We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (361)
Filter reviews
361 results
Traveler rating
293
59
9
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
59
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach front friendship bay bequia beach lobster night beachfront suite italian restaurant laid back half board main restaurant low season atlantic side beach bar charming hotel princess margaret beach large balcony the ground floor colonial style
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 361 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2019

Our beachfront suite was lovely. Gorgeous view, the staff were lovely.
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and an egg station. The evening food was quite good but too "themed " for our liking. 2 of our 5 nights there they had a themed night and we didnt have a food choice.

** We were rather shocked to see a rat running up the wall of the bar !!! We told the bar man and he did nothing - didnt even look shocked !

There are parts where the layout seems odd - when walking from our room to the bar and restaurant the path took us past the toilets - between the toilets and a hedge ! We spoke to another couple and they commented on this also. The path also took us by a rather untidy and scruffy area of canoes etc which seems so odd in a such a lovely location - why not put them at the far end ??

The bedroom was large with a superking bed but the mattress was hard and not that comfy - it was just sat on a wooden frame so not a good quality bed. also, the bedding wasnt great.

** good hairdryer and kettle etc. free water and milk in fridge each day. Bathrobes.
Mosquito repellent and killer supplied in room also.
The aircon was efficient but rather noisy
.Our bathroom had 2 showers, separate loo , bath and twin sinks so was very good. The bed area has step down to the living area and the door to the balcony which had mosquito screens.
Mind you both the mosquito screen and mosquito net round the bed didnt meet properly and had gaps - not ideal !

a lovely welcome committee with complimentary cocktails and we also had acomplimentary cocktail each day sat on the sunbeds.

We also stayed a few days at Bequai Plantation Hotel and the Bequia Beach was a much better standard - although the air con and beds were better at the Plantation.

Having said all of this it wouldnt stop us returning.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RimaA387, Guest Relations Manager at Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2019

Dear Jane W,
Thank you for choosing Bequia Beach Hotel to spend your vacation, it was our pleasure meeting you both.

We were saddened to learn that you witnessed a rat in the bar, the management take hygiene and cleanliness extremely seriously at Bequia Beach Hotel and after you reported it to the bar staff, we immediately increased the amount of pest controls in that area despite it being regularly serviced & maintained. We apologize for your experience and that your concern wasn’t answered satisfactorily at the time.

We are looking to address and redesign some of the areas you mentioned around the restaurant to make the entrance more pleasurable during out summer closure.

We are grateful that you brought these points to our attention and are pleased it didn’t affect your overall stay with us. We pride ourselves at providing the highest of accommodation and service standards in Bequia and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Kind Regards
Management and Staff
Bequia Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We came to this charming hotel with friends for 7 nights. Everything about his place is just lovely. The reception staff were so helpful nothing was too much trouble. The bar and restaurant staff were equally fabulous and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. The entertainment on a few nights was a very welcome addition and it was lovely to see everyone up and dancing including the staff. We stayed in a two bedroom villa with plunge pool. It was really well equipped and spacious and kept spotlessly clean The food at the restaurants was of a very good standard and we particularly enjoyed the lobster evening. Bequia is a beautiful island quite unspoilt and laid back.

Lovely little touches such as a packed lunch for our return flight as there are no facilities at the airport I would highly recommend Bequia Beach hotel. A little info bring lots of mosquito repellent and all the sockets are U.K. sockets so you don’t need any adapters

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so special !!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank amoroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Bequia is a gem of an island .. a little reminiscent of how the Caribbean must have been 40 years ago, whilst bigger islands have become ruined by the growth of tourism.
I stayed in a beach front suite, which was very comfortable. Staff all very pleasant .. lazing on the beach all day, reading, resting and swimming in the sea were magical.
Lunch and dinner were all ok .. but breakfast needs attention. The menu at breakfast needs to be changed .. the hot pots to keep the side dishes warm do NOT work, and the food is cold.

Apart from the breakfast needing attention, the place is most enjoyable.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

The hotel had been recommended to us a few years ago and we just got around to visiting, the flight connections from UK make a two centre holiday a bit difficult, but it worked with a week in Barbados except whilst we made the outward connection, our luggage did not arrive for a further 24 hours..... The hotel met our expectations, all the staff were friendly and efficient, particularly at the bar and reception.

The main restaurant was fine, best to make reservations in advance as can get busy, particularly Lobster Fest Saturday, food was good and nice selection of wine. The Blue Tropic Italian Restaurant makes a change, but the menu is limited and atmosphere not as good as Bagatelle. The fresh coconuts are a nice touch a couple of times a week. There can be a shortage of beach sun beds and towels , so perhaps a few more with umbrellas could be made available. The WiFi is intermittent and poor in places around the hotel. In general a good choice, no real issues and we would likely return sometime.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ajp9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

It was with a heavy heart that we had to leave this establishment after 11 days as the food, service, accommodation and service from most of the staff was exceedingly agreeable. This beach front location is accessible via a very steep road or a series of steps so climbing up for a local bus service (should you need it) requires some physical ability. The rooms were very well appointed, the room service exceptional and balconies of the upper floor suites offer great views of the beach and sunrise. The beach itself is well tended and clean although it was noted that occasionally some local residents do allow their dogs to exercise on the beach untethered and also venture into the restaurant areas during meal times. The hotel contains two restaurant options where the service is generally good and the food well prepared and presented. What makes the experience more pleasant is the attitude of the staff, where most of those serving were in good humour and efficient. The gym has limited facilities but is readily accessible as is the associated steam bath - this is located at the spa centre, itself clean,tidy and very well attended by efficient staff. Water sports facilities are available when conditions allow and the grounds being quite extensive require some orientation or guidance on arrival - sadly this orientation appointment offered to us was denied after waiting 25 minutes for the experience.

Room tip: Upper floor junior suites offer the best beach views
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews