We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice for Keys Fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conch Key
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Each year my family and I stay in the Keys, usually around Marathon, for lobster season. We've tried many locations and Bay View Inn is, by far, our favorite. The Inn has many advantages to staying for a couple nights or more, especially for boaters:

-Free dockage with 3 night stay (can be up to $75/day at other similar resorts)
-Full kitchen in some rooms (great for us since we eat in on our vacations)
-Pool
-Brand new docks with use of boat ramp
-Convenience store (well equipped, reasonable prices)
-Easy immediate boat access to the Gulf and the Atlantic.

The price is very affordable. The owners (Ed and Kathy) are very personable and knowledgeable about the area (including great snorkeling spots!). The view from the rooms is a small bay area, with sight of the Long Key Bridge.

There are some features that people may not like, such as:
-Tiki hut is not actually a manned bar, more of a place for guests to hang out and consume alcohol that they've brought themselves.
-About a 20 minute drive to a grocery store (wasn't particularly a problem for us)
-Daily maid service not included (Note: this is not a resort, it is an Inn. You shouldn't really come expecting daily maid service) but may be arranged for by special request.

Overall, my experience with the Bay View Inn was excellent. The area fishing was spectacular (6 mahi-mahi over 20lbs each) and its in a nice tranquil location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MachitaRaquelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 119 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

Like going home to your own place in the Keys ! GREAT OWNERS , GREAT DEALS , WONDERFUL STORE ON PROPERTY WITH ALL YOU NEED INSIDE , OURS IS 22' FT OPEN FISHERMAN, PERFECT DOCKING AREA AND EXCELLENT ALL AROUND HELP All you do is ask and Kathy or Ed is right there for you,,,Big deal get your own towels and linens, some hotels give two towels,,here bring back five get five more in a second !
We stay twice a year for a week at a time ! JUST DON'T BOOK ON OUR WEEKS ! :) THANK YOU , STACI & ED

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED-STACI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

If you want a place that is laid back, no hassles, great location with gracious hosts, this is the place for you. Kathy and Ed have owned this place for years and they treat everyone as if they have been old friends. The rates are VERY reasonable and the location is fantastic. Since it is located in the middle of the Keys, you can make it to Key West and back in a day. That is pretty much what we did. We trailered our motorcycles up and ran up and down the Keys. The first night went out, our host, Kathy, was worried when we didn't call or show up. She called and left a voicemail make sure we were okay. They really are great.
If you like a family atmosphere, this place is for you. You can sit on the dock watching the boats go by, the pelicans, and we even had a manatee entertain us for awhile.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizrJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had an awesome time on a tight budget thanks to this little gem of a place. The owners and staff were very helpful. We had four adults in our party and rented one of the rooms right on the water, and I mean right on the water. Wonderful for us since we came to fish and dive. We stepped out of our room and onto our boat. The boat docks were new and there was plenty of room. Boat ramp on the property was a plus as well. The pool, general store, grills and tiki hut were all wonderful too. Our room was clean and had two Queen beds instead of the usual full size beds that you get in most places and a small kitchen to prepare your fresh catch. You do not have to leave this place, everything you need is right there. I DO recommend the Bay View Inn if you are on a budget and want to have a laid back peaceful time. Thanks for a good time Ed and Kathy, We will be back. Robin Hinote, Avon Park, FL

Stayed: September 2008
Thank Luvtofish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My wife and I took our 22 ft boat and stayed here for a few days of fishing. Can't wait to go back. New owners are great, very nice folk, Brand new docks, slips. All in all it worked out great. Older buildings but clean and maintained. Not one complaint about our stay. Nice pool too. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2VetsSatelliteBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Our stay at the Bayview Inn ranks as the low point of any of our trips to Florida and the Keys. I knew beforehand that I was booking an inexpensive place (by FL Keys standards) to spend a few days before moving into a condo we had rented in Marathon, so I didn't expect fancy or luxury accomodations. When we arrived, our room's doorwall and door were open with a strong Florida Bay breeze blowing through. The owner walked us up to the room, on the way explaining that she does not clean rooms, make beds, nor replace linens during a customer's stay. If we wanted fresh towels or sheets, we'd have to ask for them at the desk... figuring we were only staying a few days, this wasn't a problem for us, but might be for others.

Although I cannot speak for the other rooms in the Inn, ours had obvious water damage (from Hurricane Wilma 3 yrs ago?) with peeling wallpaper and plaster... even so, after driving 5 hours, I was tired and decided not to argue with the owners about cancelling our reservation (made with a credit card). After we settled in, turned on the A/C, and closed the doors (82 degrees outside is pretty warm to a northerner), we started to notice a moldy/mildew odor in the room and that the doorwall wouldn't latch or lock. After spending most of the day, evening, and early morning elsewhere in the Keys (left no valuables in the room), we returned to find the moldy smell a little less pronounced, probably due to the A/C drying the air in the room somewhat. The following morning I went to sit out on the balcony overlooking Florida Bay and discovered several badly rotted sections in the wooden decking... as we left that afternoon for another destination, I noticed extensive rot in another room's balcony. The "bay view" is about 1/3 actual Florida Bay, 1/3 US1, (pretty good amount of traffic noise) and 1/3 Commercial fishery across a dead-end canal which can get pretty "ripe" when the wind fills it with rotting seaweed (think rotten eggs). I've swum in many oceans, bays, canals, and lakes, but I would NOT swim here. The general condition of the property is one of neglect.

On the good side... the Pool was nice and seemed well cared for and clean, though lacking in a sun-shaded area. The Tiki hut was a nice touch. The docks/decks/marina were under major reconstruction/repair during our visit (no alarm needed with a pile-driver outside your window!), but were minimal at best. There is a boat launch (think small boat/PWC). Having a small store just below is a plus and there was no real store-related noise noticed.

I would not reccommend this Inn to others and would not stay here again.

Stayed: March 2008
3  Thank Capn_Crunch_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2008

My first experience with the Bayview Inn several years ago when it was owned by a couple from the UK was absolutly horrible. The rooms were very dirty, people obnoxious, and overall a nasty place to stay. I recently read some of the more latest reviews, and decided to give it another try. WHAT A DIFFERANCE! The new owners, a middle aged couple, residents of Palm Beach County, were delightful. They were very helpful recommending places to go and nearby resturants. Our room ,an efficiency on the water, was clean and decorated in good taste. The pool was clean, and had plenty of patio furniture. There were outside gas grills, and a delightful Tiki bar overlooking the Bay. I would certainly recommend this Mom & Pop Motel to anyone looking for a real taste of the Florida Keys.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank Soup-Seller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conch Key
5.2 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
13.2 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
9.1 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
16.5 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,409 reviews
9.3 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BayView Inn Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BayView Inn Motel and Marina

Address: 3 N Conch Ave, Mile Marker 63, Conch Key, FL 33050-6969
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Conch Key
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conch Key
Price Range: $188 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BayView Inn Motel and Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on Conch Key, in the middle of the Florida Keys, as we say…”in the middle of paradise.” Centrally located for the best snorkeling, diving, and sportfishing in the Keys. We also have boat rentals on site. The Bayview Inn is a perfect vacation in the Florida Keys for fishermen, families, birdwatchers, and sports enthusiasts. We have a boat ramp, we sell gasoline, we have plenty of protected dockage, and our convenience store sells frozen bait, fishing supplies. We have a pool and a private beach area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your BayView Inn Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay View Inn Motel And Marina Hotel Conch Key
BayView Inn Motel And Marina Conch Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing