We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant surprise”
Review of Le Diapason

Le Diapason
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Creissels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $51 - $76
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the low key exterior - food and atmosphere were great - we were lucky enough to catch a Sunday lunchtime with live piano/vocalist and they were good!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JonChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    109
    40
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hot, tasty but messy”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We enjoyed a nice lunch at le Diapason, although sitting outside in very hot weather. The correctly priced lunch was tasty but at the moment of the dessert, either the waiters or the cook messed up so we lost more than half an hour before getting the dessert and finally got one ball of 'sorbet citron' completely covered with whipped cream (more cream than sorbet). Point to improve thus.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LodewijkDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre L, Gérant at Le Diapason, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions de votre passage au Restaurant Le Diapason, et nous sommes heureux que cela vous ai plu. Nous portons une attention sur les desserts et nous regarderons également ce qu'il c'est passé au service pour ce temps t'attente aussi long.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement !
Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just a 2 min walk from the Hotel Chateau de Creissels, the Restaurant offers regional food in a good standard quality and at good value. We had the menu for € 22.00 and enjoyed the meal.
The wine list has a good and inexpensive selection.
They also have on Saturdays music of different styles, we did see the announcement of rock, classic and pop.
The place seems to be also popular with locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre L, Gérant at Le Diapason, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions de votre passage au Restaurant Le Diapason, et nous sommes heureux que cela vous ai plu.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement !
Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Humiliating experience”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wish I could say something nice about this restaurant but unfortunately I am unable to comment on the food since we never received any. I made a telephone booking for 4 persons for Sunday lunch on the Wednesday prior to our visit. The gentleman who took my call assured me that a table was booked under my name (which I spelled out and he repeated)
The receptionist on arrival told me that no such booking was received and I had obviously called the wrong number - despite the name of the restaurant being announced on my call and a booking accepted. When I pointed this out she flatly refused to accept this and then announced that since I was not French I obviously had not understood ( I have lived in France for over 8 years and have never previously experienced any such difficulty). She was increasingly rude and said that there was nothing she could do before eventually telephoning someone who I assume was the owner or manager. I believe she was then advised to accomodate us but she was so ungracious about this that we decided we might be better served elsewhere and left. If this was an example of the service that might be expected then we certainly made the right decision.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre L, Gérant at Le Diapason, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello,
As we have stated on the day you come, we have no reservation in your name, then this is an oversight on our part or you that you are wrong restaurant (or phone number of the Restaurant Diapason, several restaurants on the name in France).
We have never said that we do not take you because you're English, on the contrary, we make every effort to foreigners, beginning with the translation of the map by a professional translator.
We really regret this misheard!

ps: sorry for the translation of this message made ​​with google translation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The menu looked good and we booked a table for the evening. we had been promised a table inside and when we arrived we had to sit outside along with all the other tourists while the locals stayed inside. We were encouraged to take the menus deals which when paying turned out to be full price for everything. My fish fillet had not been boned and considering it was inside a bun it was tricky to eat. The child's burger was larger than the adults. My husband ordered the cheese board and this arrived without bread. Upon asking for the bread the waitress took leftover bread from other tables and gave them to us!!!!!!! We all know this goes on but it was so blatant. the bill was 73 euros without wine for two adults and a child.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Diapason also viewed

 

Been to Le Diapason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing