We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner in a fantastic garden”

Hotel- Restaurant du Herrenstein
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

We made a reservation at 18:30 unfo you could only enter the garden at 19:00 the food is really good and so is the location. Service could be a bit more efficient.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank bobbert-rtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 84 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2017

I could not fault this meal. My starter of oxtail was very tasty, my main course duck was outstanding and snickers desert unusual but delicious. Presentation was excellent and quantities just right. Service was friendly and satisfactory but I would have preffered a steak knife for my duck and I couldn't attract the attention of the busy staff to ask for one. However still a 5 star performance overall.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnson6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016

Restaurant has a nice atmosphere, staff is very polite, always ready to help and I can't find words to express how good is a meal there. I highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EvaF2Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This restaurant has a fine location, a stone throw away from a stunning abbey, nested in the middle of beautiful landscapes and forests.
The little garden under the trees offers a very pleasant setting for a lunc - solid plus

The food is traditional alsacian, with a bit of of an effort to give it twist. The chef is working and it shows, the food is good and even surprisingly modern for some dishes (e.g. Sushi) - Strong Plus

The service... when will the French learn that customers have expectations that they consider as their rights...whereby the hosts makes an effort to please the customer and not the customer complies to the rules of the establishment and should be grateful to have been given access.
They dont accept "late" lunch (after 2pm)
anecdote: we had set aside a slice of foie gras on a plate for a late comer for lunch ; we then realized they had taken it away and they refused to replace it... a bit of a stingy bunch...

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank imardell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel- Restaurant du Herrenstein also viewed

Neuwiller-les-Saverne, Bas-Rhin
 
Dossenheim-sur-Zinsel, Bas-Rhin
Neuwiller-les-Saverne, Bas-Rhin
 
Weinbourg, Bas-Rhin
La Petite Pierre, Bas-Rhin
 

Been to Hotel- Restaurant du Herrenstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing