We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but indifferent service”
Review of Chateau de la Tour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de la Tour
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but indifferent service”
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I took a group of six people to their restaurant one evening, as our B&B in the area no longer offers dinner. From the beginning, the service was slow, and the waiter was indifferent to empty plates on our table after each course. We noted that several tables of what appeared to be locals received much better service. The food was good, but I would never take a group there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianeoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    28
    30
    20
    11
See reviews for
22
49
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thessalonique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2008

This hotel is a real paradise, if you want to take a rest and to forget your problems and to get rid of your stress...
Built in a wonderful area, full of green, you can enjoy your holidays by taking big walks in the enormous park, specifically designed for this reason, or by swimming in the swimming pool..
If you like the good wine, then you have to visit this hotel..
The rooms are really spacious, calm and well designed..
Moreover the atmosphere is great and the staff is friendly and very polite...
Sauna, gum, ping pong are some of the activities that you can take in this hotel..
And finally and most important...you have to taste the specialites of the restaurant of the hotel....I reccomend you to taste there a dessert and to drink a glass of wine....God save the "chef"!!!! ;-)
What a marvellous experience......
Thanks Chteau de la Tour for the great holidays that you have offered me.

  • Liked — the wine, the spacious room, the calm , the service and in general the green dominated in this hotel
  • Disliked — a little bit isolated...
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyThessalonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Etienne
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2008

Well, if you excpect a modern or a cosy hotel, you should not pick this one. If you want to sleep – yes, sleep – you should not pick this one. The beds are probably from the birth of the hotel, very uncomfortable and so short the feet were outside the bed. Me and my husband could not sleep for two nights .They are very economic regarding the lighting, it was always dark black in the corridors that had their walls and floor covered with carpet from the 80s. We did not feel this typical french "warm welcoming".

At breakfast, a staff member asked if we were done with breakfast even though we we're in the middle of eating. They just wanted to clean the tables and the breakfast buffet.

As we could not sleep for two nights and did not feel we wanted to hang around in the interior from the 80s we chose to leave one night earlier even though that we had paid for a third night.

The rooms were clean and spacious. That was it.

  • Liked — Babycot
  • Disliked — Well, read my review
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beguey hotels

Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

My wife and I were due to have just B and B for one night but circumstances meant we had to have dinner and how glad we were.Considering it was a Sunday night(not the best night to eat in rural France) we had a superb meal served by very friendly and efficient staff.Bedrooms are very clean and comfortable.Altogether,a very pleasant stopover.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 16, 2006

Polite service, clean and modern (though not grand). I had a corner room that was mainly glassed-in, though copious curtains allowed me to sleep in. Sadly, it was raining during my visit so my view extended about as far as the road outside, but it shore looked nice anyway. The restaurant was fantastic, the sauteed foie gras highly recommended, the wine list nice and recommendations well made. Room clean and unexceptional but no complaints, plenty large for a 3-star.

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beguey
2.4 mi away
Domaine de Valmont
Domaine de Valmont
#1 of 1 in Barsac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Claude Darroze
Hotel Claude Darroze
#1 of 3 in Langon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
10.9 mi away
Domaine de Larchey
Domaine de Larchey
#1 of 1 in Saint-Medard-d'Eyrans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Hostellerie Geraud de Graves
15.0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-James Relais & Chateaux
15.6 mi away
Domaine de Fompeyre
Domaine de Fompeyre
#1 of 2 in Bazas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Tour

Property: Chateau de la Tour
Address: 2 avenue de la Liberation, 33410 Beguey, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Beguey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Beguey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Tour 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 25 minutes from Bordeaux, in the heart of Bordeaux region vineyard (Sauternes, Graves, St Emilion, Entre Deux Mers, Côtes de Bordeaux), the Chateau de la Tour hotel was built on the ancient vegetable garden of the "Ducs D'Epernon" castle. The hotel offers a range of spacious and elegant rooms with a view on a 3 hectares park. The restaurant proposes an exquisite and expressive cookery around local products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de la Tour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Tour Hotel
Chateau De La Tour France/Beguey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing