We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Dock, Long Wait & Long Faces”
Review of The Long Dock

The Long Dock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Long Dock, Long Wait & Long Faces”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten here many a time. Simply because it's the only place in Carrigaholt to eat. I will NEVER return. Seated at tables so close together, it's uncomfortable not to mention uneven tables that move constantly and spill your drinks. The food is worse than average. Chips overlooked and cold. Food slapped up on cold plates. Can't understand why this place has won awards. The service is very slow and the waitress wasn't very friendly. It's very pricey too. Terrible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CasaJones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    55
    12
    18
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Won't be dining there again”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Well we heard so much about this place. The food is expensive and over rated. As we were finishiing the meal we were asked did we want the bill with drinks in front of us. Thats a first!! Just wanted to get rid of us so they could serve other people. I'm going elsewhere in future and making sure ALL my friends know to avoid the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Lovely Setting”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have eaten many times at the Long Dock, the food has always been good and the setting is wonderful. If there are any negatives I have found the staff to more business like than friendly, and you often have to que for a table and the seats are grabbed by the more assertive.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aociardha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
303 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“An amazing lunch stop”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stopped here for an amazing lunch whilst on a whistle stop trip around the west of Ireland. The sun was shining so I dined outside. What a treat, a piping hot bowl of homemade Seafood Chowder, Irish brown bread and a glass of Guiness, all tasty and perfect. The service was welcoming and attentive.
Great spot for lunch and at 8.45 euros great value too. I will be back when next in the west!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Walton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectation”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A really nice restaurant, excellent food & great atmosphere even during the off-season. A must...

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Browneire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Long Dock also viewed

 
Kilkee, County Clare
 

Been to The Long Dock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing