We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chateau near Bordeaux”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montussan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes
Ranked #2 of 3 Montussan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of May, 2013. It is a beautiful Chateau and Vineyard only 15-20 minutes from Bordeaux. It is about 1/4 mile from the main, separated 2 lane highway. Not too near but also not too far. Beautiful setting on a working vineyard. You really feel like you are away from it all. The Chateau is beautiful and elegant. Large common living room and dining room on the first floor. We stayed in suite Clothilde which was very large and just as it is portrayed on the website. (Actually we thought it was nicer then the website.) The suite was very comfortable for 3 people- my wife and myself and our adult daughter. Sylvie, the owner is very nice, and friendly. Her english is excellent. She gave us a tour of the wine making facility which was fascinating. Her Bordeaux Superior is delicious. We ate at 2 lovely near bye restaurants that she recommended. The continental breakfast in the formal dinning room was great. It was very easy to get to Bordeaux - 15-20 mins by car. We considered staying in a Bordeaux hotel, but this was much nicer and a much better value. If you are going to be near Bordeaux, this is a wonderful place to stay in the countryside.

Room Tip: The Clothilde suite actually has two separate rooms- it is extremely large and gets great light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonst1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Gérant at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I am delighted that your stay have been up to your expectations.

Thank you for giving your point of view, thank you also for your compliments.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 70 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was a wonderful find for us. The rooms, and there are only a few, are very spacious and so attractively appointed. Sylvie, our host, could not have been more attentive. I had lost my wallet upon arriving in Madrid, which threw our travel plans to France into chaos. Sylvie was very understanding and more than willing to accommodate our shortened itinerary. I wish we could have stayed longer. The chateau is in easy driving distance to Bordeaux to the West and Saint-Emilion to the East, and Sylvie had great recommendations for places to dine and visit. The wine was wonderful, which is a result of Sylvie’s passion for her work. Thank you Sylvie and Meryl for such a memorable, albeit short, stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 76ricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Responsable réception at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

It is true that your trip was a little bit special, but that's what makes it unique.

It was a pleasure to meet you and share with you a few little moments.

You are a very nice family.

We hope to see you again soon for a longer stay, we hope.

Best regards,

Méryl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel over the Easter weekend and it was a great choice. As we arrived late on Saturday we decided to book dinner at the chateaux rather than head out again somewhere else. This turned out to be a great decision as the food was delicious and a really nice welcome to France.

Sylvie is a very attentive host, always around when you need her without at all feeling intrusive. The tour of the winery was nice and the wines are really great. You really do get a feel for the passion Sylvie has for her winemaking.

The rooms were spacious with a very luxurious feel to them. Overall, this was a great place to stay and I'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLondonSW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Responsable réception at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for all you said

We do our best to take care of our guests and I am delighted to know that you found it very well

hope to seeing you soon

Best regards

Méryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This b&b is fabulously designed - we're a young couple and we LOVED the room and the decor, great boutique hotel style. Easy to drive to and from Bordeaux and St Emillion. Sylvie is lovely and we will stay again next time we are in the region!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmuid_500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Responsable réception at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you so much for you opinion

It was a pleasure to meeting you

Hope to see you again

Best regards

Méryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The building was erected in 1880-s in the style of 18th century. It is 15 minutes from the center of Bordeaux. Mrs. Sylvie recommended us a good restaurant in the village nearby, so it is no problem with a dinner. Room decorations are perfect and also gave us some ideas for our own house. The equipment in the bathroom is the most modern and never seen before. The whole atmosphere is of 5* de luxe hotel - plus friendly Lulu (on pictures)
It is a pity we came on March, out of season, and were not offered the local wine

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeituni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Responsable réception at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for giving your opinions on our Chateau,
We would be delighted to receive you again

Take care of yourself

Best regards

Méryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited this chateau bed-and-breakfast with a working winery just a few miles outside Bordeaux in October 2012. We were two couples and all 4 of us found it charming. Both our rooms were the bigger ones. They were huge & updated with modern bathrooms and tasteful decor, with the downstairs kept in the old traditional style of an old great house (I wouldn't quite say chateau). We signed up for dinner the first night and had a lovely 4-course meal, nicely served with the house wines with about 4 other couples. But best of all was the proprietress, Sylvie duLong, who had brought back the winery and modernized the facilities for wine-making production to her old family home after it had been discontinued in the last generation. Don't miss her tour of the winery and the accompanying tasting. We thought the breakfast was fine, a French-style breakfast, but plenty. Also walk around the property & take a look at the gorgeous chickens!

Room Tip: The bigger rooms aren't that much more--well worth it, we think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2travelersboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, apprentie BTS tourisme at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Bonjour,

Thank you for all your constructive comments and compliments about the Château.

Hope to see you again one day

Best regards

Méryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is a beautiful property and Sylvie is a very kind hostess. The rooms were beautifully decorated, huge and had gorgeous views. Breakfast was simple but ample. The chateaux is situated on a vineyard and it was nice to walk around the property. It is located literally off the main highway (and yet secluded and quiet) going to St. Emillion and Bordeaux, so it is perfect for visiting both areas. Highly recommended and not overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavergne-dulong, Apprentie BTS tourisme at Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you very much for your advice, and for all the compliments !
We hope to see you again one day

Best regards

Méryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Lavergne-Dulong - Chambres d'hotes

Address: 23 route du Courneau, 33450 Montussan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Montussan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montussan
Price Range: $166 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast and small restaurant (by reservation) managed by wine growers with available tours of their vineyards and operation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing