We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lunch in a posh setting, and great value to boot!”
Review of Le Saint Julien

Le Saint Julien
Reserve with
Le Saint Julien is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in a posh setting, and great value to boot!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Made this stop here for lunch in between tastings. Restaurant is in the middle of town next to a number of major wineries, and is easy to find. We had an excellent set menu of 30+E (I can't remember precisely) each. I had a calf liver main and an apple dessert that was just plain excellent. The setting was very upmarket with the white table linen and silver cutlery, to the extent I felt really under-dressed in my bermudas! But the wait staff were great and welcoming. Not sure why they don't have a Michelin star, they are certainly deserving of it. I highly recommend this as a lunch stop if you are touring the area. Excellent creative menu, wonderful setting. Give yourself at least 2 hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    64
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
433 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Very pleasant lunch on spec”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I wanted to visit St Julien home of one of my favourite wines. Arriving at lunchtime, the village was closed except for Le Saint Julien. Fortunately the restaurant was not busy. We had a delicious set menu for 35Euros each. Variation on oeuf florentine with lightly truufled mouse and pea puree, prawn ravioli with delicious bisque. For les plats principal, goose breast and entrectote. Then simple deserts with strawberries and a tuti fruiti nougat semi fredo. All delicious, simply presented without too much fuss, needless to say washed down with an excellent a bottle of St Julien.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martinidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Lovely meal !”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We ate here last Saturday night, decent portions, food fantastic all served in a warm friendly atmosphere. Started off with chef coming to say hello, which was great. We had the dover sole filleted perfectly at the table and the entrecote steak - full of flavour. I could go on but no need, it was all great value and if you are in the area its a very strong recommendation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonNifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Delicious, relaxing atmosphere and good value”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

One if our favorite restaurants in Bordeaux. My spouse ordered snails which was served in a creamy bisque ( very yummy) and roast lamb which was succulent. I ordered pan fried duck with foei gras ( very good) and the best creme brûlée ever! The main dishes are accompanied with side dishes like deliciously stewed beans or butter fried potato chips. We did not have wine as we had been visiting chateaux and wine tasting but I saw some customers bringing in their own wine. The atmosphere is relaxed and quiet although quite a number of tables were full - it is like having a meal in the garden.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mosto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful setting, great wine list (and you can bring your own - they will even decant for you!!). Highly recommend the Oef Florrentine and the calves liver. So good we went back the second night!! - you cant recommend more highly

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank g8dsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Saint Julien also viewed

 
Saint-Julien-Beychevelle, Gironde
 
Pauillac, Gironde
 

Been to Le Saint Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing