We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and refined”
Review of Chateau La Moune

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau La Moune
Ranked #1 of 3 Montussan B&B and Inns
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming and refined”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Château la Moune is located 20 minutes drive east of Bordeaux, thus making it an ideal location to tour the wine lands of St Emilion or further afield to the delightful town of Bergerac. Heading west brings you to a park and ride tram system into the centre of Bordeaux town and its revitalised charms. A car is very useful but alternative means of travel can be arranged by the helpful and attentive Monsieur Francois – with his extensive knowledge of best value local wines and how to eat well. My spouse and I stayed in the nuptial suite for €175 per night including a French breakfast – I would suggest contacting the château direct to get the best deals. The château is built of honey limestone set in landscaped gardens with a nicely sized pool and plenty of lounging space and free high speed wi-fi.

Breakfast and candle lit evening meals are served on a terrace by the pool – five course evening meals at €30 per head are cooked fresh to order – trust Francois to make an excellent selection or ask for a meal to your own specification. The furnishings in the chateau and its bedrooms are elegant – featuring many items of collectable value. Most of the rooms are on the ground floor either overlooking the extensive lawns and landscaping to the front or facing out to the terrace and pool. There are two rooms on the first floor in a tower that can serve as a secluded family suite. Charming and highly recommended by two seasoned travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzoneSpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    14
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a very nice experience. Very personal and friendly. A cosy nice old house. Feels like at home. Rooms are clean and service is ok. Breakfast is something! Orange juice and chocolate cake, pancakes and eggs with bacon from local farm. Francois, merci beacoup! Olga et Antoine de Moscou.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the first floor share bathroom. For us it was not a problem cause we were alone. WIFI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldfinger_784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We spent just 2 nights there....but wish it was longer! It is a truly charming place. Felt like we were invited to the home of a rich relative -- it was truly wonderful. Francois made us feel right at home even before we arrives! He helped to organize a wonderful tour of the vineyards, and dinner by the pool. The room was very spacious and comfortable....decorated in a traditional French manor style. Free wifi was a nice touch to help us plan our days in the area. Breakfast was elegant and tasty with fresh jams and crapes with maple syrup! We opted for dinner at the castle by the pool -- and that was simple and lovely. All and all we really enjoyed staying there and would return again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the parking lot side which made it easy to unpack, but to have fresh air you needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberlyV_USC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely, small, homely and characterful chateau with fine furnishing. Our bedroom was superb with good sized balcony overlooking the swiming pool. The inclusive breakfast was simple and generous; fresh pancakes and orange juice, great coffee, bread, jams. The evening meal was also simple and superbly fresh. We ate there 5 out of 6 nights. Francois is a fine host; entertaining and helpful. Also it is an easy short drive to Bordeaux.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bourts1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Chateau La Moune was beautiful. The host is friendly and very informative.
The rooms were gorgeous. The bathroom could use a little renovating.
The staff will cook you a breakfast, they will offer you 'pancakes', instead of the usual big breakfast with bacon and eggs. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and divine.
Worth staying at for a romantic gateaway

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights in this lovely chateau and would have liked longer. We were warmly welcomed and shown around by our host, who indulged us in speaking French at our insistence! Our room was very spacious and tastefully decorated, although I would agree with another comment that another chair would have been nice. However, it was very comfortable and relaxed. Breakfast on the terrace was everything you would expect and the pancakes were very good!

It is in a great location and easy to find with Bordeaux and all the lovely vineyards close by. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia_Heaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Unique experience. Old castle as from Tim Burton’s movies. Unique decoration for every room. Amazing manager Francois, who will be your guide in visiting wineries and choosing restaurant. Rustic breakfast of crusty bread and meat, cheeses plate and fresh fruits. I don’t think you should spend here week’s vacation, but one night experience – is great great great here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montussan
2.4 mi away
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir - Bordeaux
Chateau Lamothe du Prince Noir -...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Sulpice-et-Cameyrac
118 reviews
11.0 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
802 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Secrets du Chateau Pey La Tour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#1 of 1 in Yvrac
121 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
5.1 mi away
Kyriad Hotel Les 4 Pavillons - Bordeaux Lormont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau La Moune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau La Moune

Property: Chateau La Moune
Address: 6 route de la Poste, 33450 Montussan, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Montussan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montussan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau La Moune 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes from Bordeaux and 15 minutes from Saint Emilion, this thirteenth century castle offers stylish and comfortable accommodation. A swimming pool and Jacuzzi which you have free access Included in room price: Breakfast Brunch served until noon session Spa, private jacuzzi Transfer Station / Airport - Chateau Gastronomic restaurant Massage on demande Organize tours of vineyards and wineries, sea, caves Horseback Riding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau La Moune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing