We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
55
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
55
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long table own wine short walk the kitchen sarah chateau winery france hostess oscar grapes garden tour children accommodation region
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 58 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. Sara is a wonderful host. The breakfast is amazing with homemade jam and fresh bread and freshly prepared dishes which is served in the main hall of the chateau. It’s an amazing experience.
The accommodation is great with a shared kitchen and lounge and you can feel truly at home.
The pool is great as are the gardens and terraces around the chateau.
Sara Recommended a local restaurant which was a short walk away through their vineyard. The food there was great quality and value.
We were so warmly welcomed including a free bottle of their own wine on arrival. Their St Bernard dog, Oscar is gorgeous too.
We highly recommend it, you will not be disappointed. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HexhamFamilyMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisetSarahB, Propriétaire at Chateau Villotte, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Great thanks, for this warm reviews.
Receaving a family like your is a real pleasure.
Sincerily,
Sarah Baro
Thanks for Oscar too...I will tell her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

My wife and I enjoyed a long weekend stay in Bordeaux region. Nicely located in quiet Rauzan, it is a short (20 min) ride to St Emilion, wine capital of the region. Sarah proved to be a wonderful hostess, taking care of our needs. Denis gave us a tour of their winery which was quite impressive. Both worked hard to make us comfortable during our stay!

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenisetSarahB, Propriétaire at Chateau Villotte, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2019

Richard,
Thank you very much.
We are looking forward to receive you again.
Sincerily,
Sarah and Denis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2018

We had the pleasure of staying for 5 days, in early summer of 2017. They opened the pool for the season a bit early just for us as we travelled with children, there was a huge pink Flamingo inflatable that made it so much fun for the kids. The breakfast was superb, fresh bread every morning!!! Very accommodating to our likes for the meal. Sarah and her family were fantastic and super helpful. The place is really beautiful and functional, we enjoyed everything from the hammocks at the garden to the stunning dinning area that houses a long table and huge furniture overlooking at the vineyard. One of the things that I remember the most is her mini antique "desk" which was used as a wooden grape press, Sarah said: "It has seen (given) a lot of work", I enjoyed her life outlook all 5 days of our stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Traveltrue01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017

It's a beautiful little piece of real France, just a handful of kilometres from the theme park that St Emilion has become. The couple who run the place, Sarah and Denis, are both from South West France (he was grew up in Chateau Villotte, she came from the coastal area nearby) - and the welcome you get there reflects something very traditional. Breakfast included compotes and tartes using fruit from the property (as well as the usual - and delicious - croissants and baguettes). Gorgeous.
We stayed in the 'entre-deux-mers' room. It's unusual (yes, the giant wood-panelled headboard at one end of the room really does look like it was once in a church - and the opposite end of the same room has 'his & hers' sinks set in a stone wall that looks like it's been around for centuries). There's the bonus of a shared kitchen area - so one evening we had a picnic - a welcome change from 2/3 meals out each day.
And the courtyard area - not at all fussy - is a lovely place to sit and be pestered for food by Goya the dog and for affection by Baloo the cat.
Nearby, there's not too much to do in Rauzan (getting into the underground caves proved too difficult for us) but there's enough if you are prepared to drive a little.
We just wanted a relaxing, beautiful base for a couple of nights and that's exactly what we got. We couldn't have been happier with it.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJG_from_York_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and couldn't recommend more highly. Sarah and her family were warm and welcoming. The room very comfortable. Perfect mix of traditional in look but with modern facilities. The family room was very spacious with double bed and mezzanine level with two single beds. Breakfast was fantastic: fresh breads, pastries, yoghurt with homemade coulis, selection of jams etc. They made hot chocolate for the children. Swimming pool was beautiful and a real treat in the August heat. Easy drive to Saint Emilion and vineyards. We all loved Goya too!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank nadiad339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau V, Propriétaire at Chateau Villotte, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to kindly comment on your family holiday. We are very grateful and happy, and we will thank the dog ...
Sarah and Denis Baro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews