We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit or miss”

Tokyo Taro at The Falaj Hotel
Ranked #36 of 409 Restaurants in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I don't know why, but the food is either very good, or very average. I go there for Japanese comfort food like katsudon, and often find it very good, but am sometimes disappointed. I guess that's why I would rate it average at best.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConorO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very authentic Japanese restaurent and the food is very delicious and good. The stuff and the Customer are very Japanese wich make the restaurent even more authentic.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ZeinaA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst service and food”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I experienced the worst service tonight at Tokyo Taro.

We had been to Tokyo Taro quite a few times, but tonight so many things went wrong.

First of all, after taking my order of Sashimi Bento box, the waitress came back saying that they run out of sashimi's. Only salmon is available. So she offered to replace my Sashimi Bento with Salmon a la carte, which I accepted. It turned out to be nine very thin slices of salmon sashimi for the price RO 8.0. What a ripoff!

After ten minutes or so, the waitress came back again informing us that the bento box my wife ordered would not have the sashimi that it should have, but was replaced with cooked fish. We said that we wanted sashimi, then she said that it was already cooked by the chef and could not be changed. Sashimi and cooked fish are completely different food! They changed our order without getting our consent.

Then the Udon soup with Tempura that I ordered came in as plain noodles, not the Japanese Udon.

I complained to the manager about the noodle and the sashimi. The manager said sorry to us, and took the noodle away without explanation. After twenty minutes, we found out that he simply cancelled my noodle order. I was not even offered to order something else as replacement.

So my dinner at Kyoto Taro became a half diner. As we stepped out Tokyo Taro, we had to go to another restaurant to complete my dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Food is good but ambience is way cooler. We enjoyed the food, cannot really comment about authenticity.
Staff were polite, very attentive and responsive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arjunvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food, But Difficult Location”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Japanese food here is excellent. I especially like the sushi. I don't go very often because it is near Ruwi and a bit difficult to get to. I wish it were nearer to where I live.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank justgallavanting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokyo Taro at The Falaj Hotel also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Ruwi, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Tokyo Taro at The Falaj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing