences out of Asia and America. We offer a wide range of food and taste, from spicy curries to great steaks. I hope you will give us another chance and our waiters are more than happy to help you in finding the right dish for you.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

645 - 649 of 823 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Trader Vics needs to get its sparkle back. The food was ok, I had a steak and although I asked for it medium rare, I got it medium. My fellow diner had the crispy duck pancakes, I am sorry to say I have had better bought from the supermarket and cooked at home. It was a disappointing visit and I will be giving it a miss for a while.

Thank Mercia2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mercia2110,

thank you for your honest feedback.

I apologize that we were not able to wow you as many other guests in our famous Trader Vic's restaurant. I can assure you that your comments are taken serious and will be shared with the team. Feedback like your helps us to become better every day.

I hope you will still give us another chance in the near future, that you can see by yourself that we can do much better.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Great food, good range of drinks, wonderful service. Not sure if the all girl band adds to the venue's ambience

Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Richard K,

thank you for your kind evaluation about our restaurant Trader Vic's.
Actually we receive very good feedback about our ladies band and at a later stage of the evening they are able to get the people on the dance floor.

We hope to see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Food was excellent with a good choice, the only downside is that it is perhaps a little dark so for anyone who struggles with their eyesight they may have a problem

Thank Elayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver G, Manager at Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Elayne T,

thank you very much for your positive review on tripadvisor.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your evening. I hope we will see you soon again.

with kind regards

Oliver Geyer
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very nice ambience and decoration....we enjoyed our cocktails... in fact we tried 3 different varieties of cocktail....and enjoyed all three varieties.....sadly one of my friend ,who ordered for fruit cocktail..,was not that happy..he complained ,all thee varieties of his drink taste similar... ..but luckly for alcoholic cocktails you will get exotic variety of cocktails....wish i could say same about the food.,there is nothing great about the food.,.and the lighting is too dim ,i couldn't even read the menu..with great difficulty my friends managed to read it.....very good live band..nice place to visit with friends for some great cocktails...

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mridu p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Trader Vic's in InterContinental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing