We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice business apartment for a long term stay, short term a bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Muscat
Certificate of Excellence
Berne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice business apartment for a long term stay, short term a bit expensive”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I stay at midan during a longer time. The rooms are great incl. kitchen and living room. Also the AC is good. Stuff and management very friendly, free Internet and a good Thai restaurant. The only draw back is the price of the breakfast and restaurant. The breakfast is not worth the 5 rials, there is only a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drBuhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    56
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
35
23
23
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Don't bother booking the Crown Plaza or Intercon or any other big name hotels in Muscat, especially if you're on a business trip. You won't find either value for money or great service and the rooms in both are tired and in need of a refurb. The Midan however is a great place to stay, whether you want a hotel or larger apartment-style base for a longer stay. Hotel reception staff are friendly and efficient and the accommodation is spacious, clean, modern and has everything you need. The breakfast is basic but fresh and in the evening, the Thai restaurant downstairs is excellent (although you'll need to go elsewhere if you like a beer or glass of wine with your supper). Within a short walk you will find other restaurants, convenience stores and local shops like pharmacies and dry cleaners. Final note, if taking a taxi anywhere make sure you agree the price before getting into the cab, and always negotiate here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank browniecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

A warm and firendly welcome by staff who genuinely wanted to make our stay a good one, offering a rare mix of efficiency and relaxation. Our family room was spacious, well appointed and maintained. The Thai restaurant provided us with some classic dishes that were very well prepared, and authentic (I lived and worked in Thailand for many years).
The price is reasonable for the quality and location of the hotel and its facilities.
There is some building in the vicinity, but it did not disturb us. Also it is a little way from the tourist sites, so you need transport. I can't think of any real negative points.
Excellent

Room Tip: Visit the nearby Sultan,s Mosque - magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbb451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a many extended periods and I always return to Mac's hotel, for it is comfortable, clean, very friendly staff and its in convienient location for me. Thanks Mac

Rolf Stade

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmw740il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed with Mac and his Team for a total of 5 weeks before finding a residence in Muscat. It was a great stay and everything from the pre-arrival administration through to the coffee and laughing with Mac on the day i checked out was faultless.
The place is immaculately clean and serviced by a great bunch of ladies for whom nothing is too much trouble. Good quality beds and excellent linen which really aids a restful nights sleep.
Reception is run by a great guy called Sumit who is so professional and helpful that it is actually hard to describe. He is a real gem and Mac needs to hold on to him! As an example, i came down to breakfast one morning and asked Sumit if it would be possible to have a dvd player in my room. He said that he would try and sort it out. When i got back to my room, after breakfast, there was a dvd player connected to my tv.
Its a great place and i heartily recommend it to anyone coming to Oman who wants comfort, more than the normal bedroom and bathroom that you get in most hotels and great, great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeInOman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2011

As new arrivals in Muscat, my wife and i had some reservations. However the friendly staff, great room and good food soon put us at ease. I definately recommend Midan Hotel suites

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuscatMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Midan Suites and would definitely recommend it. Whether you travel for business or leisure, it is definitely a great spot to stay. The hotel is conveniently located in the Ghubrah district with easy access to main roads, shopping, restaurants. The staff in the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful which makes you feel at home. We didn't try the gym and massage facilities because we were out and about most of the day but we ordered room service from the Thai restaurant and it was superb.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UmYousef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Muscat hotels
1.5 mi away
Tulip Inn Muscat
Tulip Inn Muscat
#16 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
11.6 mi away
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
Pioneer Hotel Apartments
#18 of 52 in Muscat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Muscat
Ibis Muscat
#13 of 52 in Muscat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Muscat
2.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Muscat
1.1 mi away
Hotel Muscat Holiday
Hotel Muscat Holiday
#21 of 52 in Muscat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat

Property: Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat
Address: Building 259, Way 3205, Al-Marefah Street | Al-Ghubrah North, Muscat PC130, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Muscat
#6 Business Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities, easy elegance, tasteful furnishings and subtle bursts of vibrant hues are a trademark of Midan Hotel Suites, an internationally managed hotel that strives to maintain a worldwide business-class standard. Midan Hotel Suites offers 35 rooms, ranging from studios through to spacious suites and a three-bedroom penthouse. The large windows throughout give each suite a fresh and open feel. All suites have a well-equipped kitchen, a separate living area, and are comfortably furnished in a contemporary style. All hotel guests have free access to our WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Midan Hotel Suites, Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midan Hotel Muscat Governorate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing