We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow! What a fabulous hotel!”
Review of Bequia Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bequia Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow! What a fabulous hotel!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Sorry this review is so late! My husband and I stayed here for a week in April and just loved it! We stayed in a beach front room which was very spacious and very comfortable. All the staff were lovely and helpful and did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay. We ate in the restaurant every evening and can honestly say we enjoyed all our meals. The hotel has an excellent chef! We loved the pool area and we enjoyed exploring the island and the Princess Margaret beach. Many thanks to Carlton who was our guide. We had a wonderful time here and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel and island to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandGEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    46
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
170
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

we stayed here, in a beach front room, room was amazing, very large with balcony, overlooking the ocean, staff were very attentive, we ate at the hotel restaurant on many occasions, loved the breakfasts, a must to visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevmac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

What a great resort and in July its low season so nice and quiet and you get the whole swimming pool to yourself. Staff were excellent and always always happy to help you any way they can, they almost 'made' the whole experience..

Room Tip: The suites are perfect for a family of 4..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citybubble101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We were in Bequia at the end of June/early July at this hotel and we had the best holiday ever. It is low season and the hotel was quiet, just as we like it. The Island is wonderful, the people warm and friendly and the facilities in the hotel were great. The staff were genuinely helpful, delightful and not at all pushy. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the menu changes every two days. The beach was empty and during the whole of our 2 week stay no-one approached us to try to sell us anything - what a difference from the larger islands. If you relly need to chill out go here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a great find. Bequia is the most wonderful unspoilt island. We only had 4 days and arrived in a thunderstorm but the next day and every day after was lovely. The hotel was a real surprise, instead of a basic Caribbean hotel, it was beautifully furnished and had everything and more that you could need. The staff were all exceptional, nothing was too much trouble, the breakfast was served, no buffet now, a lovely local fruit plate, followed by the freshest eggs and homemade bread and scones, all the food was really good. We ate out one night but didn't bother again as the hotel food was much better. A lovely quiet beach, no hawkers, no rubbish, no jet ski, perfect. I will definately go back.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view suite on the ground floor, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passeportLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

on arrival at the hotel everything seemed ok the welcome was good and at first glance the beachfront room was very nice although at closer inspection the bathroom ceiling had a huge nail sticking out of it and in the corner of the bathroom there was tatty unpainted coving! Our experience of the restaurant on the first night was not good. The band was out of tune and so loud conversation was impossible. It was meant to be a beach BBQ which was just a load of pre-cooked steak (dry and overcooked) fish (also overcooked) and chicken (guess what, also dry) all the food including very average salads and cous cous were just left out in the open for who knows how long? being a chef myself I can confirm that the food hygiene was pretty poor and the restaurant overpriced. The menu stayed the same for to long and breakfasts were exactly the same for the whole stay with warm Fruit juices being left in jugs and again food left out in the open, it was the same every day! I also found the staff to be a bit pushy and it came across a tad desperate. I would say the average age of guests was around 60 which is not clear when you book. On checking out I was met with a huge bill for which I asked for a breakdown it soon became clear that my bill was virtually double what it should have been, luckily I had been keeping an eye on the tab and knew I had not spent what they were billing me for. This error was rectified but only because I had spotted it. Not a great experience at Bequia Beach hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yo180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipm11, Owner at Bequia Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I am very sorry that several aspects of your visit fell short of our usual standards. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment caused.

I was concerned that you found the room was not quite up to scratch and we thank you for bringing the unpainted part of the coving, and un-hammered nail in the bathroom to our attention. I am glad to say that both have now been rectified.
Your experience in our Restaurant was of a great concern to me. We are very conscious about the hygiene in both our kitchen and service area, and have strict standards in place. I have personally reviewed the Breakfast and Barbecue service and preparation flow and have amended the buffet format in order to maintain the quality of our produce. We thank you for bringing these items to our attention.

If you do happen to travel to Bequia in the future, I very much hope that you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and you are very welcome to contact me directly in order that I can oversee your arrangements.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us. Your feedback helps us to understand how we can continue to make improvements.

Warm Regards,
Bengt Mortstedt - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although we prefer small boutique hotels over large resorts we enjoyed our stay at the Bequia Beach Hotel. It is a well conceived resort complex with a pleasant reception building also housing a library and sitting room. We loved the retro posters everywhere done by Kerne Erikson. Our room was on the ground level of one of the Ocean View buildings. The beach is really fabulous in comparison to the beaches on the northern Atlantic side of the island. There is a decided effort on behalf of the owner and all the staff to make their guests feel welcome although at times it seemed more mechanical than genuine. We found the food at the hotel restaurant, The Bagatelle, lacked sufficient influence from the Caribbean and seemed to cater to North American/European tastes. However we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner there owing to the restaurant's ideal location at water's edge and the magnificent full moon that appeared the evening we dined there. Housekeeping could have been better especially considering resort prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OpioMandH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
2.7 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
10.0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
#1 of 17 in St. Vincent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
1.0 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
20.7 mi away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bequia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bequia Beach Hotel

Property: Bequia Beach Hotel
Address: | Friendship Bay, Friendship VC0400, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Friendship
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bequia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bequia Beach Hotel is situated in what many consider to be the premiere location on the Caribbean island of Bequia - Friendship Beach. Inspired by Oliver Messel's stylish Mustique villas and surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens, this boutique hotel combines luxury, elegance and charm to provide a relaxing and friendly atmosphere. With two pools, reading lounge, Spa & Fitness Room, first-class Restaurants and its own secluded sandy beach area. The Bequia Beach Hotel accommodation offers: luxury Beachfront suites, spacious Ocean View suites, private Cottages, and Classic rooms which overlook the second hotel pool with views of the Caribbean sea in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bequia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bequia Beach Hotel Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing