We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise in the middle of nowhere”
Review of Le Resinier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Resinier
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Barp
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
340 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“A surprise in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We came across this restaurant by chance on our way back from the French/Spanish border to Bordeaux. Rather inconspicuous in a sparsely populated area amidst of pine forests, the restaurant looks surprisingly modern and maintained, with all attendants wearing typical French berets.

The three-course 'Marche du jour' from which we could choose different dishes was more than satisfying. Especially the main course of codfish was fresh and well-prepared. The white wines selected by the sommelier were wonderful too. Just be aware that the restaurant charges 5 Euro per cup of coffee which might be a bit overpriced. The bill itself was reasonable for about 70 Euro for two persons including drinks.

Recommended, provided you can make a detour of about 10 km from the N10 highway. As said, it is in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venneper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    49
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
38
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had actually put another hotel into the GPS but when passing we decided to stay and I am happy to say it was a wise decision. The hotel in clean & well maintained with helpful friendly staff but what did it for us was the restraurant. It is by far the best french food I have ever eaten, the Degustation menu (which seemed a little pricey) was worth every penny. Beautifully presented local products & specialities prepared by a chef who loves what he does.

Would highly recommend to anyone who enjoys superb food

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midwifemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed for a single night and ate in the restaurant where the food and service were both to a high standard. Wines a touch on the pricey side but the total meal cost was OK.

A pleasant outside terrace under a large circular awning backing onto a small lawn and a very shiny life-sized while cow sculpture!

Outstanding breakfast and very pleasant staff. It is right on the road but overnight traffic was light and the window double-glazed.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room away from the roadside if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arriving at the hotel you might be initially disappointed. It's not an architecturally outstanding building and it's on a busy road opposite a partially completed shopping mall. In this part of France you can do much better than that....

...BUT....

Rooms are ok, and there's more space behind the hotel than you might think, including a swimming pool.

And what makes this hotel exceptional is the restaurant. Excellent, highly professional food and service, that make a vist very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It may not look very exciting from the outside but it really is worth stopping here. The welcome is superb and the food outstanding. Our room was clean and comfortable. We slept very well indeed. Eat on the terrace if you can as it is lovely. Le Resinier is well worth a visit if you are in this part of the world.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haliaeetusalbicilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our favourite place on the bike tour mainly because of the amazingly great food. The restaurant was first class with fabulous food, wine and service. The rooms are above the restaurant, all clean, bright and very modern although small and the noise did travel upstairs a little which is why we gave it 4 stars not 5 but forgave this for the fantastic experience here. We felt we had had a really gastronomic experience here and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furthest away from the staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 59erstog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Hotel was fine, small but clean, smelled good, stairs to climb, BUT the restaurant on the terrace was superb, the pool was delightful, Breakfast, lunch and dinner outstanding, not to mention the great chef, and the local specialty products that were available for purchase. All Good!

Room Tip: take one away from the kitchen below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stokes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Barp
4.6 mi away
B&B Hotel Bordeaux Mios
23.0 mi away
Domaine Du Ferret Balneo & Spa
13.1 mi away
Comte d’Ornon Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Pessac
13.5 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
173 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel All Suites Le Teich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Resinier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Resinier

Property: Le Resinier
Address: 68 avenue des Pyrenees, 33114 Le Barp, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Le Barp
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Le Barp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Resinier 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Le Resinier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Resinier Le Barp, France - Aquitaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing