We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Samara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Samara Hotel
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very good location, reasonable price, delicious breakfast, nice staff.


We had a lovely stay at Samara Hotel for a week. We had a warm welcome when we arrived and our luggage was carried up the rooms. The rooms were very clean and we had nothing to complain. The breakfast was really nice.
the location is great at the central of the city, the hotel helped us to rent a car.
We will definitively come back to Muscat and stay at Samara hotel again.
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mak133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 110 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The stay at the Samara Hotel was absolutely dreadful. The room had flourescent lighting, bugs, and the check out staff members were unpleasant. Advoid this place.

The wifi is turned off daily at midnight and does not resume until 9 AM.

Room Tip: No noise but the room was horrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReginiaCordell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

i was debating between staying here and ibis down the street and was very happy with my decision to stay at samara hotel. my girlfriend and i stayed here for 4 nights on a trip to muscat which was half business half leisure. the staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the room was great. we asked the staff to help us rent a car at the last minute, and within an hour, a car was delivered to the hotel and the rate was as low as any of the other rates i had found. the rental company also picked up the car from our hotel. the restaurant and room service were pretty good, and the location was pretty good as well, as it's right in the middle of a bunch of hotels surrounded by restaurants. the wifi was good as well. all in all, we were highly satisfied with our stay and would recommend to anyone staying for either business and leisure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1337traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We took up the hotel during our 4 day visit to Muscat in Feb 2013. The hotel is an avg B&B type hotel with an affordable pricing. The location of the hotel (Al Khuwair) is apt for visitors as there are lots of restaurants in the vicinity and the Grand Mall at a walking distance from the Hotel (10 mins max); moreover the hotel is easily accessible from the highway.

However, the hotel is a notch lower than the other hotel - Rotana (which is right behind it) in terms of looks and rooms.

Samara provides you a feeling of going into a typical B&B inns. The usual breakfast was disappointing though; however, my wife's friendship with the Chef played to our favour and we got a delightful breakfast on the last day.

Overall, the hotel is an avg. stay but if you are ready to shell a few more then take up Rotana/ Tulip Inn/ Ibis/ Platinum which are located at a small distance from this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adinidu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Room was fine but shame about the ugly fluorescent tube lights.
Good to have free wifi even if the daily log on codes did not always work. Signal just about reached my bedroom (3rd floor). Having to change codes daily seemed unnecessary.

Service was mediocre and the waiters' English was not good which meant orders were mixed up.

But it is a good value hotel in a convenient location.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

A nice family hotel in a residential area of Muscat which represents fantastic value for money, if you push for a discount. My only concern was the quality of the food but, given that there are cafes, supermarkets and restaurants around about, this should not be a problem. The location is also good next to the main road from the airport into Muscat. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Ten times better than the Ibis Hotel which is just 500 metres away.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting. All rooms are different - some overlook roof tops, others overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This Hotel is located next to Muscat Bakery and they are lots of resturants around in the area.
rooms are decent and internet is provided free. Good hotel for short stay. Breakfast is included in the room rates but breakfast served is Asian. upon request you can get English breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mac m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#37 of 61 in Muscat
58 reviews
0 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
9.3 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#24 of 61 in Muscat
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#34 of 61 in Muscat
89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
0 mi away
Crystal Suites
Crystal Suites
#38 of 61 in Muscat
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samara Hotel

Address: Al Khuwair Street, Muscat, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 61 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range: $45 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Samara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Samara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing