We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Diapason

Le Diapason
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Creissels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $70
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just a 2 min walk from the Hotel Chateau de Creissels, the Restaurant offers regional food in a good standard quality and at good value. We had the menu for € 22.00 and enjoyed the meal.
The wine list has a good and inexpensive selection.
They also have on Saturdays music of different styles, we did see the announcement of rock, classic and pop.
The place seems to be also popular with locals.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre L, Gérant at Le Diapason, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions de votre passage au Restaurant Le Diapason, et nous sommes heureux que cela vous ai plu.
En espérant vous revoir prochainement !
Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    103
    38
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Humiliating experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I wish I could say something nice about this restaurant but unfortunately I am unable to comment on the food since we never received any. I made a telephone booking for 4 persons for Sunday lunch on the Wednesday prior to our visit. The gentleman who took my call assured me that a table was booked under my name (which I spelled out and he repeated)
The receptionist on arrival told me that no such booking was received and I had obviously called the wrong number - despite the name of the restaurant being announced on my call and a booking accepted. When I pointed this out she flatly refused to accept this and then announced that since I was not French I obviously had not understood ( I have lived in France for over 8 years and have never previously experienced any such difficulty). She was increasingly rude and said that there was nothing she could do before eventually telephoning someone who I assume was the owner or manager. I believe she was then advised to accomodate us but she was so ungracious about this that we decided we might be better served elsewhere and left. If this was an example of the service that might be expected then we certainly made the right decision.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre L, Gérant at Le Diapason, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hello,
As we have stated on the day you come, we have no reservation in your name, then this is an oversight on our part or you that you are wrong restaurant (or phone number of the Restaurant Diapason, several restaurants on the name in France).
We have never said that we do not take you because you're English, on the contrary, we make every effort to foreigners, beginning with the translation of the map by a professional translator.
We really regret this misheard!

ps: sorry for the translation of this message made ​​with google translation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The menu looked good and we booked a table for the evening. we had been promised a table inside and when we arrived we had to sit outside along with all the other tourists while the locals stayed inside. We were encouraged to take the menus deals which when paying turned out to be full price for everything. My fish fillet had not been boned and considering it was inside a bun it was tricky to eat. The child's burger was larger than the adults. My husband ordered the cheese board and this arrived without bread. Upon asking for the bread the waitress took leftover bread from other tables and gave them to us!!!!!!! We all know this goes on but it was so blatant. the bill was 73 euros without wine for two adults and a child.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank edwoodfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wish we'd dined here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed at the château and nipped into Millau for tea, totally bypassing this restaurant in the process. On the return journey we dropped in for after dinner drinks and sat outside with a glass of local red listening to a teenager playing the piano.

Concert pianist? Not sure, but he could certainly play... and sing... what a lovely end to the evening, just wish we'd gone there for a meal.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Interesting and inventive food - not sure about the music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

Situated right next door to the Chateau at Creissels, this is a good alternative to the hotel's restaurant. The food is excellent, quite inventive, not as expensive as the Chateau and it's not as formal.

The restaurant has a couple of menus in the 24 to 30 euro range, plus a la carte. The dishes we sampled were all good to excellent (except the saucisses a l'huile - not nasty, but my thought was "why bother?") and came across as a bit more inventive than the average restaurant. Some original thought has gone into the food.

The restaurant is music-themed. We were there on a Thursday, with no musical programme, but there was a big Roland piano playing away by itself. Unfortunately the repertoire was very limited, and when the same song came round for the 3rd time we got the giggles. I don't know how it will work with a recital - will the music distract from the food or vice versa? I suppose that's the caveat from this review. Great food, though!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BarnetMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Diapason also viewed

 

Been to Le Diapason? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing