We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Curse of Musak” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Seasons Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Seasons Hotel Muscat
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
lewes uk
Level Contributor
179 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The Curse of Musak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The hotel is situated on the main road through Muscat. Newish property, the rooms are a good size and comfortable, bathrooms are also well equipped if a little cramped. Plenty of storage space. Strangly the 'Fire Escape' notice is clumsily taped on to the door with duck tape.
The breakfast restaurant is a pleasant room with nice views to the coast. Breakfast is good with plenty of choice. The lunch and evening buffets are also reasonably good although the menu rarely changes so it can get a bit monotonous after a few days. The staff are a bit dissorganised and can be unfriendly, at least that was my experience.
Nice compact gym and rooftop swimming pool.
The hotel is cursed by musak, from the lifts to the corridors, I also found the road noise in my room on the 4th floor to be intrusive as was the loud 'pinging' from the service lift near my room, in fact I didn't really get a peaceful nights sleep here. Perhaps the rooms at the rear of the property are better.
The surrounding area has a few shops and restaurants and it's a 10 minute walk to the beach.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the front and service lifts for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulosussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    220
    102
    24
    8
See reviews for
46
58
21
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 night in November 2012.
Reasonably priced. I was given an OMANTEL rate as I was visiting them on business.
Upgraded to a luxury room at no extra charge on arrival. Room was much too large for my requirements, but if I had wanted to have a business meeting in the room it certainly had the space and facilities for up to 4/5 people.
Breakfast had a good choice of hot and cold variations.
Had a buffett lunch on one of the days I was there and it was excellent.
Internet access is free but very slow and frustratingly drops out regularly.
15 minutes from airport. Taxis readily available outside hotel.
All in all a pleasant experience with very polite and helpful staff.
Would recommend it for a short stay on business in Muscat.

Room Tip: If you like a drink in the evening to relax, be warned this hotel is DRY!! Radisson Blue is a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARITYVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We used this hotel as our starting point for a tour of Oman. It was clean comfortable, had a nice rooftop pool and a well equipped gym. Breakfast was fine, and there are a good selection of cheap restaurants within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John_p48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights in November: 2012. The rooms are nice and clean but in no way match the photos online, the checkin process and overall service in the hotel was quite poor, which started with being informed that our credit cards didn't work and being directed to a ATM to withdraw cash, no wireless in the rooms on the first night and stay away from room 309 it is near the chiller for the hotel and sounded like it could be a nuclear reactor. Overall this is a reasonably well situated hotel, good for a business trip, modern (for Oman) but not for a longer stay. The breakfast was poor. 3 stars certainly no more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor seem to be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trefor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urayasu, Japan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

nearer to airport than other famous hotel thefore no trouble for being in jam. you have supermarket to next to the hotel and also Fridays. room is very clean and wide. the speed of wi-fi was slow in my case so it took much time to send files by e-mail. clean-up room service is excellent. in my case when i left room on 8:45 and back 10:30, room had already been cleaned-up. taxi is stand-by in front of the hotel in many case so you don't spend much time to wait for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emakenshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 6 months earlier in the year.

The rooms are spacious, its fairly priced and the staff are friendly and helpful so by and large I enjoyed the stay.

Its let down by the food. For the duration of the stay there was just the one restaurant and it did not measure up to the standards that the hotel otherwise aspired to. I think they have opened a separate Lebanese restaurant now so maybe matters have improved but avoid the main restaurant unless there has been a change of chef

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_Ma_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Was booked in for 5 nights but left after one - luckily the Radisson had space. Check-in was friendly and impeccable, porter was courteous in the extreme - but my problems started with the room. It was too dark to read or work in. Then, the room service - very limited choice and couldn't find the wine list. When I asked I was told it was not available. Alcohol is not banned in Oman, but this place is owned by a conservative sheikh from Al Ain with other ideas. Why on earth stay here ? No view, no atmosphere but really friendly and helpful staff at least some of whom do not agree with the food and drink policy. NEVER AGAIN !

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
1.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#12 of 49 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Seasons Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Seasons Hotel Muscat

Property: City Seasons Hotel Muscat
Address: Al Sultan Qaboos Street, Muscat, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — City Seasons Hotel Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Seasons Hotel Muscat redefines the business hotel category in Muscat, combining unparalleled luxury with contemporary elegance and efficiency. Located on Al Sultan Qaboos Street, City Seasons Hotel Muscat is situated in the heart of the City's Diplomatic area and commercial business district and is a growing landmark of the region's corporate achievement. City Seasons Muscat Hotel is situated 15 minutes drive away from Muscat International Airport, and is in the heart of the city ' s thriving business district. As well as being set in amongst the Diplomatic area of Muscat, the hotel has a number of shopping and leisure facilities. City Seasons Muscat offers three diverse restaurants that ensure local diners as well as in-house guests have a choice of options for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your City Seasons Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing