We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality at a convenient price”
Review of The Platinum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Platinum
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hospitality at a convenient price”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is located in a convenient area if you want to experience the real Omani surroundings. Easy reachable from the airport and from the highway.
The building is quite new and really very clean. People working there made me feel welcome and they made everything to make me enjoy my stay.
The only suggestion (but it is really a pity detail) would be to install a chiller for the water from the sink.
I suggest it to everyone who wants to go to Muscat without getting far from the city itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gekomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    14
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
20
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in April with family.Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had our room in 6th floor and had a nice sea view.
Large bed,extra bed,nice cupboards,spacious well stocked bathroom,minibar.Buffet Breakfast was also very good with all types of fruits,sweets,hot and cold menus.
The physical appearance of the hotel is unique with a pink coloured exterior. Location is very good with restaurants and shopping centers nearby.
Can easily avail taxis from outside the hotel.The staff was really helpful and professional. They don't serve alcohol. Nice hotel to be with family both for business and holiday.
Price is little bit on the higher side but i think overall in Oman hotel rooms are expensive compared to neighbouring GCC countries.

Room Tip: Upper floor room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ricky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed here for couple of days for business. It has a very good location and probably the best 4-star hotel in the area.
You can find a lot of Turkish restaurants just outside the hotel.
They have free wifi and breakfast is included. Dont expect too much from the breakfast as it had more indian dishes than continental.
They offer airport pick and drop at OR8 each way.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Very poor for a supposed 4 star hotel service poor the free wi fi doesn't work half the time and the breakfasts re terrible it is in a poor area with nothing of note nearby the toons are clean enough but the mini bars fridge doesn't work the a/c is touch and go . Sometimes there is no hot water . It has been open just over a year and is falling apart

Room Tip: Go to the raddison or the intercontinental
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Muscat hotels

Deggendorf
Level Contributor
126 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The modern unconventional hotel building with its seven stories looks quite interesting. Inside the hotel there are some interesting features, too. For example there are small lanterns in the hallways outside of each room that provide a homely atmosphere in the evening. In the room itself there are also stylish elements, especially the furniture and the lamps.
Free parking can be found directly next to the hotel.
The hotel is located in the Al Khuwair hotel district. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there are shops and restaurants, which can be easily reached on foot. A special restaurant recommendation is the Turkish House restaurant serving good and reasonably priced food.
The staff of the Platinum was very friendly and very helpful.
We had only breakfast. The buffet offered sufficient choice and was of very good quality.
The mosaic pool on the roof is one of the highlights of the hotel. The water was rather warm at the time of our stay; the jacuzzi was unfortunately out of operation The pool area is nicely decorated. There are good views of parts of the city.
Our room was spacious and well equipped and offered all the amenities expected of a 4-star hotel. From the window you could see parts of the city and the busy Dohat Adab Street. The soundproof glazing proved to be effective. Unfortunately, there was no window that you could be opened. The room was nicely decorated with appealing pictures.
But there were also some shortcomings: there was only one room card for two persons. It took regularly several attempts to activate the power supply in the room with the room card. Regarding the shower gel and shampoo the products were almost dried up.
Also the hotel has big problems with Wi-Fi access. The Wi-Fi does not work without time-consuming support by the staff. Access to the server is only possible by typing in a long address into the browser window. The guest cannot know it anyway. This procedure is completely unacceptable.
When staying in Muscat again we would again book the Platinum provided they fix their internet access problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumavax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The internet site makes it look better than it is in reality.
see http://www.theplatinumoman.com/

It would be almost OK for a business trip - but, not a good choice for a holiday with family.
Stay away. The hotel tries but fails.

If you can afford to pay more stay at Al Bustan Palace. It's in another league, a paradise. For example, Al Bustan is another universe - and is well worth the supplement. Perhaps $100-$150 or so more per night, a real resort - not a desi business hotel.

The hotel has aspirations but is clueless - people who consulted on interior design for the most part had yucky taste. The stone surround by the pool is well done.
The air conditioner did not work well in our room - we requested another room and it was fine.
The hallways reek of Indian food - not a good thing for us.
The pool area reeks of Indian food - not a good thing at all.
The breakfast buffet (besides the fruit) is not something we would consider eating. It's yucky.
Tired beef 'bacon', sub-par luncheon meats that are a bit scary, limp and sad paratha, not even fresh brewed coffee - only instant coffee is served.
The towels are substandard for what one would expect in a four star hotel.
The shower mat was covered in black fungus.
The mirror in our bathroom was shattered.
The staff is pleasant and tries to be helpful - and succeeds sometimes.

The hotel tries but fails. It doesn't deserve 4 stars - this is misleading. So, is the write-up on the Internet. The hotel is disappointing at best.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC works (ours did not). Avoid rooms with southern exposure - very hot in summer. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guide_to_Great_Meals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights and have the following complains:

1. Took IT staff almost an hour to get internet working for me. This should be just click and use!
2. Hotel only provide password for 1 device. This is not acceptable when most business travelers come with at least a laptop and smart phone
3. Maybe i am unlucky, water in my room is always hot no matter how i turn the dial. Did not bother to ask for a room change
4. liquid soap bottle looks unclean. Looks like it has been reused with stain here and there. The shower gel is really "gel" cannot get them out easily. I am ok with reusing and refilling but at least make it look clean.
5. Sticky flooring

The plus is that the staff are all pretty nice and helpful. Location not bad with plenty food places nearby and a supermarket.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puzhitao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#16 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#21 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Millennium Executive Apartments Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
0.7 mi away
Safeer Continental Hotel
Safeer Continental Hotel
#25 of 52 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Platinum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Platinum

Property: The Platinum
Address: Opposite Court, Next to Oman Oil Petrol Pump Al Khuwair | PO Box 3735, Muscat 112, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Platinum 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Platinum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing