We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to stay Puynormand France” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Papi et Mamie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Papi et Mamie
Ranked #1 of 1 Puynormand B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing place to stay Puynormand France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We recently had a wonderful stay at Chez Papi et Mamie, what a lovely warm couple they are and made us so welcome and that wonderful breakfast every morning with Marie-Jose's lovely home made fig jam from their trees was unbeatable. We had a great BBQ with Marie-Jose and Andre, and a ride in Marie-Jose's vintage car, such a treat.! The room was just lovely old world french charm with a lovely ensuite and door outside to our own little garden area. The location is great and just a short trip maybe 15mins by car to St Emilion, such an old beautiful place surrounded by the region's famous vineyards. I would highly recommend a stay and was by far a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
24
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good setting for local wine regions. You get a real sense of local French countryside. The only negative was our room; 'Amizade' - upstairs, was not fully ensuite. The toilet was next door on the public landing. It was a macerater, pumped affair that wasn't very efficient but very noisy. So going to the loo in the middle of the night was a bit of a mission! The shower was a plastic cubicle but had plenty of hot water. Very low beams in the bedroom, but bed was comfortable. With all this said, our stay was a very pleasant one. The continental breakfasts were great and set you up for the day. The biggest selling point of this place is its owners: A charming couple who could not do enough to make your stay memorable for all the right reasons. Would definitely recommend, and if the non-ensuite toilet might be a problem, just stay in one of the other two rooms which both had wonderful bathrooms.

Room Tip: Downstairs room with full ensuite bathroom is probably the best for a couple. Upstairs room - Amizad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krommerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Chez Papi et Mamie and really impressed by the warm and friendly hospitality of the owners. I can easily say that it is unbeatable in terms of value for money and family friendly environment. The location is also convenient to visit the area especially Saint emilion (15-20 km). We will definitely go back soon and I will strongley reccomend to all my firends who wants to visit the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had no idea what a fabulous treasure we would find when we booked at Chez Papi et Mamie!!! If you are looking to experience the hospitality and warmth of the French people, their beautiful countryside,and the region's bountiful vineyards, you need not look any further. You will feel so welcomed by this endearing couple and their home filled with character and charm. I have traveled extensively to many countries and have stayed in many BandB's, and by far, our experience staying with Marie-Jose and Andre ranks number one in my book.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puynormand
4.3 mi away
Chateau Fleur de Roques
Chateau Fleur de Roques
#1 of 1 in Puisseguin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
24.9 mi away
La Grange de la Dupuise
La Grange de la Dupuise
#1 of 2 in Civrac-De-Blaye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau Puygrenier
Chateau Puygrenier
#1 of 2 in Villefranche-de-Lonchat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Les Secrets de Tifayne
Les Secrets de Tifayne
#2 of 5 in Puisseguin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau de Mole
Chateau de Mole
#1 of 5 in Puisseguin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
16.1 mi away
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion Bordeaux: Beau Sejour
Chambres d'hotes Saint Emilion B...
#1 of 3 in Naujan-et-Postiac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Papi et Mamie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Papi et Mamie

Property: Chez Papi et Mamie
Address: 4 le Bourg Nord, 33660 Puynormand, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Puynormand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Puynormand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Saint Emilion, nested in vineyards, this 18th century large family house with a cosy atmosphere and original decoration is welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Papi et Mamie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing