We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Beach Retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lower Largo, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
blowingmy...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach Retreat”
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My wife and I booked directly and very easily with Karen after discovering her and Charles' stunning newly renovated beach house online. 'Periwinkle Beach House' is an ideal retreat to get away from the noise and hustle and bustle of every day city living. We decided after looking at several places to rent in the East Neuk of Fife that Periwinkle had everything we could wish for: Stunning sea views, peace and quiet, warm, stylish, comfortable and clean accommodation fully kitted with many extras - not to mention waking up to beautiful sun rises - which luckily for us are late in the morning during our winter-New Year's stay. The location and design of the property is situated so that it's literally a step or two down to the beach - when the tide is out it's approximately 2 minutes from the harbour front and village centre of Lower Largo that enjoys two cosy drinking holes. Periwinkle Beach House was a perfect location to spend time with a couple of good friends over the New Year and enjoy each others company but with ample space for all four of us to relax and unwind. We very much hope to return - perhaps in summer, but in the meantime, will certainly be recommending Charles and Karen's Periwinkle beach house to family and friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to meet with you and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Periwinkle. Both Charles and I look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela_pa...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Xmas Treat”
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

3 day trip, 3 generations visiting friends and family. What a lovely and welcome addition to the village. Beautiful house, fantastic location - offering a luxurious but cosy stay for us.

We were welcomed by the owner who had put up a beautiful Xmas tree, left out mince pies, chocolates and a number of other treats! Rooms, bathrooms, facilities excellent - can't think of one thing I'd change!

Location wise - on the beach - whats not to love! And also 5 mins to local shop, 2 pubs (one serves food) and anything else you could need on your stay.

Thank you for making our Xmas special. Can't wait to come back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your stay at Periwinkle. We hope to see you return very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Fabulous beach property”
Reviewed October 23, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a family 3 night break at this fabulous property. The beach house is in a great location, very roomy and has excellent facilities. The property is decorated and furnished to a very high standard, whilst maintaining a feeling of comfort. The property has direct access to the beach and is ideally situated for day trips around the East Neuk. There is a great patio area with a barbecue and tremendous views across the forth. There is a local pub and a hotel that serves good food within 5 min walk of the property. We will definitely recommend this property and will be back again in the future.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Periwinkle Beach House.
It was a real pleasure meeting you and hope you return very soon.
Very best regards Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottishs...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended - Beach house”
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We had a great time staying at Periwinkle, it's a great place to explore the East Neuk. Brought back many happy memories when I holidayed at my grandparents many moons ago! The house is tremendous and has everything that you could need on your holiday. Right on the beach which is a huge bonus especially as the weather was mild for October. Hopefully look to return again very soon. The hosts are really helpful too. Their attention to detail is first class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Both Charles and I are delighted you and your family enjoyed staying at Periwinkle. You'd be very welcome anytime. All the very best wishes. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxyjak
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Stunning sea side beach house in Fife”
Reviewed October 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Periwinkle beach house is an absolute gem of a holiday home. We stayed 3 nights in this house which is right on the shore of the Firth of Forth in Fife.

The house itself is immaculate, beautifully furnished and like a home away from home. The master bedroom is comfortable with en suite bathroom and the house has the potential to sleep 6 people in total. We loved sitting on the patio at the back overlooking the sea and being able to walk down onto the beach (when the tide was out of course)!

We explored most of east Fife, with its numerous fishing villages, and highlights include: buying fresh fish from David Lowrie fishmonger in St Monans (on the main road next to the vets in the industrial units - go and ask for what is in season), Falkland Palace and a walk up the Lomond Hills, strolling through St Andrews and it's beach, lunch at East Pier smokehouse in St Monans was excellent (hot smoked salmon and chips was a favourite).

We would recommend Periwinkle to any one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Hi James, thank you so much for the wonderful review, we are absolutely delighted that you loved our Periwinkle Beach House.
It was a real pleasure to have you stay and we sincerely hope you return very very soon.
Thank you again. Best wishes Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing