We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you in Bequia...”
Review of Sugarapple Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sugarapple Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Friendship B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stay at the Sugarapple Inn on August 19-20,2011. The staff is excellent and the manager was so nice. I love the color s and stuff in the room. Franklin was excellent Tour Guide he is married to manager there at Sugarapple Inn. I love this place and plan on come back next year. Its a gem in bequia and nice place to set back and relax.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CATTY90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 190 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

Cilla is a gem. We booked late and she anticipated our needs made all pick up arrangements and called to confirm. The rooms are beautifully decorated, equipped with most of your self catering needs, no microwave unfortunately. Daily maid service is a lovely touch. Bequia is a truly simple and quiet island. Breathtaking panoramic views, gorgeous! But that is it. If you're down for a relaxing, romantic island getaway, Bequia is the place. If you're looking for an epicurean or adventure type holiday it's not the place. People are warm and friendly, you feel safe and it's just authentic Caribbean! The inn is close to the road so depending on your room you may get some road noise but this is also an advantage location wise. Easy drop off and pick up access as the island terrain is Very hilly with steep slopes. Taxis are easily accessed, you get a free phone on loan for your stay. Location close to restaurants, dollar buses, town centre and port, very close to the ocean and close proximity to other beaches by car. So the location was Great and the proximity to the main road was an asset here especially if you have small kids who may not be able to do too much walking. Some other properties further from the road may require more walking and limited amenity access. Franklyn was awesome, he took us in an island tour and was a great local guide and taxi driver. The service was great, people warm, island absolutely gorgeous and Sugarapple Inn was perfect for us!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelGirlChronicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Just had a terrific, relaxing week in Bequia. We enjoyed our stay enormously thanks to the excellent help provided by Cilla, Franklin and the rest of the staff at Sugarapple Inn. In fact, everyone in Bequia is so friendly and helpful. We intended it being a working holiday, so we were insistent on having good Internet connectivity in the room. The Internet worked fine, but we didn't work at all because we so much enjoyed just relaxing. The Inn is well-planned and set in lovely grounds, with a refreshing pool to drop in after a day out. It's just short walk down to Friendship Bay and close to Port Elizabeth. Of course, nothing is far in Bequia anyway :-) We were really sad to leave and will return for another stress-free, relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: We had Unit #1, which we think had the best view. But I'm sure all the rooms are just as airy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank stewartmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Sugar Apple was a great place to stay. There were no complaints about the hotel that my wife and I could find. The beds were comfortable, the unit had a/c, it even had a nice kitchen. The pool was well taken care of and was a short walk to the beach. If you stay here make sure to say hello to Nell the cat. She is a sweet young cat that is very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdavidson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I first heard of Sugar Apple from a co-worker and decided to look the inn up on TA. Having been to Bequia before I already knew I wanted to stay on or near to Friendship beach. We were 2 Adults, 1 Teen, 1 Child and a ½ . I booked 2 adjoining rooms for 5 nights. Lionel and Cilla were professional, helpful and quick to reply to all my emails. I already liked the place and had not yet arrived.
We pre-arranged for Franklin, Cilla’s husband, to meet us at the ferry dock and drive us to the Inn only a short 8-10 minute drive away. He was, as promised, there waiting and assisted us with our bags. We were lucky, even though it was mid-day our rooms were ready and we could take our luggage to the rooms right away. We were assigned rooms 5 (yellow with 2 double beds) and 6 (orange with 1 king bed). These are the top two apartments of the lower building overlooking the pool and garden. The rooms were bright, airy and very comfortable however, right away we noticed room 5 had a few issues – 2 light bulbs had blown (1 at the door and 1 at the entrance hall to the room), the safe and the wireless internet were also not working. Cilla had been there to greet us and was still in the office so I popped up to sort out a rental car for 2 days and to tell her about these issues. We rented the Sugar Apple’s 4 door jeep for 2 days (very handy to have that service available on site) and once we were all unpacked decided to head to a supermarket in town (side note - Knights opposite the gas station & market had the most variety. We learned this after visiting 2 others.) On our return Cilla had already sorted room 5’s lights and the wireless and someone had been arranged to come fix the safe the following day. WOW! What service!
During our stay we swam in the pool twice, walked down to Friendship beach (only a short 4 minute walk) once and sampled a coconut from the garden.
One very important note that can not go without mention in this review is: On the Saturday evening after spending the entire day in St. Vincent I noticed we were just about out of milk and bread and would not have enough for breakfast the following day before heading out early to the Tobago Cays. Cilla had very kindly given us her cell number in case we needed anything and she wasn’t around. I called to ask where we might be able to pick up a few groceries at 8:00pm on a Saturday night. “Nowhere I thought. What bad planning on my part.” Cilla said she would make a quick call and get back to me. She did even better, at around 9:00pm we had a knock on our door and it was Cilla groceries in hand. She truly is a GEM.
A special thanks to Cilla and all at the Sugar Apple. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 96Degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was my second time staying at the Sugarapple its a wonderful inn. The room is equipped with everything you need and decorected very nice. Cilia the manager is very helpful she will go out her way for you. Its a great place to stay if you are looking for a quiet haven to stay. The grounds are full of fruit trees the pool is nice and clean and the grilling area is ready to use. I look forward to going back again!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingergirl456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We travelled to Bequia for a short stay after being in Barbados and was recommended teh Sugaraple Inn - we were not disappointed. Lovely clean apartment with everything you need for your stay. Much better equiped than the previous apartment we had rented in Barbados for twice the price!! One ofthe great things was the kitchen/diner area which had shutters that open out and let fresh air in and great views too. Bed was really comfotable and mosquito net a great idea. Location wise you may need a vehicle as not much near by but transport very easy to arrange. Beach a short walk but I preferred Lower Bay beach myself. Alll in all a great place and well kept and maintained and would return.

Room Tip: Room 6 is on the corner and has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandybb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friendship
0 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel Luxury Boutique Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
185 reviews
0 mi away
Spring Hotel Bequia
Spring Hotel Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel
0 mi away
The Old Fort Natural Hotel
The Old Fort Natural Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mount Pleasant
104 reviews
0 mi away
Blue Lagoon Hotel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugarapple Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugarapple Inn

Address: Friendship Bay, Friendship, Bequia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Bequia > Friendship
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Friendship
Price Range: $96 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugarapple Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Sugarapple's newly refurbished beach cottage, and exciting additions to the Sugarapple Inn. Adjoining two bedroom apartments steps away from the water at Friendship Beach. Each unit sleeps four with one king sized, and two double beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sugarapple Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugarapple Hotel Bequia
Sugarapple Inn Bequia/Friendship

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing