We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveler rating
83
27
6
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
83
27
6
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tiki hut a small convenience store boat rentals florida bay middle keys lower keys keys style great little place every morning on premises water front clean rooms ocean side old key west full kitchen would definitely stay here again nice room
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 133 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Like going home to your own place in the Keys ! GREAT OWNERS , GREAT DEALS , WONDERFUL STORE ON PROPERTY WITH ALL YOU NEED INSIDE , OURS IS 22' FT OPEN FISHERMAN, PERFECT DOCKING AREA AND EXCELLENT ALL AROUND HELP All you do is ask and Kathy or Ed is right there for you,,,Big deal get your own towels and linens, some hotels give two towels,,here bring back five get five more in a second !
We stay twice a year for a week at a time ! JUST DON'T BOOK ON OUR WEEKS ! :) THANK YOU , STACI & ED

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ED-STACI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2009

If you want a place that is laid back, no hassles, great location with gracious hosts, this is the place for you. Kathy and Ed have owned this place for years and they treat everyone as if they have been old friends. The rates are VERY reasonable and the location is fantastic. Since it is located in the middle of the Keys, you can make it to Key West and back in a day. That is pretty much what we did. We trailered our motorcycles up and ran up and down the Keys. The first night went out, our host, Kathy, was worried when we didn't call or show up. She called and left a voicemail make sure we were okay. They really are great.
If you like a family atmosphere, this place is for you. You can sit on the dock watching the boats go by, the pelicans, and we even had a manatee entertain us for awhile.

Date of stay: March 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizrJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had an awesome time on a tight budget thanks to this little gem of a place. The owners and staff were very helpful. We had four adults in our party and rented one of the rooms right on the water, and I mean right on the water. Wonderful for us since we came to fish and dive. We stepped out of our room and onto our boat. The boat docks were new and there was plenty of room. Boat ramp on the property was a plus as well. The pool, general store, grills and tiki hut were all wonderful too. Our room was clean and had two Queen beds instead of the usual full size beds that you get in most places and a small kitchen to prepare your fresh catch. You do not have to leave this place, everything you need is right there. I DO recommend the Bay View Inn if you are on a budget and want to have a laid back peaceful time. Thanks for a good time Ed and Kathy, We will be back. Robin Hinote, Avon Park, FL

Date of stay: September 2008
Thank Luvtofish4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My wife and I took our 22 ft boat and stayed here for a few days of fishing. Can't wait to go back. New owners are great, very nice folk, Brand new docks, slips. All in all it worked out great. Older buildings but clean and maintained. Not one complaint about our stay. Nice pool too. Excellent value.

Date of stay: May 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2VetsSatelliteBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Our stay at the Bayview Inn ranks as the low point of any of our trips to Florida and the Keys. I knew beforehand that I was booking an inexpensive place (by FL Keys standards) to spend a few days before moving into a condo we had rented in Marathon, so I didn't expect fancy or luxury accomodations. When we arrived, our room's doorwall and door were open with a strong Florida Bay breeze blowing through. The owner walked us up to the room, on the way explaining that she does not clean rooms, make beds, nor replace linens during a customer's stay. If we wanted fresh towels or sheets, we'd have to ask for them at the desk... figuring we were only staying a few days, this wasn't a problem for us, but might be for others.

Although I cannot speak for the other rooms in the Inn, ours had obvious water damage (from Hurricane Wilma 3 yrs ago?) with peeling wallpaper and plaster... even so, after driving 5 hours, I was tired and decided not to argue with the owners about cancelling our reservation (made with a credit card). After we settled in, turned on the A/C, and closed the doors (82 degrees outside is pretty warm to a northerner), we started to notice a moldy/mildew odor in the room and that the doorwall wouldn't latch or lock. After spending most of the day, evening, and early morning elsewhere in the Keys (left no valuables in the room), we returned to find the moldy smell a little less pronounced, probably due to the A/C drying the air in the room somewhat. The following morning I went to sit out on the balcony overlooking Florida Bay and discovered several badly rotted sections in the wooden decking... as we left that afternoon for another destination, I noticed extensive rot in another room's balcony. The "bay view" is about 1/3 actual Florida Bay, 1/3 US1, (pretty good amount of traffic noise) and 1/3 Commercial fishery across a dead-end canal which can get pretty "ripe" when the wind fills it with rotting seaweed (think rotten eggs). I've swum in many oceans, bays, canals, and lakes, but I would NOT swim here. The general condition of the property is one of neglect.

On the good side... the Pool was nice and seemed well cared for and clean, though lacking in a sun-shaded area. The Tiki hut was a nice touch. The docks/decks/marina were under major reconstruction/repair during our visit (no alarm needed with a pile-driver outside your window!), but were minimal at best. There is a boat launch (think small boat/PWC). Having a small store just below is a plus and there was no real store-related noise noticed.

I would not reccommend this Inn to others and would not stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2008
4  Thank Capn_Crunch_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews