We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best holidays we've ever been on!”
other travelers have booked this property
Exclusive use of owners pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exclusive use of owners pool
Exclusive holiday rental with use of owners pool. We look forward to welcoming you here Our traditional french holiday retreat soon to regain its 'Chateau' name
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Exclusive use of owners pool
Exclusive holiday rental with use of owners pool. We look forward to welcoming you here
Our traditional french holiday retreat soon to regain its 'Chateau' name
Vineyards surrounding holiday retreat
Beautiful outside terrace areas
Large spacious farmhouse kitchen with all mod cons
Comfortable and relaxing sitting room with TV, free SAT and wi-fi
Chambre d'Ivoire, another french style Louis XV1 bed and same deluxe bedding
Family Suite with additional sitting area ( sofa bed)
Elegant shower room and toilet, with thick fluffy towels
Family ensuite with bath, shower and toilet
Chambre D'Or french style Louis XV1 bed with mattress topper and deluxe bedding
Wine tours and tastings through out world famous Bordeaux wine region.
Fishing huts on nearby Gironde estuary
Fabulous Merscher beach with water sport
Remember your camera to capture some great scenery
Roman arches with honey coloured stone
Coach and horse tours of Blaye and it's world heritage Citadel
World famous wine village of St Emillion
Ile de Re, another UNESCO site with boating harbours, artisan shops and restaurants
Breath taking architecture - Bordeaux's Opera House
Taste the sea food while listening to vibrant jazz in  'Marche des Capucins' in Bordeaux
Amazing farmer and artisan markets in Blaye and Bourg
Nearby summer activities include pony riding at lac Moulin Blanc
gateways to blissful holidays
Our 'Cote de Bourg' vineyard
Surrounding countryside with lots of wild life and birds
Nearby swimming and fishing lakes
Art classes and other holiday activities
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Ciers-De-Canesse, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
nad71037
fivemiletown
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays we've ever been on!”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We can't describe our experience. It was absolutely amazing. The house is amazing and so are the owners Gill and Ben. Their attention to detail on every aspect is outstanding and of the highest standard. The house is beautifully decorated and had everything we needed. It was like home from home. Our beds were comfortable with crisp white bedding the bathrooms spacious and showers again of the highest standard. The kitchen was fully equipped Gill even bought us another coffee machine and a new Paella dish. The pool area is also amazing with comfortable loungers, lots of space, extremely well cared for and most of all very clean. The outside area has a large dinning table and barbecue area which is great for dinning out in the evenings. We also had the pleasure of experiencing a very personal tour of the vineyard and some wine tasting. This was so enjoyable and a wonderful experience. We can't wait to return. There is no doubt a warm welcome awaits you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
Nadine, amazing family and friends - What can we say in response to your wonderful review? Your words are so kind and we have to say ..... sometimes magic happens and guests become very special friends. You, your family and amazing friends were / are and always will be very welcome here. From your kind invitation to share a paella evening with you all - together with guitars and music......through to the brilliant video of your son's holiday experience here ( by way of gift for us. ) A wonderful week full of happy memories. We'd love to welcome you guys back here as and when it fits into your plans. Wishing you a happy, healthy rest of 2017 and a successful North Run xxx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2017
Hello, It's so wonderful to hear from you, especially when we read how much you enjoyed your holiday. It's always a real pleasure to share holidays with guests and to part as friends. It's very reassuring to hear we will hopefully meet up with you all at sometime in the future.
Your complimentary and detailed review is very much appreciated as it has given potential future guests so much information about the time you spend with us. Thank you so much for the time and effort you have obviously taken in submitting this review. It's a real gift for us to read such a rewarding review - tu est tres gentille x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
babygirl8...
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderul”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Well, what can I say. This place was an absolute dream. The property itself was beautiful. Really good facilities, modern, light and very spacious for a family. There were so many small touches that had already been thought about before our arrival, it was all so welcoming. We had everything we needed for our stay and more. We have already spoken about returning to the property. Could not recommend highly enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
How lovely to receive your review, we really appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share your experience with others. We are so pleased you are discussing coming back to see us at some stage in the future. I'm sitting here smiling as I think of our wine tasting and tour - we miss you guys. We wish you a wonderful wedding and honeymoon next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabuous from start to finish”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This property has been lovingly restored to a really high standard by the very friendly owners Gill and Ben. The welcome breads, cheese and wines were greatly appreciated and quickly consumed! Everything you could possibly want is available, bikes, ping pong, petanque, badminton, lots of outside seating and loungers, as well as the lovely private pool. We have never stayed in such a well equipped property. The added bonus of the beautiful setting within the vineyard make this a fabulous place to escape and spend a wonderful holiday. We enjoyed touring the area and seeing different vineyards, but particularly enjoyed being shown round the vineyard we were actually staying in - We would love to visit again. Thank you for all your hard work in making our holiday so memorable

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in a review, it's much appreciated you have included all the things you enjoyed while holidaying with us. This is the first year we've started offering our own vineyard tour and degustation ( tasting wine), so its great to hear your feedback on this. We really enjoyed meeting you and it would be wonderful to welcome you and your family back here at some future date.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison C
1 review
“Beyond All Expectations”
Reviewed October 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My family and I share every word of praise written by all the other delighted holiday makers who have had the good fortune of staying at Ben and Gill's wonderful Chateaux. We cannot speak highly enough of these two lovely people, for the perfect environment they have created and for their impeccable hospitality. Our holiday was absolutely blissful and we would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Hi Alison,
Many thanks for your very positive review and the time it took to submit it. We hope you and your fantastic family will remember your very special birthday celebrations for years to come. Hopefully you will return and visit us again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanOx
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“wonderful hosts in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Peaceful location within a short distance of a small village with wonderful scenery. If you like a self contained style holiday within easy distance of many local attractions then this is the place.
You will need a car for your excursions, alternatively you can chill out next to the pool and will not see another person all day. Evening meals taken on the large table in the garden with family and lovely Bordeaux red wine....

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Hi Alan
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your holiday. It was a real pleasure you meet you, your wife and family. I especially remember your wife's birthday celebrations - a very happy day and evening. Funnily enough, 2016 has been the "birthday celebration" year here, it's great to help people create happy memories. We hope you'll come and stay with us again in the future and look forward to meeting you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margareth...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful location and wonderful hosts”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We booked the entire house and the adjacent studio with a total of 8 adults, 2 young children and a 7 month old baby.

Gill and Ben's wonderful hospitality started way before we arrived - responses to my numerous queries were dealt with promptly and efficiently. Gill also went above and beyond to ensure that our first holiday with the baby would go smoothly. The house was well equipped for the little one with a high chair, travel cot and even a changing mat.

For the adults there is a sizeable kitchen and a well curated selection of wines (honesty box). The kitchen has everything you need and we enjoyed eating out on the large table in the courtyard. The house itself was sparkly clean, towels fluffy, and the beds in the main house sizeable and comfortable. The pool is perfect for the whole family and benefits from a lovely shaded space where you can shelter from the sun.

The chateau is a few minutes drive away from the market towns Blaye and Bourg, and there is a small village nearby where you can walk or cycle to find a bakery and a butcher.

We had a wonderful two weeks here and would love to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, pool, space and hosts
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
Hi Maggie, thank you so much for finding the time to provide a review, especially as I can appreciate how busy a young mother is these days. We do appreciate your very kind comments. It was a real pleasure to meet you and your delightful family, having met your parents the previous year. It would be such a pleasure to welcome you back at any time in the future and see how your gorgeous son grows and develops. We're so very fortunate to have such great guests, who often become good friends. Sending warmest wishes to you all. Gill and Ben
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing