We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveler rating
38
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
2
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 41 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2015

B & B, Dinner and Wine Tasting!

We were so delighted to find this wonderful place. It is a beautiful, golden stone building and is perfectly situated on the banks of the river Dordogne. The views over the river and the neighbouring vineyard are stunning. We were especially lucky to see it with the Autumn colours. Our room was lovely. Very comfortable, warm and very nicely appointed with a huge modern shower.

Stéphane and Isabelle are perfect hosts. They are so kind and welcoming. We joined them for an apéritif, where we sampled some of the local produce and wine. Stéphane selects wines from a different vineyard each evening to accompany the delicious dinner cooked by Isabelle. They joined us for dinner as we were the only guests that evening. They were delightful company and extremely patient with our poor French!

We will will definitely be returning soon. Thank you Stéphane and Isabelle.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FJACK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a quiet and beautiful B&B in the middle of vineyards directly at the river with a spacious garden and pool. The rooms are very nicely furbished and decorated and Isabelle & Stéphane are very friendly hosts taking very good care of their guests. They will give you a lot of recommendations what to do and where to eat. The breakfast has been great with a lot of different choices every day and freshly baked and homemade products. We also enjoyed dinner, which has been an excellent 4 course menu with complementing wines where you would get a lot of information from Stéphane about wines and the different vineyards in the surroundings. The B&B is 20 min from Bergerac, 30 min from St Emilion and you can visit nice little villages, go for wine tasting and explore the lovely Dordogne landscape.

Room tip: There are 3 rooms facing Dordogne river and 2 at the backside facing vineyards, all have a small terrace and chairs
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel2299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We absolutely loved this beautiful country B&B! Isabelle & Stéphane are the perfect hosts and wonderful people. They went out of their way to be hospitable and helpful. They made us feel incredibly welcomed at their gorgeous estate, which was renovated into a premiere B&B. The location, setting, landscape and gardens are stunning. We had the Le Ruiseau room which has a terrace facing the Dordogne River and views.The room is very spacious with cozy French country decor, plenty of cupboard space, sizeable writing table, large and new bathroom, plus lots of windows for fresh air and natural light. The wireless internet worked perfectly. I think the only thing missing was a fridge but the owners let us keep a few things in their kitchen fridge. The pool / sun chairs are all new and it was very relaxing to hang out by the pool for some sun or a swim. Breakfast and dinner were held in the stylishly decorated main house, which looked like a room that should be in the Côté Maison magazine! Breakfast was a fun and large affair - lots of homemade choices and all were delicious, as well as different options each morning! It was also nice meeting the other guests during breakfast. However, dinner was the highlight and most memorable part of our stay! Isabelle is an incredible chef and we had two of the best dinners during our trip to France. Having a home-cooked, gourmet 4 course meal with paired wines for about 35 euros pp (we can't remember exactly) was great value and much apprecaited. There's not a lot of good, closeby choices for dining in the evening; therefore, the optional dinners at the B&B were perfect. We highly recommend dining in...it's a must! They also sell a wide variety of local artisan, edible products and a wide selection of wine at resonable prices that were not inflated and the same rate if you were to buy direct from the wineries. It's hard to find fault with this property. Don't be discouraged by the lack of reviews as they are fairly new, which is probably the best time to stay when everything is still fresh. If you're wanting to stay in this area, then we highly recommend this property which we feel is one of the best kept secrets of France! Our stay was beyond amazing...thank you Isabelle and Stéphane!

Room tip: Get a room facing the river!
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K2KBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We recently attended a wedding in the area. Some of the guests stayed here and raved about this place. We stayed elsewhere.

After the wedding, we went off to re-visit some old haunts along the Dordogne, but were very disappointed with the accommodation that we had booked and decided to cut that trip short and come back and try Domaine de Grande Font. Good decision!

The B&B and gite are situated on the banks of the Dordogne - a beautiful, peaceful location to enjoy the summer sunshine

The B@B has been open just over a year - we stayed in Le Chene which was one of the later conversions. The whole place is like walking into a design catalogue - top quality furnishing and decor. This room has its own private outside space, again with the highest quality outdoor furniture.

There is a small swimming pool, again with modern sun loungers - immaculate.

On our first morning we were the only guests at breakfast - looking at the spread of fresh fruit, bread asd patisseries, 6/7 delicious home-made jams, cheese and hams, home made biscuits, fresh fruit juice (I am sue I have missed several things) you would have thought there were half a dozen people coming down for breakfast.

On the first night we ate out (see Cote Batide review) but the second night we sampled Isabelle's amazing cooking. Four unique courses - absolutely delicious and with each course Stephane introduced us (with a passion) to a different local wine (we had already had one as an aperetif). A splendid evening even though we understood little of what our fellow guests were talking about, due to our english laziness to grasp another language! Isabelle is just as passionate about showing off the local produce, as Stephane is about the wine.

We bought several samples from them the next day before we reluctantly moved on. We have holidayed in this area several times before, and thought this would be our last visit, but having been here I reckon a quick trip on a budget airline should follow very soon!

Compared to other places we stayed in the area this is exceptional value for money. St Emillion, Bordeaux and Bergerac are all nearby and the local wine area is worth exploring.

Room tip: Treat yourself to Le Chene
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maccers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews