We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage for a relaxing fun family holiday”
La Rose ,shady terrace for those long lunches overlooking the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Rose ,shady terrace for those long lunches overlooking the pool
Jasmin Terrace with a clear view of the pool La Rose Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
6 reviews
La Rose ,shady terrace for those long lunches overlooking the pool
Jasmin Terrace with a clear view of the pool
La Rose Kitchen
La Rose ,Lounge with GB Sat DVD WIFI
La Rose,  Double Bedroom with en suite bathroom
La Rose ,Twin Bedroom
with adjacent large bathroom.
La Rose Bathroom
Jasmin ,kitchen opening onto the terrace
Jasmin lounge ,GB Sat,DVD
WIFI ,sofa bed
Jasmin Double room with ensuite bathroom
Jasmin Twin with ensuite bathroom. French doors leading to an upper terrace for sun bathing
Pool view from La Rose
Great location for two families travelling together !
Trampoline fun for the children
Pizza Barge nearby.Very popular with cycling families
Water Park for a day out !
Large pool and lots of space between the two houses
The fabulous city of Bordeaux ,a great visit for the day
Summer colour in the Garonne Valley
Great place to celebrate a birthday !
La Rose Terrace: lots of lawn for active children in safety
Bastile Day, 4th July celebrations
Fun Canoeing for a lovely day on the river Ciron
Another Birthday Cake
Some canoeing exitement. Optional !!
Lots of space for fun and energetic children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Barie, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Digby M
1 review
“Lovely cottage for a relaxing fun family holiday”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We had an amazing two weeks in Barie staying in Jasmin which was made all the better by the owners who made us feel more like visiting family rather than customers. They were extremely helpful, giving us lots of information on what to do and see. The accommodation is very much in keeping with French country style and was perfect for our family of 2 adults and 3 children ages 11 and 8 year old twins. The grounds of the two cottages are lovely and the children can play freely and our children really enjoyed playing with the other children.

We visited the local day and evening food markets which are a must do. The local canal provides picturesque bike riding scenery ideal for families. We were able to hire bikes for 2 adults and 3 children for reasonable prices.
Bordeaux is an hour's drive away and the Dune Di Pilat (highest sand dunes in Europe) are about an hour and half away. We loved Canoeing at villandrout which is half an hours drive.

We will definitely be returning as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penny H
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow - beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I was recommended this gite by a friend and oh my goodness it didn't disappoint. I needed somewhere to get away from it all and this was just perfect. It was right out in the countryside but really only a short car ride to Bordeaux which is also stunning so I had the best of both worlds. It was really hot while I was there so was really glad of the pool. I would definitely recommend and hope to go back next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaldaneP
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely French getaway”
Reviewed August 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Fantastic cottage with swimming pool. Such a tranquil, relaxing setting. The owner a wealth of helpful tips and advice on where to go. Many Lovely places a short drive away. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KibsB
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for an Unforgettable Stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Where to even begin describing this experience!

After over two months in Europe, this first three weeks is still the highlight of our trip. As a bit of background, we rented both houses for a week for a group of 11, followed by another 2 weeks in the one house as a couple.

First, Tim is very accommodating and easy to get along with. Reserving is a breeze and settling in is made very easy. An added benefit is his wealth of insight into the surrounding areas which he is happy to share to make your outings meaningful.

The photos don't lie. These are charming old farmhouses in a beautiful countryside. Be aware those are old farmhouses, complete with their expected quirks. They are large and fully outfitted to become one's home away even for an extended stay. There is also plenty of outdoor space ready for games and running around. As a result, staying in for a day of rest is just as enjoyable as the many visits and day trips you will of course make. Between the two houses, a couple or six can comfortably call this home.

The canal is indeed close by: only a short bike ride (bikes available), a run, or a long walk, each quite enjoyable. In fact, this is the northern end of the Canal du Midi (or Canal Lateral), so once at the canal, you can bike or run as far south as you wish.

You are also minutes (5 to 30) away from many of the southern Bordeaux wine regions (e.g.: Sauternes, graves, CôtesdeB, St-Émilion, Vayres etc.), and five minutes away from the charming medieval town of La Reole where you will love the sights, market and food. Within travel times ranging from 15 minutes to 3 hours, a hundred and one other out-of-the-way medieval towns await your visit. For all of the above, stick to the small country roads, they are charming and will yield even more pearls awaiting your discovery.

The only cautions we can find (by trying very very hard) is be prepared and patient finding the place for the first time, and if you have long hair, be ready to unclog the shower drains. The biggest downside really is leaving this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything + Tim
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynn_mcna...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real gem in a wonderful, tranquil location. It was just perfect for us.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

From the minute we pulled up onto the drive I knew we had made a great choice of location. The property is set in a lovely private garden with a wonderful pool (fabulously clean). The surrounding countryside and the little village setting is heavingly. We were greeted by Tim, the owner, who was the perfect owner, along with his lovely wife, Lynn. They were full of useful information but just made their presence appropriately felt. They could not help enough with anything we required. We have been lucky enough to stay in many properties over the years but the mix of property with location and facilities have been wonderful. We would not hesitate to return and shall do next year, If you are looking for a real relaxing place to stay, in wonderful surroundings, then you cannot go wrong with La Rosa, we could have stayed forever.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing