We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”
Review of Lana Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lana Villa
Ranked #2 of 31 Muscat B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Lanavilla. Our room was quite large (though the bathroom was quite small) and there was a good airconditioner in our room. There wasn't a tv in our room - and in fact we couldn't see one anywhere in the common areas - but this wasn't a big concern. The lounge area was really lovely and spacious with a computer for guests to use, a wifi signal and books of stuff to do in Muscat and nearby restaurants. We tried one of the restaurants that they recommended (Al Mandi) and it was amazing and really cheap. In the afternoon it's nice to sit out on the balcony or out the front in the garden with the cat and watch the world go by with a cup of tea. The beach across the road is nice for a walk though we didn't go for a swim. Overall, this place is great value for money and has a nice welcoming feel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missyb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 211 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had a great stay, very welcoming and friendly. Mic, the owner, was a brilliant help and gave us loads of tips about where to go, great places to eat, and just anything we generally needed info on. Great sun deck looking out over the beach, lovely staff, one of my favourite places to stay so far. Much nicer than a soulless hotel, it really felt like a homely place to stay, very relaxing. Will definitely be heading back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a pleasant surprise - there were 3 of us and we are just about done the the Chedi's of this world -so expensive and soulless...so...we took this route and doubt we will ever return!!!
This villa (lana) was full but Mic, the owner, has just about finished one next door but one called DeeVilla,
perfect - white, colours everywhere, modern but tasteful, extremely comfortable. Verranda on night is great just to stare at seaside - all staff nice and MANY recommendations to be given...we hired a car and saw and did so much.
PERFECT - exceptional value for money : ) GO NOW!

Room Tip: UP, FRONT - great views and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BURFORDLOVERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Clean and basic accommodation right on the beach with friendly and very helpful staff. It's a little out of the way and you would benefit from a car (but then a car is very useful for Muscat which is spread out over several miles along the coast). A good option if you want things a little more homely, with impressive German bread.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kohlrabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place is nice and homely, very comfortable and quiet. Staff are friendly and willing to help. The location is a bit annoying if you don't plan on hiring a car. The staff will call a taxi driver for you though, the driver lives next door and you can arrange for him to pick you up again. He also does tours and is friendly and helpful. Stayed in a sea view room which was very spacious and had a nice balcony and good view. Bathroom was a bit tired but fine.

Pros: friendly and helpful staff, breakfast included, comfortable room, quiet.
Cons: wifi only in lounge and it wasn't that reliable, location: can't walk to any restaurants - ok if you have a car or are happy to rely on taxis.

I would stay there again for the value for money in comparison to other hotels in Muscat, and for the friendly homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EzzOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

What I like about Lanavilla is that it's in a scenic road. Price is reasonable by Oman standards at OMR38. Mic, its German manager, is always responsive and polite. The two Filipino housekeepers are cheerful.

What are cons:

Wifi only on common areas. In most B&Bs I've been, it is accessible everywhere.

Breakfast is served late at 730. Most people like myself have tours which leave either at 730 or 800. But this is not a big issue as I was able to help myself with bread and tea at 715 and have a quick 15 minute breakfast.

Mohammed the taxi driver was late for my airport pick up at 230 am even after I told many times not to be late. When he arrived at 245am, while he's cheerful and respectful he rationalized by saying I have enough time so it was okay arriving 15 minutes late. When I told him 230 is 230
He told me his alarm went off but he didn't hear it. I told him I also set my alarm and was on time. I just let those lame excuses pass and told him the important thing is he's here and I'm on my way.

The bathroom's shower was handheld which is a bit hard to use. And there were two protruding steel things from the wall and I don't know what they're for.

What I found strange is the housekeeper instructed the guests to buy their own towels to take to their day trip. I found that a bit strange. If that happened to me I would have complained. Apart from
The cost, it occupies precious space in the luggage after.

There are limited choices of restos as well. I had my dinners at the Chedi which were good. But the last night they were closed for their guests all they have are run down places at walking distance serving Arabic food. This may work for some though.

Overall it is a good place for a particular type of traveller. If you are easy with your time and are not fussy I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennon123, Manager at Lana Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Breakfast can be served also earlier on request.
The very popular Taxidriver Mohammed was little late that morning, but I dont know what that has to do with Lanavilla, since he is not our staff.
We don't rent out Beach Towles, maybe the Guest confused us with a Beach Resort..
There are 3 Restaurants in walking distance, and about 30 restaurants 5 min away by car.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Situated in a residential area, 10 minutes from the airport, this is a very pleasant guesthouse with large common areas to rest, chat read or send a few eMails.
The owner, Mic, is very helpful and has many good advices on the area and traveling in Oman.
A really enjoyable address in Muscat.

Room Tip: Book early, it is a popular place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillesVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
0.3 mi away
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
1.9 mi away
Centara Muscat Oman
Centara Muscat Oman
#14 of 63 in Muscat
142 reviews
10 mi away
Sheraton Oman Hotel
Sheraton Oman Hotel
#3 of 63 in Muscat
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
2.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Muscat
6.3 mi away
Coral Muscat Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lana Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lana Villa

Address: 37th Street | Villa 199, Muscat PC 106, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Muscat
Price Range: $84 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lana Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our very popular Lanavilla B&B is located in Muscat on a quiet beach road. We offer free wireless LAN, rooftop seaview terrace, clean and modern rooms with bathroom attached, free parking, free Wifi, tours arrangement, airport transfer and lot's of insider tips for you about Oman ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Lana Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanavilla Hotel Muscat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing