We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and Comfortable Atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muscat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lanavilla Guest House
Ranked #4 of 27 Muscat B&B and Inns
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“Good Value and Comfortable Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I just spent four nights at this very attractive and comfortable bed and breakfast and found it to be a totally enjoyable experience. My room faced the beach and had a little balcony to boot! The lobby is very charming and has a communal table where a delicious breakfast is served every morning. Mic and his staff were very friendly and helpful. Since I did not have a car he arranged a personal guided tour of several of the sights in Oman through his partner travel company. There are nice walks to be taken along the corniche which fronts the property. Muscat itself is a very beautiful and interesting city to vist. Some of the unforgettable sights include the downtown souk and corniche, the beautiful Grand Mosque and the Sultan's Palace. I would recommend it highly to anyone visiting Oman.

Room Tip: Try to get the room that faces the beach and has the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
101
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Lanavilla is an excellent alternative to the rather expensive resort hotels. The downstairs public areas are both comfortable and spacious and offered complimentary computer access as well as all day coffee, tea and water. We chose a first floor room which was very pleasant,bright and airy, and came with a balcony overlooking the beach.
Lanavilla is situated in a quiet residential area about a 20 minute drive from the airport.
A number of shops, cafes and restaurants are walkable but really a car is required to see all of Muscat's sights comfortably.

Room Tip: Our sea view room was bright and spacious and worth the extra cost over a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed 4 nights in Lanavilla (2 nights before our roundtrip, and the last 2 nights of our stay in Oman). It is a very large house opposite the beach, with 10 rooms (each with their own bathroom), a large living and a several (roof) terraces.
We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere there. Mic is a wonderful host. He is very interested in his guests. He knows his way around in Muscat and Oman and he is more then willing to share his knowledge and experiences. E.g. he advised us to have dinner in Kageen Restaurant, which was great!.
We would definitely recommend everyone who is not interested in staying in one of the large, commercial, impersonal (and very expensive) hotels to stay in Lanavilla.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella2012_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have stayed for six nights in the Lanavilla. The location is perfect. It is just around 15 Minutes by car to the airport. Restaurants are close to the accoommodation. The owner Mic and his staff are really nice. We guess, that Lanavilla is really a very good place for staying in Muscat. It is much more individual like a hotel or so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissbear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Lanavilla. Our room was quite large (though the bathroom was quite small) and there was a good airconditioner in our room. There wasn't a tv in our room - and in fact we couldn't see one anywhere in the common areas - but this wasn't a big concern. The lounge area was really lovely and spacious with a computer for guests to use, a wifi signal and books of stuff to do in Muscat and nearby restaurants. We tried one of the restaurants that they recommended (Al Mandi) and it was amazing and really cheap. In the afternoon it's nice to sit out on the balcony or out the front in the garden with the cat and watch the world go by with a cup of tea. The beach across the road is nice for a walk though we didn't go for a swim. Overall, this place is great value for money and has a nice welcoming feel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a great stay, very welcoming and friendly. Mic, the owner, was a brilliant help and gave us loads of tips about where to go, great places to eat, and just anything we generally needed info on. Great sun deck looking out over the beach, lovely staff, one of my favourite places to stay so far. Much nicer than a soulless hotel, it really felt like a homely place to stay, very relaxing. Will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a pleasant surprise - there were 3 of us and we are just about done the the Chedi's of this world -so expensive and soulless...so...we took this route and doubt we will ever return!!!
This villa (lana) was full but Mic, the owner, has just about finished one next door but one called DeeVilla,
perfect - white, colours everywhere, modern but tasteful, extremely comfortable. Verranda on night is great just to stare at seaside - all staff nice and MANY recommendations to be given...we hired a car and saw and did so much.
PERFECT - exceptional value for money : ) GO NOW!

Room Tip: UP, FRONT - great views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURFORDLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Muscat
Crowne Plaza Muscat
#6 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
3.2 mi away
Grand Hyatt Muscat
Grand Hyatt Muscat
#7 of 50 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
InterContinental Hotel Muscat
6.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanavilla Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanavilla Guest House

Property: Lanavilla Guest House
Address: 37th Street, Muscat PC 106, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our popular Guesthouse B&B is located in Muscat, Oman on a quiet in front of the beach. We offer free wireless LAN, rooftop seaview terrace, clean and modern rooms with bathroom attached, free parking, tours arrangement, airport transfer, insider tips about Oman ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanavilla Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing