We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoky room, internet not working, otherwise ok”
Review of Hotel Muscat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Muscat
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Wellington
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Smoky room, internet not working, otherwise ok”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The room was tidy enough. Price was not unreasonable compared to other Muscat hotels at the time. Only real complaints are that the room smelt quite smoky when we arrived, and the WiFi was not working properly. The hotel & room were both in good condition. One of the bedside lamps was wired into the power socket with 2 bare wires, no plug.
The staff were fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room. Not sure if they actually have any though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    14
    17
    12
    8
See reviews for
12
6
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

It is business hotel with all the latest amenities. The positives this hotel has are
(+) depending on the room, you get a stunning view of the vista. (The higher you go in terms of floors choice, the better the view from the room)
(+)a mini chiller to keep your drinks (cola + water) cold.
(+) ironing board to iron your own clothes
(+) comfortable living arrangements, which include bed, writing table and shelves and a safe to store your valuables.
(+) Daily house cleaning that provides clean bed sheets and towels
(+) a flat panel TV with USB playback for pictures & music
(+) lot of restaurants in the vicinity including Subway, Mc Donald’s & KFC.
(+) very good fitness center with brand new equipments & a trainer to help you with your training needs

What it lacks is
(-) Wi-fi connectivity: If the number of guests increases in the hotel, then you will face connectivity issues. Otherwise if the connection is good, then the broadband speed is very nice. So if you are planning to work from the hotel, check the wifi connectivity before you choose your room.
(-) TV Channels: There are very limited options for viewing on the TV. Apart from 2 news channel, 1 Hindi channel (Zee Arabia) and 4 English channels, rest is Arabic. So if you are looking for the Indian Hindi package of Star or Zee channels, you will be very disappointed.
(-) Room service is below par. In the initial few days of my stay, I decided to try the room service for my lunch and dinner and the quality of the food is very substandard compared to the rating this hotel claims it to be.
(-)Complimentary Breakfast: Breakfast is, more often than not, the same everyday and is served cold. They do not have much of a choice in terms of the spread, and the options available only cater to the Non Indian Taste Buds. So if you are looking for a vegetarian spread, you are at a loss of options.
(-)Laundry is expensive in the hotel, but there are a couple of Laundry stores in the vicinity
(-) travel is an issue here, since the Cabs do not run on meters. So please negotiate with the driver regarding the rates before you take the Cab.

So choose this place only if you are looking at a place to crash and nothing else.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view of the vista. North Side rooms face the sea while the South Side f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Projit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

The staff was horrible. they didn't know how to run a hotel. receptionist was rude. BE CAREFUL OF HIDDEN FEES. We booked through a website that included taxes and fees and them when we got there, they charged us extra and we couldn't get out of it. so make sure before you stay how much they will charge. The pool lights were not working... all dark. Had t ask a few times for amenities like towels. rooms were ok but service ruined the stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mevla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muscat hotels

New York City
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I was a bit apprehensive about my stay here, after reading some previous comments, but I was pleasantly surprised upon checking into the Rotana. The staff was friendly and efficient at check in and the lobby was well kept. Our room was quite large and very clean, with all the expected amenities. We had a rental car, so the location was fine for us, about half way between the airport and downtown area. It's not the place you want to be if you're looking for a beach or city center experience, but the surrounding neighborhood has plenty of options for food. The only problem I would mention is the construction site next door, which made some noise early in the morning. We took a look at the swimming pool in the cellar and it wasn't very appealing, but it looked maintained and clean, despite the musty smell.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjsubway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

To start, this hotel is supremely misleading! This Rotana Hotel in Muscat, Oman doesn't have anything to do with the Rotana Hotel Group found all over the ME. When I got into the room I though, small but ok...then I went to take a shower. Hair and Dirt in the tub and on the walls so, I washed them off with the handheld shower thingy and went on my merry way. The water pressure and temp were very erratic but this is the ME and things happen. Then after some emails I went to get into bed. Upon pulling the duvet down, there were hairs, crumbs, stains and sesame seeds in the bed! I asked to be moved... They moved me to another, much larger room. I wanted to pass out and again, I removed the duvet to find hair on the sheets so at this point, I flicked the hair on the floor and slept on the other side of the bed! In the morning I realized at sunrise, that the black-out curtains had been ripped off the windows by some previous guest and I've been up since. I left for work at about 10 and got back at 4ish and the housekeeper hadn't come and the door won't unlock without someone from the front desk letting me in. The staff have been absolutely sweet but some statement about putting lipstick on a pig comes to mind when I think of this place...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPintheME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This hotel is only a few months old , so they still need to be brought up to speed with what guests expect. We were 2 families with 4 rooms, check in and check out was quite simple although we had to wait for 1 room a few minutes because it was being cleaned.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, however the 1 room show had virtually no water pressure at all. Not good!!!
The hot water switch is also linked to your room key that switches everything off when you are not in the room so this results in no hot water if you shower and leave. Management of hotel need to look at other options to save energy without discomfort to customers.
Bed and pillows were too soft for me but others liked it.
Breakfest was basic, simple and cold food most of the time. 2 breakfest areas, ground floor and 6th floor, when the ground floor is full, guests are sent to the 6th floor.
Nothing to do at the hotel so it is ok if you just need a place to sleep and go sight seeing the rest of the day.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afzal3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Firstly, when we arrived we realised from the reception area that this hotel had only just opened. It certainly didn't look like a four star hotel. Nobody offered to collect our luggage, so we did it oursleves, which is not a problem. When we went into our room, a deluxe room, we found a big, empty, dark, uninviting room. It comprised one large bed, a small dressing table, 3 chairs placed around a small coffee table, and nothing else. NO tea and coffee making facilities, no complimentary water, a nonsense cooler for a fridge, very mediocre bathroom, a TV with only two internatioanl channels. More importantly, NO WELCOME PACK, information about Muscat...nothing!!

However, the best part was the following morning, when we went downstairs for breakfast. In a hotel of 97 rooms, the breakfast room has only 7 tables and cannot cater for more than 28 people. Of course there was nowhere to sit, so we were asked if we could wait to have breakfast!! We asked if we could eat in the lounge, but this was refused. ( it is worth pointing out at this stage that there was no food left, and other guests had been waiting 20 minutes for the staff to replenish supplies) We were then invited, along with another family, to go upstairs to the mezzanine and they would bring the food to us there. When we arrived, we found a dirty unfinished room with a workman telling us we couldn't eat there!!! At this point we returned downstairs where after about 30 minutes we were able to sit and have our "breakfast", i.e a cup of tea and a piece of toast. The staff seemed unable to cope with the pressures of running a hotel. They even admitted that they weren't fully prepared for the opening!! When we asked for a tea in the evening, we were charged for this!!

Considering the cost of the hotel( around 52 Omani Rial for the night, including breakfast) it really is poor value for money. If we had known it was going to be like this, we would have spent a little bit more, and had a lot more with access to the beach in Muscat.

I can't verify the other facilities, but I do know that the swimming pool is located in the basement and, as they themselves openly admit, is very "humid"!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimmomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.0 mi away
Delmon Hotel Apartments
Delmon Hotel Apartments
#31 of 52 in Muscat
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muscat Dunes Hotel
Muscat Dunes Hotel
#27 of 52 in Muscat
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#21 of 52 in Muscat
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
Dhilal Hotel Apartments
#33 of 52 in Muscat
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qurum Beach Hotel
Qurum Beach Hotel
#32 of 52 in Muscat
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 52 in Muscat
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscat

Property: Hotel Muscat
Address: Al-Khuwair beside Zawawi Mosque, Muscat 113, Oman (Formerly Rotana Hotel Muscat)
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing