We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to love this but just too hot!!!”
Review of Le Resinier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Resinier
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Barp
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this but just too hot!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We'd heard great things about Le Resinier - the rooms, the food, the service. And after a long day's cycling (we were on a bike tour) we were ready for a magical stay!!

Sure enough, we were met by a wonderful receptionist who showed us to our room (Sable) which was beautifully decorated in a beachy theme. The rooms here really are something special. But...it was a hot day (30C+) and the room was even hotter - opening windows, closing windows, nothing helped. We asked if we could upgrade and pay for a room with A/C (not possible we were told although we did speak to others who had A/C), we asked if there was a fan we could use (again, no). We even asked if there was a hardware store nearby where we could buy a fan for the night - it was that hot in the room!! Again, no, and no real desire to help us.

Ok, no problem, we decided to go to the pool area and wait for it to cool down. A smallish pool but with plenty of sun loungers, we shared a couple of beers and waited for the temperature to drop. It was great having the chance to relax, the pool area was great!

Then back to the room - now cooler outside, the room was still like a sauna!!

A quick shower and change and then downstairs again for a magical dinner. This hotel has a great reputation for it's restaurant and it's well deserved. From the beautifully presented amuse bouche when we sat down we knew we were in for a treat - and we weren't disappointed...

Then...back to the room again, and still boiling hot!! We considered going back downstairs and sleeping next to the pool but there were too many mosquitoes around. In the end, we settled for soaking towels in cool water and sleeping wrapped in them, getting up every half hour or so to re-soak them.

Please Le Resinier - if you read this, you are so close to getting an Excellent rating - just go and buy some cheap fans and put them in the rooms!!!

Room Tip: Ask for air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCDC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    7
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
37
Solo
0
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a bike tour through Bordeaux. The restaurant and the hotel are beautifully decorated. My husband and I kept commenting about how we wanted whoever decorated their establishment to come and decorate our home. The rooms were a little small, but definitely comfortable. The food was delicious (both dinner and breakfast). The ambiance was great! The front desk and wait staff were incredibly friendly. (There are small stairs to climb to get to your room, but one of the front desk staff insisted on carrying our suitcases for us) The noise does travel from the restaurant below into the rooms slightly, but we were so exhausted we had no idea. Overall a great establishment!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
312 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came across this restaurant by chance on our way back from the French/Spanish border to Bordeaux. Rather inconspicuous in a sparsely populated area amidst of pine forests, the restaurant looks surprisingly modern and maintained, with all attendants wearing typical French berets.

The three-course 'Marche du jour' from which we could choose different dishes was more than satisfying. Especially the main course of codfish was fresh and well-prepared. The white wines selected by the sommelier were wonderful too. Just be aware that the restaurant charges 5 Euro per cup of coffee which might be a bit overpriced. The bill itself was reasonable for about 70 Euro for two persons including drinks.

Recommended, provided you can make a detour of about 10 km from the N10 highway. As said, it is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had actually put another hotel into the GPS but when passing we decided to stay and I am happy to say it was a wise decision. The hotel in clean & well maintained with helpful friendly staff but what did it for us was the restraurant. It is by far the best french food I have ever eaten, the Degustation menu (which seemed a little pricey) was worth every penny. Beautifully presented local products & specialities prepared by a chef who loves what he does.

Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys superb food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwifemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for a single night and ate in the restaurant where the food and service were both to a high standard. Wines a touch on the pricey side but the total meal cost was OK.

A pleasant outside terrace under a large circular awning backing onto a small lawn and a very shiny life-sized while cow sculpture!

Outstanding breakfast and very pleasant staff. It is right on the road but overnight traffic was light and the window double-glazed.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from the roadside if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arriving at the hotel you might be initially disappointed. It's not an architecturally outstanding building and it's on a busy road opposite a partially completed shopping mall. In this part of France you can do much better than that....

...BUT....

Rooms are ok, and there's more space behind the hotel than you might think, including a swimming pool.

And what makes this hotel exceptional is the restaurant. Excellent, highly professional food and service, that make a vist very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It may not look very exciting from the outside but it really is worth stopping here. The welcome is superb and the food outstanding. Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept very well indeed. Eat on the terrace if you can as it is lovely. Le Resinier is well worth a visit if you are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Barp
4.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Bordeaux Mios
18.7 mi away
Le Boutique Hotel
Le Boutique Hotel
#3 of 173 in Bordeaux
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
18.7 mi away
Yndohotel
Yndohotel
#1 of 173 in Bordeaux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
17.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Design & Spa Bassin D'Arcachon
Best Western Plus Design & Spa B...
#1 of 4 in La Teste-de-Buch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
16.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Arcachon Gujan-Mestras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Resinier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Resinier

Property: Le Resinier
Address: 68 avenue des Pyrenees, 33114 Le Barp, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Le Barp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Barp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Resinier 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Le Resinier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Resinier Le Barp, France - Aquitaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing