We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected delight”

Miramare da Michele
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“unexpected delight”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

fish, fish and fish with amazing pastas. Pizzas were on the menu and looked nice, but I did not have any. A fine wine selection at reasonable prices. The view and the position are enviable. Photo of Italian celebrities with the owner on the walls attest to the solid reputation of the place. Lovely Italian atmosphere and very relaxed! I'll be back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nogard67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    144
    96
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Why would they not let us have a menu?”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This restaurant is in a wonderful position on the rocks right by the sea. The food we had was enjoyable. But it was irritating when we were not allowed to see a menu and people around us were eating really interesting things that we had not heard about.
So the second time we went we read the menu and chose what we wanted outside before we went in. However the head waiter told me that my choice did not exist and kept pushing the lobster. But when we insisted he finally let us have what we wanted.
The other irritating thing is that he will not let you sit where you want looking over the sea but he claims that those tables are reserved. But it is obvious that when people are given the better tables later that they had not reserved.
Poor ice cream.
It is a great restaurant in a wonderful position. But is it worth the irritation?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PippaTrogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Strange”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This restaurant was very accommodating as we booked for 10 but my brother changed his mind at the last minute so we were only 6. However the bizarre thing is that we were only offered 3 dishes. There was no menu even though we requested one and all the other tables had other lovely looking food that we weren't offered. We couldn't explain it. Food very tasty other than packaged ice cream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Managed to fit 12 of us in at short notice and provided a good selection of fresh local seafood. The insalata polpo was the best, but they had no sea urchin, which I had specifically wanted to try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan_MacRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful lobster pasta right on the harbour.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a great spot, built on to the rocks with the sea lapping under the windows. A foodie friends recommended it for the lobster taglioni. We were 10 friends and family looking for a long lunch and spent a very happy afternoon looking out over the sea, chatting, eating and drinking. They didn't bring us a menu but I asked about the lobster so he brought us a massive specimen to look at. 20 minutes later delicious taglioni with a tomato and roe sauce. Then the whole lobster brought cooked to perfection to add to our pasta. Delicious! Lemon sorbet to follow. Very simple and very good. I saw other tables ordering all sorts of things and they looked happy too. Including drinks £32 roughly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sriv60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miramare da Michele also viewed

Carovigno, Province of Brindisi
Torre Santa Sabina, Carovigno
 

Been to Miramare da Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing